bodies of knowledge

The Big BOK Multiplication

The Big BOK Multiplication
The Big BOK Multiplication

13.03.2022

bodies of knowledge (BOK) considers the city as a rich source of valuable knowledge. Every passer- by could teach you something from their own background and life-experiences. BOK seeks to share this invisibilized or suppressed knowledge through oral transmission, that potentially could give rise to a socially more just society. 

The Big BOK Multiplication tells the story of one and a half year of BOK in Brussels. BOK has been travelling as a nomadic classroom space through various parks and squares in Brussels for the past 18 months. Each week, passers-by and regular visitors could participate in the free programme, where they could learn about topics like: the central place of women in the Kurdish liberation movement, practising listening when you are used to being in the centre, Africa – a customs officer’s perspective, fighting structural injustices in mainstream education – as mothers, surviving and living with little money, saga of a happy borderline person and many more. All issues that don't get a place, or not enough, in our schools, in mainstream institutions and in the media.

The learning day is the gathering of this learning community, and an encounter with a living corpus of non-dominant knowledge. Feel welcome to join and learn along.


Inititiated by Sarah Vanhee  | in collaboration with different 'bodies of knowledge' living in Brussels | Conception Damla Ekin Tokel, Flore Herman, Jean-Baptiste Polge, Sarah Vanhee production  BOK vzw asbl & Caravan Production | co-production Kaaitheater, BUDA, Kunstenfestivaldesarts, KASKA/Expanding Academy, Noorderzon Festival of Performing Arts & Society, BIT Teatergarasjen, Reykjavik Dance Festival, Voo?uit & CAMPO | with the financial support of the Flemish Community (VG), the Flemish Minister of Brussels - Youth & Media, the Flemish Community Commission (VGC), the French Community Commission (COCOF), Gemeente Anderlecht, Gemeente Schaerbeek,  KAOS vzw, Connecting Brussels | research Conservatorium Antwerpen, University of Antwerp (UA) & the Antwerp Research Institute for the Arts (ARIA)

There's more

BBM - from whom do you want to learn?

BBM - from whom do you want to learn?
BBM - from whom do you want to learn?

article

Wed 01.12.21

Everyone who visits the Big BOK Multiplication will have the opportunity to engage in a small learning moment with a body of knowledge. Here you will find an overview of the different experts in embodied knowledge.

bodies of knowledge

The Big BOK Multiplication

The Big BOK Multiplication
The Big BOK Multiplication

13.03.2022

>Vous trouverez ici l’ensemble des différents sujets.

bodies of knowledge (BOK) vit la ville comme une source de connaissances précieuses. Chaque passant·e pourrait  vous apprendre quelque chose de son propre parcours et de ses expériences de vie. Par la transmission orale, BOK tente de partager des connaissances invisibilisées ou supprimées qui pourraient  contribuer à une société plus juste.

Au cours des 18 derniers mois, BOK a voyagé comme une classe nomade à travers différents parcs et places de Bruxelles. Chaque semaine, les passant·es ou visiteur·euses régulier·es avaient le loisir de participer à ce programme gratuit, où ils·elles pouvaient apprendre sur des sujets tels que : "La place centrale des femmes dans le mouvement de libération kurde", "Pratiquer l'écoute quand on est habitué à être au centre", "L’Afrique – le point de vue d’un douanier", "Lutter – en tant que mère – contre les injustices structurelles au sein de l’enseignement", "Survivre et bien vivre avec peu d’argent", "Saga d'une «  borderline » heureuse", et bien davantage. Autant de thèmes qui ne trouvent pas leur place dans nos écoles, nos institutions et nos médias.

The Big BOK Multiplication  propose de prolonger cette expérience d’apprentissage. Chaque visiteur·euse aura la possibilité d'écouter en petit groupe des “bodies of knowledge”: des expert(e)s de vie venue transmettre une connaissance spécifique et souvent invisibilisée. Vous trouverez ici l’ensemble des différents sujets qui composent ce "corpus vivant". De qui vous aimeriez-vous apprendre?  

Pour plus d'informations: www.bodiesofknowledge.be


initiated by Sarah Vanhee  | in collaboration with different 'bodies of knowledge' living in Brussels | creation Damla Ekin Tokel, Flore Herman, Jean-Baptiste Polge & Sarah Vanhee | production  Luisa MarcBOK vzw asbl & Caravan Production | coproduction Kaaitheater, BUDA, Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Noorderzon Festival of Performing Arts & Society, BIT Teatergarasjen, Reykjavik Dance Festival, Voo?uit & CAMPO | with the financial support of the Flemish Community (VG), the Flemish Minister of Brussels - Youth & Media, the Flemish Community Commission (VGC), the French Community Commission (COCOF), Gemeente Anderlecht, Gemeente Schaerbeek,  KAOS vzw, Connecting Brussels | research Conservatorium Antwerpen, University of Antwerp (UA) & the Antwerp Research Institute for the Arts (ARIA)

There's more

The Big BOK Multiplication - DE QUI VOULEZ-VOUS APPRENDRE ?

The Big BOK Multiplication - DE QUI VOULEZ-VOUS APPRENDRE ?
The Big BOK Multiplication - DE QUI VOULEZ-VOUS APPRENDRE ?

article

me 01.12.21

Chaque visiteur·euse du Big BOK Multiplication aura la possibilité d'écouter en petit groupe des “bodies of knowledge”: des expert(e)s de vie venue transmettre une connaissance spécifique et souvent invisibilisée.Vous trouverez ici l’ensemble des différents sujets qui composent ce "corpus vivant". De qui vous aimeriez-vous apprendre? 

Sarah Vanhee / bodies of knowledge

bodies of knowledge (BOK)

learning day

bodies of knowledge (BOK)
bodies of knowledge (BOK)
sa 11.09 - sa 11.12.21

Comment créer dans l’espace public un safe space pour l’échange de connaissances censurées ou sous-exposées ? C’est le point de départ de bodies of knowledge (BOK), la salle de classe alternative et nomade de Sarah Vanhee. À partir du 18 septembre, BOK s’installe trois mois durant au centre-ville de Bruxelles. Vous pouvez participer de manière hebdomadaire à un programme gratuit, que ce soit une promenade, un atelier, une forme de jeu ou une lecture de récit.