#MindBender

Broaden your hoizons with new perspectives

Meg Stuart / Damaged Goods

CASCADE

dance performance

CASCADE
CASCADE

dance

Thu 02.09 - Sat 04.09.21

In CASCADE, Meg Stuart and seven dancers reset the clock, and challenge reality to reconfigure itself. Balancing on the edge of a world that is rapidly disappearing, they plunge their bodies into another dimension. CASCADE is an unconditional surrender to what we do not know about the unknown other. Step into this free fall to the crumbling of time!

Ivana Müller

Forces of Nature

theatre performance

Forces of Nature
Forces of Nature

theatre

Tue 07.09 - Wed 08.09.21

Forces of Nature follows a movement of an articulate and complex organism composed of five persons with different energies and ideas. Their desires might not be the same, but they have a common goal: the construction of a shared physical and imaginary space.
 

Urban Foxes

Urban Conflict Game [+14]

workshop

Urban Conflict Game [+14]
Urban Conflict Game [+14]

workshop

Sat 11.09 - Sat 11.09.21

In the Urban Conflict Game, you are immersed in a role-playing game with several existing cases, issues and conflicts in Brussels and its public space. Funny and challenging chance cards and the different scenarios make the game exciting and unpredictable!

Benjamin Vandewalle, Maija Hynninen & HYOID

Journal d’un usager de l’espace

performance music

Journal d’un usager de l’espace
Journal d’un usager de l’espace

performance

Fri 17.09 - Sun 19.09.21

In Journal d'un usager de l'espace, you travel through the Kaaitheater building in a different way. Visible and invisible singers take you from one space to another, immersing you in an ever-changing sound bath. Journal d'un usager de l'espace is an immersion in the ordinary beauty of space, sound, architecture and movement.

Ant Hampton

Two adults and a child

theatre performance

Two adults and a child
Two adults and a child

theatre

Thu 23.09 - Fri 24.09.21

On stage: two adults and a child, unrehearsed, invited anew for every show. The child, on headphones, seems to be in charge. The adults copy the movements of children they see on screens around them. This puppet-like dance illustrates the stories, songs and dreams selected and whispered by the voices of yet more children as useful examples of vulnerability or surprise. Who are these kids?

Fredrik Gertten

documentary: PUSH

film

documentary: PUSH
documentary: PUSH

film

Sat 11.09.21

The documentary PUSH shows how real estate companies, hedge funds, private equity firms and real estate investment funds increasingly invest in the (rental) housing market by, for example, buying up entire residential blocks. In some cases, they deliberately let these houses rot in order to demolish them and build (often expensive) residential towers in their place: a scenario that Brussels, unfortunately, knows all too well. These processes raise urgent questions: Whose city is it really? Do we, as residents, still have a say in our neighbourhood? Even more so: do the people we elected still have control over the city? This screening is followed by a q&a with director Fredrik Gertten.

Roland Gunst_John K Cobra / Moussem

SPIRIT CAPITAL

performance

SPIRIT CAPITAL
SPIRIT CAPITAL

performance

Wed 29.09 - Thu 30.09.21

Two female, identical performers move through the theatre space. The scene evokes the 'Tropical Bungalow', a dwelling installed by the colonial in Congo. SPIRIT CAPITAL transforms the stage into a ritualised place and invites you on a spatial and mental journey where historically oppressed bodies can shed the chains of history and liberate themselves through movement, words, sounds, music and outward transformations.

Mothers & Daughters

Slamposium

Slam performance

Slamposium
Slamposium

Slam

Fri 15.10 - Sat 16.10.21

The feminist and lesbian bar Mothers & Daughters occupies Kaaistudios with Slamposium: an international feminist and queer slam event bringing together the flourishing slam scene in Brussels and Belgium with slam performers from other parts of Europe and from around the world. Hold on for two days of poetry, performance, workshops, music, laughter and much more.

Kristien De Proost & Bwanga Pilipili

Simon, Garfunkel, My Sister and Me

theatre music

Simon, Garfunkel, My Sister and Me
Simon, Garfunkel, My Sister and Me

theatre

Tue 12.10 - Thu 21.10.21

In 1981, Paul Simon and Art Garfunkel performed their legendary charity concert in Central Park, New York: a musical feast of friendship and solidarity. the two singers now avoid one another as much as possible. More even: they had already split at the time of that concert. Simon, Garfunkel, My Sister and Me is the ultimate re-enactment of the concert, a show about rivalry in all its forms.

