BELGIAN PREMIERE

Maatschappij Discordia

Weiblicher Akt 8: DUMAS/LADAME/DESADE

theatre

Weiblicher Akt 8: DUMAS/LADAME/DESADE
Weiblicher Akt 8: DUMAS/LADAME/DESADE

production

Fri 26.01 - Sat 27.01.18

In their characteristic style, the ladies of Discordia break open the plot of Alexandre Dumas fils’ novel The Lady of the Camellias. They seek the assistance – perhaps surprisingly – of the Marquis de Sade. Is there space for Marguerite to have a more active role, or do shame and conventional thinking still stand in the way?

Laurent Chétouane

Out of Joint / Partita 1

dance music

Out of Joint / Partita 1
Out of Joint / Partita 1

production

Fri 02.02 - Sat 03.02.18

What would happen if we were to abandon verticality after centuries of walking upright? This question is the starting point of Laurent Chétouane’s new creation. Two male and one female dancer search for new equilibriums in a disjointed setting. A violinist accompanies them live onstage with Bach’s Partita for Violin no. 1 in B-minor.

Pieter De Buysser

The After Party

theatre

The After Party
The After Party

production

Wed 07.02.18

What is the significance of Václav Havel’s legacy for Europe today? Might the spirit of the former president inspire a new alliance? What would the landscape of Adam and Eve look like in the contemporary political context? Would this revolutionary couple now take the plunge themselves to escape from the old-fashioned ‘paradise’?

Benoît Lachambre / Par B.L.eux

Lifeguard

dance performance

Lifeguard
Lifeguard

production

Thu 01.01 - Fri 09.02.18

Benoît Lachambre again asks you to listen to your senses and genuinely to experience the consciousness of your body. Borders between dance and movement gradually blur when a glance, a movement, or the touch of someone in the audience continues to resonate in the choreography.

tg STAN, de KOE & Maatschappij Discordia

Atelier

theatre

Atelier
Atelier

production

Wed 28.02 - Sat 03.03.18

Do playwrights – like sculptors and painters – have studios where they turn their ideas into material? Matthias de Koning, Damiaan De Schrijver and Peter Van den Eede construct the fourth wall, and subsequently demolish it again. Welcome to this laboratory of naturalism, realism and hyperrealism!

Juli Apponen

Life is hard and then you die – part 3

lecture performance

Life is hard and then you die – part 3
Life is hard and then you die – part 3

production

Wed 07.03 - Thu 08.03.18

Juli Apponen exposes an autobiography of her body. Inevitably, it is about identity, sex and gender. The result is a collage of unspeakable pain, anatomical reports of far too many operations, and bureaucratic adventures. Who or what determines who or what you are? This compelling lecture performance will satisfy your curiosity, perhaps even more than you would actually like.

Ligia Lewis

minor matter

dance

minor matter
minor matter

production

Fri 09.03 - Sat 10.03.18

In minor matter, Ligia Lewis draws upon visual and conceptual metaphors relating to blackness. Continuing her ongoing engagement with embodiment while interrogating the social inscriptions of the body, minor matter poses questions about the black body within the frame of the black box.

BELGIAN PREMIERE

Maatschappij Discordia

Weiblicher Akt 8: DUMAS/LADAME/DESADE

théâtre

Weiblicher Akt 8: DUMAS/LADAME/DESADE
Weiblicher Akt 8: DUMAS/LADAME/DESADE

production

ve 26.01 - sa 27.01.18

Dans leur style si caractéristique, les dames de Discordia font éclater l’intrigue de La Dame aux Camélias d’Alexandre Dumas fils. Elles invoquent l’aide – peut-être surprenante – du Marquis de Sade. Marguerite peut-elle jouer un rôle plus actif ou la honte, les conventions et la pensée conformiste forment-elles toujours un obstacle ?

Laurent Chétouane

Out of Joint / Partita 1

danse musique

Out of Joint / Partita 1
Out of Joint / Partita 1

production

ve 02.02 - sa 03.02.18

Et si, après des siècles de bipédie, nous abandonnions la verticalité ? Cette question constitue le point de départ de la nouvelle création de Laurent. Deux danseurs et une danseuse partent en quête de nouveaux équilibres dans un décor désarticulé. Un violoniste les accompagne et interprète la Partita n°1 en si mineur pour violon de Bach.

Pieter De Buysser

The After Party

théâtre

The After Party
The After Party

production

me 07.02.18

Que signifie l’héritage de Václav Havel pour l’Europe d’aujourd’hui ? L’esprit d’un ancien président peut-il inspirer une nouvelle alliance ? À quoi ressemblerait le paysage d’Adam et Ève dans le contexte politique d’aujourd’hui ? Ce couple révolutionnaire oserait-il aujourd’hui faire le saut pour échapper au « paradis » obsolète ?

Benoît Lachambre / Par B.L.eux

Lifeguard

danse performance

Lifeguard
Lifeguard

production

je 01.01 - ve 09.02.18

Benoît Lachambre invite à nouveau l’auditoire à écouter ses sens et à réellement ressentir la conscience de son corps. Les frontières entre danse et mouvement s’estompent lentement lorsqu’un regard, un mouvement, un frôlement d’un membre du public reste résonner dans la chorégraphie.

tg STAN, de KOE & Maatschappij Discordia

Atelier

théâtre

Atelier
Atelier

production

me 28.02 - sa 03.03.18

Les créateurs de théâtre ont-ils – à l’instar de sculpteurs et des peintres – un atelier où ils peuvent matérialiser leurs idées ? Matthias de Koning, Damiaan De Schrijver et Peter Van den Eede reconstruisent les quatre murs pour ensuite mieux les démolir. Bienvenue dans ce laboratoire du naturalisme, du réalisme et de l’hyperréalisme !

Juli Apponen

Life is hard and then you die – part 3

lecture performance

Life is hard and then you die – part 3
Life is hard and then you die – part 3

production

me 07.03 - je 08.03.18

Juli Apponen dévoile une autobiographie de son corps. Inévitablement, celle-ci traite d’identité, de sexe et de genre. Le résultat est un collage de douleur indicible, de comptes rendus anatomiques, de beaucoup trop d’opérations et d’aventures bureaucratiques. Cette lecture performance mordante satisfera la curiosité peut-être même au-delà de ce que nous souhaitons.

Ligia Lewis

minor matter

danse

minor matter
minor matter

production

ve 09.03 - sa 10.03.18

À partir de différentes images, Ligia Lewis explore le concept de « mineur » ou de minorité. Le jeu dynamique qui en découle – la tension entre lumière et obscurité, noir et rouge, sensation et incarnation – donne corps à une élégie et à une fête.