CITYLAB

There’s nothing wrong with people But you can't self-love your way out of systemic oppression

There’s nothing wrong with people
There’s nothing wrong with people

24.09.2022

“There is nothing wrong with people” seeks to respond to the vital need of many to redefine not only our inner relationships but also our ways of relating to each other and our environment. The programme, its shape arranged by Citylab, is both an unapologetic and an intimate response in search of tools and spaces of healing. 

“We, cultural workers, who more than ever choose to provide support to express or represent the common traumas we go through, explore this fact of healing not as an end to be reached but as a process. We want to create "safer" spaces of care, resilience, and action through various experiential and presentational moments in which concerned people, activists, artists, healers, and community organizations come together. This way, they can exchange and experience with the audiences, and acknowledge and do justice to the voices of those present. All of this in recognition of the impact of multiple oppressive mechanisms.”

• As a creative incubator for art and artivism, Citylab supports Brussels-based talents when developing and imagining their perspective on urban futures. In this creative process, self-formed artists define themselves, what art is, and develop an artistic voice to tell their own (vision on) herstories, hxstories, or histories. In July 2021, Kaaitheater and Citylab worked together for the first time with the Inside Out festival, which functioned as an artistic mirror of life at the centers of BXL. 

The There’s nothing wrong with people programme is conceived and curated by Bouchra Lamsyeh and Johanna Couvée. Next to being a cultural doula, multidisciplinary artist, actor, DJ, activist, and juridic advisor, Bouchra Lamsyeh is also co-responsible for the artistic programming of Bâtard Festival. Johanna Couvée is a cultural manager, consultant, and artist coach working for Citylab. She is trained as a somatic psychologist and researches ways to build bridges between therapeutic embodied practices, collective action, and social justice.

CITYLAB

There’s nothing wrong with people But you can't self-love your way out of systemic oppression

There’s nothing wrong with people
There’s nothing wrong with people

24.09.2022

There is nothing wrong with people cherche à répondre au besoin vital de bon nombre d’entre nous de redéfinir non seulement nos relations intérieures, mais aussi nos modes rapport aux autres et à notre environnement. Le programme, façonné par Citylab, propose à la fois une réponse sans complaisance et intime à la recherche d'outils et d'espaces de guérison. 

"Nous, travailleur·euses culturel·les, qui choisissons plus que jamais d’offrir un soutien pour exprimer ou représenter les traumatismes communs que nous traversons, explorons ce fait de la guérison non pas comme une fin à atteindre mais comme un processus. Nous voulons créer des espaces "plus safe" de soins, de résilience et d'action par le biais de divers moments expérientiels et de présentation dans lesquels se réunissent des personnes concernées, des activistes, des artistes, des guérisseur·euses et des organisations communautaires. De cette façon, iels peuvent échanger et expérimenter avec le public, et reconnaître et rendre justice aux voix des personnes présentes. Tout cela en reconnaissant l'impact des multiples mécanismes d'oppression".

• En tant qu'incubateur créatif pour l'art et l'artivisme, Citylab soutient les talents bruxellois à développer et imaginer leur perspective sur les futurs urbains. Dans ce processus créatif, les artistes autodidactes se définissent eux·elles-mêmes, déterminent ce qu'est l'art et développent une voix artistique pour raconter leurs propres (vision sur) herstories, hxstories ou histoires. En juillet 2021, le Kaaitheater et Citylab ont travaillé ensemble pour la première fois avec le festival Inside Out, qui a fonctionné comme un miroir artistique de la vie au centre de BXL. 

Le programme There's nothing wrong with people est conçu et organisé par Bouchra Lamsyeh et Johanna Couvée. En plus d'être une doula culturelle, une artiste multidisciplinaire, une actrice, une DJ, une activiste et une conseillère juridique, Bouchra Lamsyeh est également co-responsable de la programmation artistique du Bâtard Festival. Johanna Couvée est manageuse culturelle, consultante et coach d'artistes pour Citylab. Elle a une formation de psychologue somatique et cherche des moyens de créer des ponts entre les pratiques thérapeutiques incarnées, l'action collective et la justice sociale.