Volmir Cordeiro

Trottoir

dance

Trottoir
Trottoir

dance

Sat 23.10.21

How do you depict freedom onstage? According to Volmir Cordeiro, the key to answering this question lies in metamorphosis, in the power of being ‘in becoming’. Enveloped in multiple layers of brightly coloured panties, six dancers unleash the exuberant energy of their transformations on the audience. Plummet headlong into this rebellious laboratory and rethink your relationship with your own norms – in the theatre or in your everyday life.

Needcompany

Billy’s Violence

theatre

Billy’s Violence
Billy’s Violence

theatre

Fri 29.10 - Sat 30.10.21

Shakespeare is the most widely read and performed author in Western literary history. Yet many of the Bard's texts are almost unplayable because of the violence, horror, racism and misogyny. What does violence mean in art today? For Billy's Violence, Victor Afung Lauwers researched ten tragedies by Shakespeare and rewrote them into violently loving, intimate dialogues in which women are central. You may never have seen Shakespeare this boned and dusted.

Mokhallad Rasem & Kuno Bakker

Homemade

theatre

Homemade
Homemade

theatre

Wed 17.11 - Thu 18.11.21

Mokhallad Rasem and Kuno Bakker previously created the production De verse tijd together. In Homemade they pursue their collaboration, but this time to build a place where they can live together. The time for action and building has come. How can they create something that will make them both happy? Something that meets their needs in terms of aesthetics, safety, security. And sustainability, of course.

Manuela Infante

How to Turn to Stone

theatre

How to Turn to Stone
How to Turn to Stone

theatre

Thu 25.11 - Fri 26.11.21

A play that behaves like a stone: what would that look like? What form would a 'mineral' representation take? In How to Turn to Stone, stones, as 'non-living' things, are models for a different kind of resistance. Manuela Infante brings pieces of eroded stories together. The fragments become landscapes and she stacks those landscapes like geological rock layers. This creates a 'mineral' representation telling you something about what is written in stones, and what stones have written in us.

Lara Staal/NTGent

Dissident

theatre

Dissident
Dissident

theatre

Sat 27.11.21

Five ‘problem youths’ are occupying the stage. Often unconsciously, they have become experts in provoking the prevailing authorities. But this time, the roles are reversed, and they educate the audience. What happens when you are always the exception? And what do the rules and expectations of secondary education say about how we conceive of successful citizenship?

Rimini Protokoll

Conference of the Absent

theatre

Conference of the Absent
Conference of the Absent

theatre

Wed 08.12 - Thu 09.12.21

In Conference of the Absent, invited experts and speakers do not appear physically on stage, but are embodied by locals who only receive the script at the beginning of the evening. In this performance you will observe how the people of Brussels take on the identity of absent speakers. Without CO2 emissions or bad Skype and Zoom connections, but with all the performative means of the theatre, contradictory propositions about globalisation collide in the theatre space. Maybe you will manage to get your hands on a script?

#MindBender

Elargissez vos horizons à l’aide de nouvelles perspectives

Meg Stuart / Damaged Goods

CASCADE

danse performance

CASCADE
CASCADE
je 02.09 - sa 04.09.21

Dans CASCADE, Meg Stuart et sept danseurs remettent les pendules à l’heure et reconfigurent des réalités alternatives. Oscillant au bord d’un monde qui disparaît à grande vitesse, ils se plongent dans une autre dimension. CASCADE est un abandon de soi inconditionnel à ce que nous ignorons de l'autre. Entrez dans cette chute libre au rythme du temps qui s’effrite !

Urban Foxes

Urban Conflict Game [+14]

workshop

Urban Conflict Game [+14]
Urban Conflict Game [+14]
sa 11.09 - sa 11.09.21

Urban Conflict Game vous immerge par le biais d’un jeu de rôles dans une diversité de situations, de problématiques et de conflits existants à Bruxelles et dans son espace public. Des cartes « chance » et différents scénarios rendent le jeu captivant et imprévisible !

