Germaine Acogny / Mikaël Serre

Somewhere at the Beginning

Somewhere at the Beginning
Somewhere at the Beginning

19.02 – 20.02.2022

Through dance, stories and the projection of photos and film, the Senegalese dancer and choreographer Germaine Acogny evokes both the history of her family and that of West Africa in this committed autobiographical solo. The performance questions the place of women, the friction between tradition and emancipation and how identity is more of a path than an end point.

• Germaine Acogny, considered the founder of contemporary African dance, has been creating performances with her company Jant-Bi since 1998. She founded the renowned dance school Ecole des Sables in Toubab Dialaw, which became an important international centre for contemporary dance. She was awarded a Golden Lion of dance at the 2021 Venice Biennale. Watch a video portrait of Acogny here

"The 74-year-old 'mother of contemporary African dance' hits you full in the diaphragm with her overwhelming solo, pierces your heart and excites your nerves." - Theaterkrant

an elegantly intense autobiographical solo- New York Times


choreography Germaine Acogny | direction Mikaël Serre | choreography, assistence Patrick Acogny | decor Maciej Fiszer | costumes Johanna Diakhate-Rittmeyer | video Sébastien Dupouey | music, composition & realisation Fabrice Bouillon « LaForest» | lighting design Sébastien Michaud | technique Marco Wehrspann | performed by Germaine Acogny | script Togoun Servais Acogny, Aloopho, Germaine Acogny, Euripides (Medea), changes Mikaël Serre | production JANT-BI | coproduction Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg / Théâtre de la Ville, Paris / Institut Français, Paris

There's more

Moussem Cities Dakar

Moussem Cities Dakar
Moussem Cities Dakar

festival

Tue 01.02.22 - Mon 28.02.22

The annual Moussem Cities festival focuses on a different metropolis from the Middle East or North Africa. Artists from the region and diaspora offer a look at their city and their work. Following editions around Beirut, Casablanca, Damascus and Algiers, this time Dakar is in the spotlight. The capital of Senegal, is considered the economic, political and cultural hub of West Africa, and has a vibrant cultural life. For the fifth time in a row, Kaaitheater partners with Moussem Cities. One of the highlights of the festival will be the performance Somewhere at the Beginning by Mikaël Serre & Germaine Acogny - one of the founders of contemporary African dance.

Read more – Somewhere at the beginning

Read more – Somewhere at the beginning
Read more – Somewhere at the beginning

Programme leaflet

Mon 14.02.22

Read the online programme leaflet of Somewhere at the beginning

Germaine Acogny / Mikaël Serre

Somewhere at the Beginning

Somewhere at the Beginning
Somewhere at the Beginning

19.02 – 20.02.2022

Par le mouvement, les récits et la projection de photos et de films, la danseuse et chorégraphe sénégalaise Germaine Acogny évoque à la fois l'histoire de sa famille et celle de l'Afrique de l'Ouest dans ce solo autobiographique engagé. La performance pose des questions sur la place des femmes, sur la friction entre tradition et émancipation et sur le fait que l'identité est plus un chemin qu'un point final.

• Germaine Acogny, considérée comme la fondatrice de la danse africaine contemporaine, crée des spectacles avec sa compagnie Jant-Bi depuis 1998. Elle a fondé la célèbre école de danse Ecole des Sables à Toubab Dialaw, qui est devenue un important centre international de danse contemporaine. Elle a remporté un Lion d’or à la Biennale de la Danse de Venise en 2021. Regardez une vidéo portrait d'Acogny ici

"La "mère de la danse africaine contemporaine", âgée de 74 ans, vous frappe en plein diaphragme avec son solo bouleversant, vous transperce le cœur et vous excite les nerfs." - Theaterkrant

"Un solo autobiographique d'une élégante intensité" - New York Times


choreography Germaine Acogny | direction Mikaël Serre | choreography, assistence Patrick Acogny | decor Maciej Fiszer | costumes Johanna Diakhate-Rittmeyer | video Sébastien Dupouey | music, composition & realisation Fabrice Bouillon « LaForest» | lighting design Sébastien Michaud | technique Marco Wehrspann | performed by Germaine Acogny | script Togoun Servais Acogny, Aloopho, Germaine Acogny, Euripides (Medea), changes Mikaël Serre | production JANT-BI | coproduction Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg / Théâtre de la Ville, Paris / Institut Français, Paris

There's more

Moussem Cities Dakar

Moussem Cities Dakar
Moussem Cities Dakar

festival

ma 01.02.22 - lu 28.02.22

Le festival annuel Moussem Cities se concentre sur une métropole différente du Moyen-Orient ou de l'Afrique du Nord. Des artistes de la région et de la diaspora offrent une perspective sur leur ville et leur travail. Après des éditions sur Beyrouth, Casablanca, Damas et Alger, c'est Dakar qui est cette fois à l'honneur. La capitale du Sénégal est considérée comme le centre économique, politique et culturel de l'Afrique de l'Ouest, et possède une vie culturelle dynamique. Le Kaaitheater est partenaire de Moussem Cities pour la cinquième fois consécutive. L'un des temps forts du festival sera le spectacle Somewhere at the Beginning de Mikaël Serre et Germaine Acogny – l'un des fondateurs de la danse africaine contemporaine.

Savoir plus – Somewhere at the beginning

Savoir plus – Somewhere at the beginning
Savoir plus – Somewhere at the beginning

Feuille de salle

lu 14.02.22

Lisez la feuille de salle en ligne de Somewhere at the beginning