Manuela Infante

How to Turn to Stone

How to Turn to Stone
How to Turn to Stone

25.11 – 26.11.2021

A play that behaves like a stone: what would that look like? What form would a 'mineral' representation take? What if we try to imitate what is never born, never will grow and never dies?

In How to Turn to Stone, stones, as 'non-living' things, are models for a different kind of resistance. Manuela Infante brings pieces of eroded stories together. The fragments become landscapes and she stacks those landscapes like geological rock layers – using looping and sound landscaping. This creates a 'mineral' representation telling you something about what is written in stones, and what stones have written in us.

In a world where notions of growth, progress and development are central to political and economic rhetoric, stones can shed critical light on how the notion of life – and the living – functions as a form of bio-normatisation: LIFE as a norm leading to oppression and exploitation. How to Turn to Stone zooms in on the similarity between working bodies and geological formations, and their shared history of extraction and depletion. We too are made of stone and can be mined.

• Manuela Infante is a Chilean author and theatre maker who tours worldwide and has previously performed in Brussels (KVS) with Estado Vegetal and Metamorphoses. In her work, she investigates the boundaries between the humane and the non-human, only then to dissolve them.


director, playwright Manuela Infante | cast Marcela Salinas, Aliocha de la Sotta, Rodrigo Pérez | design Rocio Hernández | technical manager, visuals Pablo Mois | production Carmina Infante | sound design Manuela Infante | visuals design, light-sound programming Alex Waghorn | choreography Diana Carvajal | music collaborations Valentina Villarroel & Marcos Meza | with music by Eliane Radigue, Pauline Oliveros, Kali Malone, Senyawa & Beverly Glenn-Copeland | sound technician Diego Betancourt | sound technical design Gonzalo Rodriguez | research, dramaturgy Camila Valladares | residencies Kyoto Experiment Festival, Kyoto Arts Center, Parque Cultural de Valparaíso, NAVE, Centro de Creación y Residencia | co-production Centro Cultural Matucana 100, Fundación Teatro a Mil, NAVE, Parque Cultural de Valparaíso | partly funded by the Chilean Ministry of Culture, Arts and Heritage | presented in Brussels during the Próximamente festival

Manuela Infante

How to Turn to Stone

How to Turn to Stone
How to Turn to Stone

25.11 – 26.11.2021

À quoi ressemblerait une pièce de théâtre qui se comporte comme une pierre ? Quelle forme adopterait un spectacle « minéral » ? Et si nous tentions d’imiter ce qui ne naît, ne grandit et ne meurt jamais ?

Dans How to Turn to Stone, des pierres servent, en tant qu’objets « non vivants », de modèle à une autre sorte de résistance. Manuela Infante réunit des bribes de récits érodés. Ces fragments deviennent des paysages empilés en strates géologiques, au moyen de mises en boucle et de paysage sonores. Ainsi naît un spectacle « minéral », qui nous raconte quelque chose sur ce qui est écrit dans la pierre et ce que les pierres ont inscrit en nous.

Dans un monde où des concepts comme la croissance, le progrès et le développement sont primordiaux dans la rhétorique politique et économique, des pierres peuvent projeter un éclairage critique sur la façon dont cette notion de vie – et des vivants – fonctionne comme une forme de bionormativisme : VIVRE en tant que norme qui entraîne de l’oppression et de l’exploitation. How to Turn to Stone se focalise sur les analogies entre des corps qui travaillent, des formations géologiques et leur histoire partagée d’extraction et d’épuisement. Nous aussi, nous sommes composés de pierre et pouvons donc aussi être extraits.

• Manuela Infante est une autrice et metteuse en scène chilienne qui effectue des tournées mondiales et qu’on a pu voir précédemment à Bruxelles (au KVS) avec les spectacles Estado Vegetal et Metamorphoses. Son œuvre explore les frontières entre l’humain et le non-humain pour ensuite mieux les effacer.


director, playwright Manuela Infante | cast Marcela Salinas, Aliocha de la Sotta, Rodrigo Pérez | design Rocio Hernández | technical manager, visuals Pablo Mois | production Carmina Infante | sound design Manuela Infante | visuals design, light-sound programming Alex Waghorn | choreography Diana Carvajal | music collaborations Valentina Villarroel & Marcos Meza | with music by Eliane Radigue, Pauline Oliveros, Kali Malone, Senyawa & Beverly Glenn-Copeland | sound technician Diego Betancourt | sound technical design Gonzalo Rodriguez | research, dramaturgy Camila Valladares | residencies Kyoto Experiment Festival, Kyoto Arts Center, Parque Cultural de Valparaíso, NAVE, Centro de Creación y Residencia | co-production Centro Cultural Matucana 100, Fundación Teatro a Mil, NAVE, Parque Cultural de Valparaíso | partly funded by the Chilean Ministry of Culture, Arts and Heritage | presented in Brussels during the Próximamente festival