Jan Fabre/Troubleyn [BE]

Belgian Rules/Belgium Rules

Belgian Rules/Belgium Rules
Belgian Rules/Belgium Rules

20.04 – 21.04.2018

An ode to his crazy country

Just like Fellini made Roma – an ode to his city – Jan Fabre is celebrating his own complex, crazy country. He is doing so in the most appropriate language to capture the spirit of this slippery state: the language of the theatre and of images. With an international cast of performers and musicians, Fabre goes in search of Belgian identity, and translates it into a dance and theatre production. Raymond van het Groenewoud has written a series of anthems, while author Johan de Boose wrote the text. In Belgian Rules/Belgium Rules Fabre examines our self-image – who knows, it might lead us to have more empathy.

• In the late 1970s, the young Jan Fabre made his foray with sensational solo performances. Not long after, he sent shockwaves through the theatre world with the production It is Theatre as to be Expected and Foreseen (1982). Since then, he has become one of the most versatile artists on the international scene. Last season, he occupied Kaaitheater for an entire day with the monumental epic Mount Olympus.

Theatre lay at the foundation of Belgium’s birth, and theatre is what this little country remains.


performance Annabelle Chambon, Cédric Charron, Tabitha Cholet, Anny Czupper, Conor Thomas Doherty, Stella Höttler, Ivana Jozic, Gustav Koenigs, Mariateresa Notarangelo, Çigdem Polat, Annabel Reid, Merel Severs, Ursel Tilk, Kasper Vandenberghe, Andrew James Van Ostade | concept and direction Jan Fabre | text Johan de Boose | music Raymond van het Groenewoud, Andrew Van Ostade | dramaturgy Miet Martens | assistance dramaturgy Edith Cassiers | costume design Kasia Mielczarek, Jonne Sikkema | intern assistant director Nina Certyn | intern P.U.L.S. Timeau De Keyser | intern costume design Monika Nyckowska | technical management André Schneider | production management Sebastiaan Peeters | stage technique Wout Janssens | (inter)national sales Sophie Vanden Broeck | company management Mark Geurden | business coordinator Joost Claes | press and communication Edith Cassiers | production Troubleyn/Jan Fabre | co-production ImpulsTanz Vienna International Dance Festival, Napoli Teatro Festival, Théâtre de Liège, Concertgebouw Brugge

Jan Fabre/Troubleyn [BE]

Belgian Rules/Belgium Rules

Belgian Rules/Belgium Rules
Belgian Rules/Belgium Rules

20.04 – 21.04.2018

Une ode à son pays insolite

Comme l’a fait Fellini – une ode à sa ville –, Jan Fabre célèbre son propre pays complexe et insolite. Il le fait dans le langage le plus approprié pour saisir l’esprit de ce pays intelligible : celui du théâtre et celui de l’image. Avec une distribution de performeurs et de musiciens internationaux, Jan Fabre part à la recherche de l’identité belge qu’il transpose en spectacle de danse et de théâtre. Raymond van het Groenewoud écrit une série de chansons de circonstance, l’auteur Johan de Boose signe le texte. Avec Belgian Rules/Belgium Rules, Jan Fabre passe au crible l’image que nous nous faisons de nous-mêmes – et qui sait, peut-être cela nous rendra-t-il un peu plus compréhensifs envers l’autre.

• À la fin des années 70, le jeune Jan Fabre a porté à la scène de retentissantes performances en solo. Peu de temps après, il a envoyé une onde de choc à travers le monde du théâtre avec C’est du théâtre comme c’était à espérer et à prévoir (1982). Depuis, il est devenu l’un des artistes les plus polyvalents de la scène internationale. La saison passée, il a occupé vingt-quatre heures durant le Kaaitheater avec l’épopée monumentale Mount Olympus.

Le théâtre est à l’origine de la naissance de la Belgique et le théâtre est ce que ce petit pays demeure.


performance Annabelle Chambon, Cédric Charron, Tabitha Cholet, Anny Czupper, Conor Thomas Doherty, Stella Höttler, Ivana Jozic, Gustav Koenigs, Mariateresa Notarangelo, Çigdem Polat, Annabel Reid, Merel Severs, Ursel Tilk, Kasper Vandenberghe, Andrew James Van Ostade | concept and direction Jan Fabre | text Johan de Boose | music Raymond van het Groenewoud, Andrew Van Ostade | dramaturgy Miet Martens | assistance dramaturgy Edith Cassiers | costume design Kasia Mielczarek, Jonne Sikkema | intern assistant director Nina Certyn | intern P.U.L.S. Timeau De Keyser | intern costume design Monika Nyckowska | technical management André Schneider | production management Sebastiaan Peeters | stage technique Wout Janssens | (inter)national sales Sophie Vanden Broeck | company management Mark Geurden | business coordinator Joost Claes | press and communication Edith Cassiers | production Troubleyn/Jan Fabre | co-production ImpulsTanz Vienna International Dance Festival, Napoli Teatro Festival, Théâtre de Liège, Concertgebouw Brugge