Noé Soulier [FR]

Performing Art

22.03 – 23.03.2019

Now that bodies are occupying more and more museums, choreographer and philosopher Noé Soulier is presenting an opposite movement: what if instead of bodies, the artworks themselves adapted to a new space? Performing Art presents twenty pieces from the collection of the Centre Pompidou. You do not see them as you walk through a museum, but from your seat in the theatre. The actors are members of the technical staff at the museum, and they unpack the artworks onstage following a strict procedure.

How does looking at the installation of an artwork influence your perception of it? Do the technicians’ practical actions change the viewers’ perspective, as if they are watching a choreography? Does the theatrical context affect the aura of an artwork? Various media are used in this production: photography, painting, sound, video, and installations. Furthermore, Soulier has selected both fine and applied arts to address questions about the everyday vs. art. In Performing Art, the ‘Performing Arts’ are not manifested as the ‘art of performance’ but as the ‘performance of art’.


created by Noé Soulier | curatorial advice Marcella Lista | lighting & stage design Victor Burel, Noé Soulier | production ND Productions, Alma Office/Anne-Lise Gobin | co-production Kaaitheater, Centre Pompidou, Centre de Développement Chorégraphique Toulouse, CND Centre national de la danse, Les Spectacles vivants – Centre Pompidou, Festival d’Automne à Paris | support Fondation d’entreprise Hermès as part of its New Settings programme, DRAC Ile-de-France – ministère de la Culture et de la Communication

Related content

Noé Soulier

The Waves

dance music

The Waves
The Waves

production

Fri 01.02 - Sat 02.02.19

French choreographer and philosopher Noé Soulier is convinced that watching dance is just as creative as dancing itself. In this latest creation, he presents six dancers and two percussionists. The drum sounds add commas and full stops, punctuating or pausing a series of movements, or initiate new actions. Soulier explores the intersection of extremely precise dance writing and pure improvisation!

Noé Soulier [FR]

Performing Art

Performing Art
Performing Art

22.03 – 23.03.2019

À présent que les corps entrent toujours davantage dans les musées, le chorégraphe et philosophe Noé Soulier choisit un mouvement inverse : et si c’était les œuvres d’art qui s’adaptaient à un nouvel espace au lieu des corps ? Dans Performing Art, on regarde une vingtaine d’œuvres d’art de la collection du Centre Pompidou. Non pas en se promenant à travers un musée, mais à partir de son fauteuil de théâtre. Les acteurs sont les techniciens du musée qui déballent les œuvres d’art sur scène selon un protocole défini.

Regarder l’installation d’une œuvre d’art influence-t-elle la perception qu’on a de cette œuvre ? Le regard du spectateur transforme-t-il en chorégraphie les gestes pratiques qu’accomplissent les techniciens ? Le dispositif théâtral exerce-t-il un effet sur l’aura d’une œuvre d’art ? Différentes disciplines sont ainsi exposées : photographie, peinture, son, vidéo et installations. Soulier sélectionne en outre des pièces qui relèvent aussi bien des beaux-arts que des arts appliqués pour se focaliser sur des questions concernant le contexte quotidien par opposition au cadre artistique. Performing Art ou une « performance de l’art » au lieu d’un « art de la performance ».


created by Noé Soulier | with Caroline Camus Caplain & Aurélie Gavelle [of Centre Pompidou], Théo Duporté, Malak Maatoug, Todd Narbey, Miguel Miceli, Thomas Collinet & Laurent Isnard [of  Globart / Monin] | curatorial advice Marcella Lista | lights Victor Burel & Noé Soulier | production ND Productions, Alma Office, Kaaitheater | support Fondation d’entreprise Hermès | co-production Musée national d’art moderne/Les spectacles vivants-Centre Pompidou, La Place de la Danse - CDCN Toulouse, CN D Centre national de la danse, Festival d’Automne à Paris, Kanal – Centre Pompidou, Kaaitheater | with the support of Direction Régionale des Affaires Culturelles d’Île-de-France – Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication au titre de l’aide à la structuration | Noé Soulier is associated artist at La Place de la Danse - CDCN Toulouse / Occitanie & CN D Centre national de la danse 

programmaboekje | feuille de salle | evening programme

Sujets apparentés

Noé Soulier

The Waves

danse musique

The Waves
The Waves

danse

ve 01.02 - sa 02.02.19

Le chorégraphe et philosophe français Noé Soulier est convaincu que regarder de la danse est aussi créatif que de danser soi-même. Dans cette nouvelle création, il fait partager la scène à six danseurs et deux percussionnistes. Les percussions ajoutent des virgules et des points, scandent ou suspendent une séquence de mouvements ou relancent l’action. Soulier s’aventure à la frontière de l’écriture millimétrée et l’improvisation !

PERFORMATIK 19 VIDEO | Noé Soulier - Performing Arts

PERFORMATIK 19 VIDEO | Noé Soulier - Performing Arts
PERFORMATIK 19 VIDEO | Noé Soulier - Performing Arts

Video

je 14.03.19

À présent que les corps entrent toujours davantage dans les musées, le chorégraphe et philosophe Noé Soulier choisit un mouvement inverse : et si c’était les œuvres d’art qui s’adaptaient à un nouvel espace au lieu des corps ? Noé Soulier sur Performing Art dans un vidéo de Centre Pompidou