Rimini Protokoll

Conference of the Absent

Conference of the Absent
Conference of the Absent

08.12 – 09.12.2021

How can you bring global expertise and perspectives together in one place without flying everyone over? With a video conference? No, by enabling real avatars. In Conference of the Absent, the invited experts and speakers do not appear physically on stage, but are embodied by locals who only receive the script at the beginning of the evening. In this performance you will observe how the people of Brussels take on the identity of absent speakers. Without CO2 emissions or bad Skype and Zoom connections, but with all the performative means of the theatre, contradictory propositions about globalisation collide in the theatre space. Maybe you will manage to get your hands on a script?

In Conference of the Absent, the Rimini Protokoll-makers simultaneously take on the role of ghostwriter, speechwriter, co-author and director, resulting in a remotely directed documentary theatre performance.

• Helgard Haug, Stefan Kaegi and Daniel Wetzel studied at the Institut für Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft in Giessen and work together (in various combinations) under the name Rimini Protokoll. With their documentary theatre, they have played the most important stages in the world in the past fifteen years to great success. In 2015, they were on the Kaaitheater programme with the ambitious Home Visit Europe, on location in various Brussels living rooms.


concept, text & direction Helgard Haug, Stefan Kaegi, Daniel Wetzel | stage / video- and light design Marc Jungreithmeier | sound design Daniel Dorsch | research & dramaturgy Imanuel Schipper & Lüder Pit Wilcke | with the voice of Nadja Stübiger | prompting voices Henriette Hölzel, David Kosel, Hans-Werner Leupelt & Karina Plachetka  | cooperation political-cultural education Dr. Werner Friedrichs | production management Epona Hamdan | dramaturgy assistance Sebastian Klauke | directing assistance Lisa Homburger & Maximilian Pellert | stage assistance Maksim Chernykh | production assistance Federico Schwindt | a production of Rimini Apparat | co-production Staatsschauspiel Dresden, Ruhrfestspiele Recklinghausen, HAU Hebbel am Ufer & Goethe-Institut | the concept creation was funded by the Federal Agency for Civic Education

Rimini Protokoll

Conference of the Absent

Conference of the Absent
Conference of the Absent

08.12 – 09.12.2021

Comment réunir en un lieu de l’expertise et des perspectives globales sans que tous les intervenants doivent prendre l’avion ? Par vidéoconférence ? Non : en faisant appel à de véritables avatars. Lors de Conference of the Absent, les expert·e·s et intervenant·e·s invité·e·s n’apparaissent pas physiquement sur scène, mais sont incarné·e·s par des personnes locales qui reçoivent le scénario le soir même. Dans ce spectacle, vous observez la façon dont des Bruxellois·e·s adoptent l’identité des intervenant·e·s absent·e·s. Sans émission de CO2 ni de mauvaise communication Skype ou Zoom, mais avec tous les moyens performatifs du théâtre, des thèses et des positions contradictoires sur la mondialisation s’affrontent dans l’espace théâtral. Peut-être est-ce vous qui recevrez un scénario entre les mains ?

Dans Conference of the Absent, les créateurs de Rimini Protokoll jouent à la fois le rôle de prête-plume, d’auteur·e·s de discours, de co-auteur·e·s et de metteur·se·s en scène, avec pour résultat un spectacle de théâtre documentaire dirigé à distance.

• Helgard Haug, Stefan Kaegi et Daniel Wetzel ont étudié à l’Institut für Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft (l’Institut des sciences appliquées du théâtre) à Giessen et travaillent ensemble (selon différentes configurations) sous le nom de Rimini Protokoll. Au cours des quinze dernières années, leur théâtre documentaire a conquis les scènes mondiales les plus prestigieuses. En 2015, ils étaient à l’affiche du Kaaitheater avec l’ambitieux Home Visit Europe, une production hors les murs dans plusieurs livings, chez des particuliers à Bruxelles.


concept, text & direction Helgard Haug, Stefan Kaegi, Daniel Wetzel | stage / video- and light design Marc Jungreithmeier | sound design Daniel Dorsch | research & dramaturgy Imanuel Schipper & Lüder Pit Wilcke | with the voice of Nadja Stübiger | prompting voices Henriette Hölzel, David Kosel, Hans-Werner Leupelt & Karina Plachetka  | cooperation political-cultural education Dr. Werner Friedrichs | production management Epona Hamdan | dramaturgy assistance Sebastian Klauke | directing assistance Lisa Homburger & Maximilian Pellert | stage assistance Maksim Chernykh | production assistance Federico Schwindt | a production of Rimini Apparat | co-production Staatsschauspiel Dresden, Ruhrfestspiele Recklinghausen, HAU Hebbel am Ufer & Goethe-Institut | the concept creation was funded by the Federal Agency for Civic Education