Benjamin Vandewalle, Maija Hynninen & HYOID

Journal d’un usager de l’espace

performance musique

Journal d’un usager de l’espace
Journal d’un usager de l’espace
ve 17.09 - di 19.09.21

Dans Journal d’un usager de l’espace, nous voyageons dans le bâtiment du Kaaitheater d’une manière très particulière. Des chanteurs présents et invisibles nous font passer d’un espace à l’autre, nous immergeant dans un bain sonore en constante évolution. Journal d’un usager de l’espace est une immersion dans la beauté ordinaire de l’espace, du son, de l’architecture et du mouvement.

Ant Hampton

Two adults and a child

théâtre performance

Two adults and a child
Two adults and a child
je 23.09 - ve 24.09.21

Sur scène, deux adultes et un enfant qui n’ont pas répété, réinvités à chaque représentation. L’enfant, qui porte des écouteurs, semble être celui qui tient les rênes du spectacle. Les adultes copient les mouvements d’autres enfants qu’ils voient sur des écrans les entourant. C’est une sorte de danse de marionnettes qui illustre des histoires, des chansons et des rêves sélectionnés et murmurés par les voix d’encore plus d’enfants, tels des exemples de vulnérabilités et de surprises. Qui sont ces enfants ?

Roland Gunst_John K Cobra / Moussem

SPIRIT CAPITAL

performance

SPIRIT CAPITAL
SPIRIT CAPITAL
me 29.09 - je 30.09.21

Deux performeuses, d’apparence identique se meuvent à travers l’espace théâtral. La scénographie évoque le « Bungalow tropical », une structure résidentielle installée par les coloniaux au Congo. SPIRIT CAPITAL transforme la scène en un lieu ritualisé et invite à un voyage spatial et mental dans lequel des corps historiquement opprimés peuvent rejeter les chaînes de l’Histoire et s’en libérer à travers des mouvements, des paroles, des sons, de la musique et des métamorphoses visibles.

Needcompany

Billy’s Violence

théâtre

Billy’s Violence
Billy’s Violence
ve 29.10 - sa 30.10.21

Shakespeare est l’auteur le plus lu et le plus joué de l’histoire de la littérature occidentale. Pourtant, de nombreux textes du barde sont quasi injouables à cause de leur violence, de leur cruauté, de leur racisme et de leur misogynie. Que signifie la violence dans l’art aujourd’hui ? Pour Billy’s Violence, Victor Afung Lauwers s’est penché sur dix tragédies de Shakespeare et les a réécrites en dialogues intimes, violemment affectueux, dans lesquels la femme occupe une place centrale. Vous n’avez peut-être jamais vu du Shakespeare aussi décortiqué et écumé.

Mokhallad Rasem & Kuno Bakker

Homemade

théâtre

Homemade
Homemade
me 17.11 - je 18.11.21

Mokhallad Rasem et Kuno Bakker ont créé ensemble le spectacle De verse tijd, qu'ils ont présenté aux Kaaistudio’s. Ils. Ils poursuivent leur collaboration dans Homemade, mais cette fois pour un lieu où ils peuvent habiter ensemble. Le temps est venu d’agir, de construire. Comment créer un lieu où tous les deux seront heureux et qui répond à leurs aspirations en matière de beauté, de sécurité, de convivialité et de durabilité, bien sûr ?

Manuela Infante

How to Turn to Stone

théâtre

How to Turn to Stone
How to Turn to Stone
je 25.11 - ve 26.11.21

À quoi ressemblerait une pièce de théâtre qui se comporte comme une pierre ? Dans How to Turn to Stone, des pierres servent, en tant qu’objets « non vivants », de modèle à une autre sorte de résistance. Manuela Infante réunit des bribes de récits érodés. Ces fragments deviennent des paysages empilés en strates géologiques. Ainsi naît un spectacle « minéral », qui nous raconte quelque chose sur ce qui est écrit dans la pierre et ce que les pierres ont inscrit en nous.

Lara Staal/NTGent

Dissident

théâtre

Dissident
Dissident
sa 27.11.21

Cinq « jeunes à problèmes » occupent la scène. Souvent inconsciemment, ils sont devenus des experts dans la provocation de l’autorité en place. Mais cette fois-ci, les rôles sont inversés et ce sont eux qui instruisent le public. Que signifie être continuellement l’exception ? Et que disent les règles et les attentes dans l’enseignement secondaire sur ce que nous entendons par citoyenneté réussie ?

