Gérald Kurdian

X! (un opéra fantastique)

X! (un opéra fantastique)
X! (un opéra fantastique)

25.11 – 26.11.2022

In seeking to disidentify the masculine, Gérald Kurdian met individuals, therapists and activists who to him seemingly were reinventing the political through the care of the intimate. By exploring these marginalized activist scenes, he has gathered a veritable archive of texts, recordings, photos and films in the form of a journal. It is this archive that now forms the primary material for X! (a fantasy opera).   

Halfway between documentary, live electronic music and performance, X! (a fantastic opera) is a musical fable. It is an opportunity for Gérald Kurdian to invite us on a guided tour of his memory, to portray the flamboyant individuals he has met and to transform a minor narrative into a collective experience.

X! (a fantasy opera) portrays current activist cultures and is a choral manifesto for a sensitive revolution that emphasises the importance of care, listening and collective fictions in the joint invention of our futures.

• Gérald Kurdian is a performer, musician and radio artist and a graduate of the Ecole Nationale Supérieure d'Arts de Paris-Cergy and hold a post-graduate diploma in choreographic research from Ex.e.r.ce 07 - Centre Chorégraphique National de Montpellier. Since 2017, he has been developing a cycle of performative and musical research on alternative forms of sexuality and queer micro-politics: HOT BODIES OF THE FUTURE!


presented by Kaaitheater

conception, composition et interprétation Gérald Kurdian | chorégraphie Jennifer Lacey | lumières Joseph Wegman | création costumes Miguel Penaranda Olmeda | soutienl’écriture du livret Kopano Maroga | Technique Audio Justine Herbert | soutien au développement de l’Île en 3D Thibaut Rostagnat | développement de l’intelligence artificielle Fabrice Gallis | coproduction Kaaitheater_Bruxelles (Be) Vooruit_Gand (Be) Ménagerie de Verre_Paris (Fr) Festival d’Automne à Paris (Fr) | Coproduction en cours Théâtre 13 / Paris (Fr) T2G / Gennevilliers (Fr) | Partenaires BUDA_Kortrijk (Be), La Pop_Paris (Fr), Antre Peaux_Bourges (Fr), Coopérative de Recherche_ESACM_Clermont-Ferrand (Fr), DOCH - University of the Arts_Stockholm (Se)

Gérald Kurdian

X! (un opéra fantastique)

X! (un opéra fantastique)
X! (un opéra fantastique)

25.11 – 26.11.2022

En cherchant à se désidentifier du masculin, Gérald Kurdian a rencontré des individus, des thérapeutes, des activistes qui lui ont semblé réinventer le politique par le soin porté à l’intime. En explorant ces scène activistes marginalisées, iel a rassemblé sous forme de journal une véritable archive de textes, enregistrements, photos et films. C’est cette archive qui constitue aujourd’hui le matériel premier pour X! (un opéra fantastique).  

A mi-chemin entre le documentaire, le live de musique électronique et la performance, X! (un opéra fantastique) est une fable musicale. L’occasion pour Gérald Kurdian de nous inviter à une visite guidée de sa mémoire, faire le portrait des individus flamboyants qu’iel a rencontré et de transformer un récit mineur en une expérience collective. 

X! (un opéra fantastique) fait un portrait des cultures militantes actuelles et se constitue en manifeste choral pour une révolution sensible soulignant l’importance du soin, de l’écoute et des fictions collectives dans l’invention commune de nos futurs. 

• Gérald Kurdian performer, musicien et artiste-radio, est diplômé de l’école Nationale Supérieure d’Arts de Paris-Cergy et du post-diplôme de recherches chorégraphiques Ex.e.r.ce 07 - Centre Chorégraphique National de Montpellier. Iel développe depuis 2017 un cycle de recherches performatives et musicales sur les formes alternatives de sexualité et les micro-politiques queer : HOT BODIES OF THE FUTURE ! 


presented by Kaaitheater

conception, composition et interprétation Gérald Kurdian | chorégraphie Jennifer Lacey | lumières Joseph Wegman | création costumes Miguel Penaranda Olmeda | soutienl’écriture du livret Kopano Maroga | Technique Audio Justine Herbert | soutien au développement de l’Île en 3D Thibaut Rostagnat | développement de l’intelligence artificielle Fabrice Gallis | coproduction Kaaitheater_Bruxelles (Be) Vooruit_Gand (Be) Ménagerie de Verre_Paris (Fr) Festival d’Automne à Paris (Fr) | Coproduction en cours Théâtre 13 / Paris (Fr) T2G / Gennevilliers (Fr) | Partenaires BUDA_Kortrijk (Be), La Pop_Paris (Fr), Antre Peaux_Bourges (Fr), Coopérative de Recherche_ESACM_Clermont-Ferrand (Fr), DOCH - University of the Arts_Stockholm (Se)