Performatik – the Brussels biennale of performance art – turns the spotlight on contemporary performance art or live art in cooperation with a great many Brussels partners. In this way we view this art form not only from the angle of theatre and dance, but also that of visual art, where performance art once flourished and is now coming to the fore once again.

Vito Acconci, the artist who had presented work at Performatik09 and who passed away last year, once claimed that performance art can only ever be a temporary art form in an artist’s oeuvre; one moment that shakes everything up as announcement of a new period. But now that three performance artists won golden lions at the last Venice Biennale, now that performance art is a fixture at art biennials and triennials, and now that you can graduate from visual arts programmes as a performance art artist, ‘immaterial’ art forms appear to have acquired a permanent place in the world of visual art.

Is it a sign of the times that living bodies increasingly occupy museums? Are museums skilfully responding to consumers’ desire for experiences? And do artists avidly adapt, for example by creating a theatre version and a museum version of their work? Or are they searching for new forms and methods of presentation that tamper with the established codes of artworks, audiences, and institutions? Over the past decade, Performatik has decisively opted for the latter. Performance art is an art form that is essentially fragile – and must be.

In this sixth edition, visual artist Laure Prouvost is presenting her first performance work for the stage, and choreographer Noé Soulier confronts the theatre with twenty artworks from the collection of the Centre Pompidou. Historical backdrop of Performatik19 is the Bauhaus movement, which emerged 100 years ago. A number of Bauhaus principles have become deeply relevant again: artisanry versus mass production, the status of the author and the collective, the arts academy as a community of artists, and bringing art closer to everyday life. In the Bauhaus movement, the relationship between bodies and space was foundational to the development of new worldviews. This relationship is also the premise of Radouan Mriziga’s work at Kanal – Centre Pompidou, Jozef Wouters’ work at Decoratelier, and Lotte van den Berg’s Dying Together.

 

→ The complete programme of this sixth edition will be announced in January 2019.

 

PARTNERS: KANAL – Centre Pompidou | Beursschouwburg | Wiels | ARGOS centre for art and media | Bozar | Kaos | La Loge | workspacebrussels | Boghossian Foundation – Villa Empain | CC Strombeek | Centrale For Contemporary Art | Q-O2 | ZSenne artlab

 

Laure Prouvost

They Are Waiting For You

performance

film

installation

They Are Waiting For You
They Are Waiting For You

Kaaitheater

13.03 – 14.03.2019

Radouan Mriziga

0.Kanal

0.Kanal
0.Kanal

KANAL – Centre Pompidou

14.03.2019

Globe Aroma & Decoratelier Jozef Wouters

Passage

performance

Passage
Passage

Decoratelier: Rue de Liverpoolstraat 24, 1080 Brussels

Third Space / Lotte van den Berg

Dying Together

performance

Dying Together
Dying Together

Kaaitheater

16.03 – 17.03.2019

Noé Soulier

Performing Art

performance

Performing Art
Performing Art

Kaaitheater

22.03 – 23.03.2019

13>23/03/2019

Performatik – la biennale bruxelloise de l’art de la performance – met en lumière l’art contemporain de la performance ou live art, avec bon nombre de partenaires bruxellois. Ainsi, nous scrutons cette expression artistique non seulement à travers la perspective du théâtre et de la danse, mais aussi à partir des arts plastiques, un domaine dans lequel la performance a fait florès dans le passé et qui la réactualise aujourd’hui.

L’artiste Vito Acconci, mort l’année passée – et qui était l’hôte de Performatik09 –, affirmait que l’art de la performance ne peut être qu’une forme d’art provisoire dans l’œuvre d’un artiste. Un moment qui secoue tout, comme l’annonce d’une nouvelle période. Mais à présent que la précédente Biennale de Venise a décerné un lion d’or à trois artistes de la performance, que cet art fait partie intégrante de toutes les biennales et triennales d’art, que l’enseignement supérieur des arts propose un diplôme en art de la performance, les expressions artistiques « immatérielles » s’avèrent avoir acquis une place fixe dans le monde des arts plastiques.

Est-ce un signe des temps que des corps vivants s’infiltrent toujours plus souvent dans les musées ? Les musées misent-ils habilement sur la demande des consommateurs de vivre des expériences ? Les artistes y participent-il volontiers, en créant par exemple d’emblée une version scénique et une version muséale ? Ou cherchent-ils de nouvelles formes et de nouveaux modes de présentation qui triturent les codes de l’œuvre d’art, du public et de l’institution ? Depuis dix ans déjà, Performatik choisit résolument cette seconde option. Parce que l’art de la performance est par essence une expression artistique fragile – et doit l’être.

Pour cette sixième édition, la plasticienne Laure Prouvost crée sa première performance pour une salle de théâtre et le chorégraphe Noé Soulier fait entrer dans l’espace théâtral une vingtaine d’œuvres de la collection du Centre Pompidou. L’ancrage historique de Performatik19 est le mouvement Bauhaus qui a vu le jour il y a cent ans. Certaines lignes directrices sont d’ailleurs très actuelles : l’artisanat par opposition à la production de masse, le statut de l’auteur et du collectif, l’académie des arts comme communauté d’artistes et le rapprochement de l’art de la vie quotidienne. Dans le Bauhaus, la relation entre l’homme et l’espace constituait la base du développement de nouveaux modèles d’environnement de vie. Cette relation forme aussi le point de départ de Radouan Mriziga à Kanal – Centre Pompidou, de Jozef Wouters à Decoratelier et de Lotte van den Berg pour sa production Dying Together.

 

→ Le programme complet de cette sixième édition sera communiqué en janvier 2019.

 

PARTNERS: KANAL – Centre Pompidou | Beursschouwburg | Wiels | ARGOS centre for art and media | Bozar | Kaos | workspacebrussels | Boghossian Foundation – Villa Empain | CC Strombeek | Centrale For Contemporary Art | ZSenne artlab | a.pass

 

Laure Prouvost

They Are Waiting For You

performance

film

installation

They Are Waiting For You
They Are Waiting For You

Kaaitheater

13.03 – 14.03.2019

Radouan Mriziga

0.Kanal

0.Kanal
0.Kanal

KANAL – Centre Pompidou

14.03.2019

Globe Aroma & Decoratelier Jozef Wouters

Passage

performance

Passage
Passage

Decoratelier: Rue de Liverpool 24, 1080 Bruxelles

Third Space / Lotte van den Berg

Dying Together

performance

Dying Together
Dying Together

Kaaitheater

16.03 – 17.03.2019

Noé Soulier

Performing Art

performance

Performing Art
Performing Art

Kaaitheater

22.03 – 23.03.2019