Rimini Protokoll

Conference of the Absent

théâtre

Conference of the Absent
Conference of the Absent
me 08.12 - je 09.12.21

Lors de Conference of the Absent, les expert·e·s et intervenant·e·s invité·e·s n’apparaissent pas physiquement sur scène, mais sont incarné·e·s par des personnes qui reçoivent le scénario le soir même. Dans ce spectacle, des spectateurs adoptent l’identité des intervenant·e·s absent·e·s. Sans émission de CO2 ni de mauvaise communication Skype ou Zoom, mais avec tous les moyens performatifs du théâtre, des thèses et des positions contradictoires sur la mondialisation s’affrontent dans l’espace théâtral. Peut-être est-ce vous qui jouerez un rôle ?

Mohamed El Khatib

La Dispute

théâtre

La Dispute
La Dispute
sa 29.01 - di 30.01.22

Mohammed El Khatib a passé des mois dans des écoles, rencontré plus de cent enfants de 8 ans de tous les milieux sociaux, sans thème, sans a priori : il a écouté ce qu'ils avaient à dire. Ce que beaucoup de ces enfants ont en commun, ce sont des parents séparés. À chacun de ces enfants qu’il a rencontrés, il a demandé : « Aujourd’hui, quelle question aimerais-tu poser à tes parents ? ».

Heine Avdal & Yukiko Shinozaki / fieldworks

gone here (yet) to come

performance danse

gone here (yet) to come
gone here (yet) to come
je 03.02 - ve 04.02.22

Comment rendre l’obscurité tangible ? Quelles autres réalités, rencontres et connexions deviennent possibles dans l’obscurité ? gone here (yet) to come est une recherche sur la matérialité de l’obscurité et sur la façon dont elle se rapporte à l’espace. En excavant toujours plus profondément l’espace et le temps théâtral, des souvenirs perdus sont mis au jour. Laissez ces spectres vous guider dans l’obscurité et découvrez d’autres dimensions du monde tel que nous le connaissons.

Anna Franziska Jäger & Nathan Ooms

Bartlebabe

performance

Bartlebabe
Bartlebabe
ve 04.02 - sa 05.02.22

Quel est l'impact de la numérisation à grande échelle sur nos vies ? En quoi modifie-t-elle notre manière de penser, ressentir, parler ou aimer ? Faites la connaissance de Bartlebabe, la créature d'Anna Franziska Jäger et de Nathan Ooms, une figure au croisement de l’être humain et de l'algorithme. Elle déchaîne une masse de contenus en ligne sur la réalité analogique du théâtre, jusqu'à la déformer et la rendre monstrueuse.

Kyoko Scholiers

Boy

théâtre musique

Boy
Boy
ma 08.02.22

Quel impact cela a-t-il sur une personne de grandir sans un environnement chaleureux et sécurisant ? Kyoko Scholiers s’est immergée des mois durant dans le monde de la protection de la jeunesse : elle a interviewé des juges pour enfants, des familles d’accueil, des pédopsychiatres, des enfants et leurs parents… À partir de ces expériences, elle a écrit une fiction sous forme de texte de théâtre, Boy, avec un paysage sonore chanté en direct par un chœur d’enfants. La saison dernière, BOY était déjà sur scène au Kaaitheater, et le spectacle est maintenant reprise en raison d'une forte demande !

DE HOE & De Nwe Tijd

DAVID of hoe we ons bedacht hebben

théâtre

DAVID of hoe we ons bedacht hebben
DAVID of hoe we ons bedacht hebben
ma 15.02 - me 16.02.22

Comment vivre sans se tirer une balle dans la tête avant d’avoir atteint cinquante ans ? Trois compagnies de théâtre réalisent autant de représentations sur la personne et l'œuvre de l'auteur culte américain David Foster Wallace. Le point de départ s’ancre dans la biographie de l'écrivain, sa dépendance, son génie, son insécurité, sa dépression et son hyperconscience. La première partie, DAVID ou comment nous nous sommes ravisé·es, explore par quelles voies mener une existence porteuse de sens, une vie qui est connectée aux autres et au monde.