De Warme Winkel

Lady Chatterley’s Lover

Lady Chatterley’s Lover
Lady Chatterley’s Lover

18.10 – 19.10.2022

When the novel Lady Chatterley's Lover was published in 1928, it caused quite a stir. Author D.H. Laurence openly wrote about sex and sexual preference and his aim was to create new role models for the readers of his time and to encourage his readers to come to terms with aspects of themselves that they would prefer not to see in the light of day. Because of its exciting content, the book was banned in England and far beyond and for decades, the book was secretly passed on from hand to hand. Now theatre makers Florian Myjer and Lisa Verbelen are going to dance with this groundbreaking scandal novel. Shamelessly wallowing in perversion and pleasure, they bring Lady Chatterley's Lover into the 21st century, some of it rough and some of it more tender.

• De Warme Winkel like to take their performances to the cutting edge of social and artistic issues. Unpolished, overflowing with history and combatively urgent: the group have been on the Kaaitheater programme for years and have played such plays as Gavrilo Princip, Rainer Maria, Villa Europa and Amadeus. Florian Myjer recently joined this illustrious company and Lady Chatterley's Lover is his first performance with it. He wrote it together with Marieke de Zwaan and with Lisa Verbelen, who opened the Kaaitheater Theatre Festival 2020 with the solo All.

"A crushing tirade against the heterosexual norm." - NRC

"A vulnerable, thought-provoking and important performance about love, lust, exclusion and inclusion." - Theatre Newspaper

"An embarrassing, hilarious and moving performance about love that does not conform to 'the norm'." - de Volkskrant


presented by Kaaitheater

tekst, concept Florian Myjer, Lisa Verbelen, Marieke de Zwaan | naar D.H. Lawrence | spel Florian Myjer, Lisa Verbelen | eindregie Ward Weemhoff | decor Janne Sterke | kostuums Daphne de Winkel | lichtontwerp Scott Robin Jun | geluidsontwerp Rik Elstgeest | coproductie Frascati Producties

De Warme Winkel

Lady Chatterley’s Lover

Lady Chatterley’s Lover
Lady Chatterley’s Lover

18.10 – 19.10.2022

Lorsque le roman L'amant de Lady Chatterley fut publié en 1928, il a fait sensation. L'auteur D.H. Laurence a écrit ouvertement sur le sexe et les préférences sexuelles. Son objectif était de créer de nouveaux modèles pour les lecteur·ices de son époque et d'encourager ses lecteur·ices à accepter des facettes d'eux·elles-mêmes que nous préférerions ne pas voir divulguées au grand jour. Au vu de son contenu passionnant, le livre a été interdit en Angleterre et bien au-delà, et transmis sous le manteau pendant des décennies. Les metteur·euses de théâtre Florian Myjer et Lisa Verbelen vont à présent entrer dans la danse avec ce roman à scandale révolutionnaire. Se vautrant sans vergogne dans la perversion et le plaisir, iels transposent L'Amant de Lady Chatterley  avec une pointe de brutalité et une touche de tendresse au 21e siècle.

• Les créateur·icess du collectif De Warme Winkel aiment jouer leurs spectacles à la pointe de la société et de l'art. Sans fioritures, débordant d'histoire et d'une urgence combative : ils sont au programme du Kaaitheater depuis des années et a notamment interprété Gavrilo Princip, Rainer Maria, Villa Europa, Amadeus et De Warme Winkel speelt De Warme Winkel. Florian Myjer a récemment rejoint cette illustre compagnie. L'Amant de Lady Chatterley est la première représentation qu'il donne en son sein. Il l'a écrite avec Marieke de Zwaan et Lisa Verbelen, qui a ouvert le Kaaitheater Theatre Festival 2020 avec le solo All.

 

"Une tirade écrasante contre la norme hétérosexuelle". - NRC

"Un spectacle vulnérable, provocateur et important sur l'amour, la luxure, l'exclusion et l'inclusion". - Théâtralkrant

"Un spectacle embarrassant, hilarant et émouvant sur l'amour qui ne se conforme pas à la 'norme". - de Volkskrant


presented by Kaaitheater

tekst, concept Florian Myjer, Lisa Verbelen, Marieke de Zwaan | naar D.H. Lawrence | spel Florian Myjer, Lisa Verbelen | eindregie Ward Weemhoff | decor Janne Sterke | kostuums Daphne de Winkel | lichtontwerp Scott Robin Jun | geluidsontwerp Rik Elstgeest | coproductie Frascati Producties