Alejo Pérez & Krystian Lada & Symfonisch Orkest Opera Vlaanderen

Symphony of Expectation

Symphony of Expectation
Symphony of Expectation

18.03.2020

“It is impossible for people to have only one feeling.
People have thousands of emotions simultaneously.”
­– ARNOLD SCHÖNBERG

During Klarafestival, Symphony of Expectation combines two iconic, 20th-century compositions: Sinfonia by Luciano Berio and Erwartung by Arnold Schönberg. Berio composed Sinfonia in the turbulent year 1968 as “a documentary, faithful to the explosive character of the age”. This is evident in the fragmentary structure of the symphony. Scraps of text by Samuel Beckett, Claude Lévi-Strauss and Martin Luther King are interwoven with musical motifs from Mahler, Stravinsky and Schönberg, among others.

The author Marie Pappenheim wrote the libretto for Schönberg’s monodrama Erwartung. She uses one second of the maximal spiritual excitement of the female main character – who is looking for her beloved on the edge of an ominous forest – and makes it explode into an intense theatrical experience. Symphony of Expectation reduces Berio’s explosion of voices to the essence of one female voice in Erwartung.

• In 2017, the Polish dramaturg, librettist and director Krystian Lada signed for the dramaturgy of Ivo van Hove’s The Diary of One Who Disappeared, which was staged at Kaaitheater during the Klara Festival. He was awarded the inaugural Mortier Next Generation Award in 2019.


music Luciano Berio Sinfonia for 8 voices and orchestra (1968), Arnold Schönberg Erwartung, opus 17. (1909) | libretto Marie Pappenheim | musical direction Alejo Pérez | concept & direction Krystian Lada | scenography Didzis Jaunzems | light design Maarten Warmerdam | soprano Allison Cook | vocal ensemble HYOID Contemporary voices | orchestra Symfonisch Orkest Opera Ballet Vlaanderen | co-production Klarafestival, The Airport Society

Alejo Pérez & Krystian Lada Symfonisch Orkest Opera Vlaanderen & HYOID contemporary voices

Symphony of Expectation

Symphony of Expectation
Symphony of Expectation

18.03.2020

« Il est impossible pour une personne de n’avoir qu’une émotion à la fois. On en a des milliers en même temps. » – ARNOLD SCHÖNBERG

Pendant le Klarafestival, Symphony of Expectation combine deux pièces musicales iconiques du XXe siècle : Sinfonia de Luciano Berio et Erwartung d’Arnold Schönberg. Berio a composé Sinfonia au cours de la turbulente année 1968, comme « un documentaire, fidèle à l’image explosive du moment ». Ce qui se traduit également dans la structure fragmentée de cette symphonie. Il entrelace des passages de textes de Samuel Beckett, de Claude Lévi-Strauss et de Martin Luther King avec des motifs musicaux, entre autres, de Mahler, Stravinsky et Schönberg.

Marie Pappenheim a écrit le livret du monodrame Erwartung de Schönberg. Elle y fait exploser une seconde d’excitation spirituelle maximale de la protagoniste – une femme à la recherche de son bien-aimé à l’orée d’une forêt lugubre – en une expérience théâtrale intense. Symphony of Expectation épure l’explosion de voix de Berio en une seule voix féminine dans Erwartung.

• En 2017, le dramaturge, librettiste et metteur en scène polonais Krystian Lada a signé la dramaturgie de la pièce The Diary of One Who Disappeared mise en scène par Ivo van Hove, que le Kaaitheater a présenté dans le cadre du Klarafestival. En 2019, il a remporté le tout premier prix Mortier Next Generation.


music Luciano Berio Sinfonia for 8 voices and orchestra (1968), Arnold Schönberg Erwartung, opus 17. (1909) | libretto Marie Pappenheim | HYOID voices Julie Calbete, Lore Binon, Els Mondelaers, Fabienne Seveillac, Kevin Skelton, Andreas Halling, Tiemo Wang, Jean-Manuel Candenot | musical direction Alejo Pérez | concept & direction Krystian Lada | scenography Didzis Jaunzems | light design Maarten Warmerdam | soprano Allison Cook | vocal ensemble HYOID Contemporary voices | orchestra Symfonisch Orkest Opera Ballet Vlaanderen | co-production Klarafestival, The Airport Society