#VisuallyStunning

Feast your eyes !

FOR ALL QUEENS!

SO YOU WANNA VOGUE, HUH?!

film

SO YOU WANNA VOGUE, HUH?!
SO YOU WANNA VOGUE, HUH?!

film

Fri 01.10.21

Kaaitheater opened its doors in March 2021 to FOR ALL QUEENS! In two days time, they put together a film that takes you through three rooms each with a different view on what ballroom culture is. Want to learn more about this community and culture? Then you'll learn what the do's & don'ts are, gain insight into the history, and see that that duckwalk does not have to be so bouncy.

Diederik Peeters

Apparitions

theatre

Apparitions
Apparitions

theatre

Thu 21.10 - Fri 22.10.21

Diederik Peeters adopts the role of an illusionist, but quickly gets lost in his own illusions. With optical tricks from the 19th century, he breathes life into his own shadow and conjures the ghosts of the future. In a kind of visual delirium, echoes of Méliès or Houdini clash with the 22nd century. Are the dead alive here, and does the future simply occur in the present?

Mokhallad Rasem & Kuno Bakker

Homemade

theatre

Homemade
Homemade

theatre

Wed 17.11 - Thu 18.11.21

Mokhallad Rasem and Kuno Bakker previously created the production De verse tijd together. In Homemade they pursue their collaboration, but this time to build a place where they can live together. The time for action and building has come. How can they create something that will make them both happy? Something that meets their needs in terms of aesthetics, safety, security. And sustainability, of course.

Gisèle Vienne

L’Etang

theatre

L’Etang
L’Etang

theatre

Thu 18.11 - Sat 20.11.21

Gisèle Vienne returns to Kaaitheater with a text adaptation by the Swiss writer Robert Walser. L'Etang (the pond) is a musical theatre play about a child who feels unloved by his mother. At the height of his despair and as an ultimate attempt to win her love, he feigns suicide in a pond. The children and teenagers of the village are embodied by seven human-sized dolls, Stephen O'Malley from cult group SUN O))) is once more responsible for the music.

Volmir Cordeiro

Trottoir

dance

Trottoir
Trottoir

dance

Sat 23.10.21

How do you depict freedom onstage? According to Volmir Cordeiro, the key to answering this question lies in metamorphosis, in the power of being ‘in becoming’. Enveloped in multiple layers of brightly coloured panties, six dancers unleash the exuberant energy of their transformations on the audience. Plummet headlong into this rebellious laboratory and rethink your relationship with your own norms – in the theatre or in your everyday life.

Radouan Mriziga

Akal

dance

Akal
Akal

dance

Thu 20.01 - Fri 21.01.22

Can choreography be used to fill in the gaps in our historical memory? With Akal, Tamazight for Earth, Radouan Mriziga once again focuses on the knowledge of the Imazighen, the indigenous people of North Africa. In this solo, written for Dorothée Munyaneza, he creates an intimate mix of rituals, traditional dance, architecture, storytelling, song, poetry and rap. A fresh look at an oppressed past.

Ana Pi

The Divine Cypher

dance

The Divine Cypher
The Divine Cypher

dance

Thu 10.02 - Fri 11.02.22

Choreographer and urban dance researcher Ana Pi returns to Kaaitheater with a performative and cinematic creation on Haitian sacred dances. This creation brings Ana Pi into dialogue with experimental filmmaker Maya Deren, Haitian popular cultures, the ancestral sacred movements of the Voodoo and Candomblé cultures, celebrating their pioneering spirit and power.

Mette Edvardsen

Livre d’images sans images

performance

Livre d’images sans images
Livre d’images sans images

performance

Wed 02.03 - Thu 03.03.22

Choreography is writing. Based in this realization, Mette Edvardsen has taken a new step in the writing process that she has been developing over the past ten years. She does not consider dance primarily as a visual art, rather she experiences how it engages all the other senses, such as listening, feeling and imagining. In the new creation Livre d’images sans images, Edvardsen collects song lyrics and texts that you hear in various forms – live and recorded.

Alix Eynaudi

BRUNO

performance

BRUNO
BRUNO

performance

Wed 09.03 - Thu 10.03.22

Imagine a tower of countless lamps and light sources. It comes to life buzzing, creaking and crackling to the rhythm of switching sounds. Named after the light designer Bruno Pocheron, BRUNO brings together series of dances oscillating between figuration and abstraction with three dancers trying on their movements as if they were clothes: every touch, every gesture, however fugitive, forever printed. 

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas

Red Dark

dance exhibition

Red Dark
Red Dark

dance

Fri 29.04 - Sun 08.05.22

What would it mean for choreography to perform as an exhibition? In 2021, De Keersmaeker was invited by Fondation Beyeler to create Dark Red—Beyeler, a ‘live installation’ where the dancing body faced the sculptural work of Auguste Rodin and Hans Arp

buren

SPARE TIME WORK

performance music

SPARE TIME WORK
SPARE TIME WORK

performance

Sat 04.06.22

In this playful sci-fi park, the buren collective analyses the social and economic forces that regulate ‘free time’ and ‘work’ in our Western society. In an associative narrative, the makers link personal memories to the history of free time and labour, and to the evolution of women’s labour in Belgium and abroad.

Femke Gyselinck

Letters 2 Dance

dance music

Letters 2 Dance
Letters 2 Dance

dance

Sat 11.06 - Sun 12.06.22

What is the relationship between movement and typography, between dance and letter images? In her new performance Letters 2 Dance, Femke Gyselinck and two performers create a dance alphabet that it is for you, the audience, to decipher. They are on stage together with the eclectic musician-composer Liesa Van der Aa: together they arrange letters using musical samples.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas

Mystery Sonatas / For Rosa

dance music

Mystery Sonatas / For Rosa
Mystery Sonatas / For Rosa

dance

Thu 23.06 - Sun 26.06.22

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker continues her choreographic journey with the fifteen virtuoso Mystery Sonatas, the best-known compositions by Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber. These intrinsically religious and narrative sonatas are also a warm invitation to dance, thanks to the musical dance forms such as Gigues, Allemandes and Courantes. De Keersmaeker immersed herself in the mystical and geometrical wealth of this music and made the Sonatas her own in a choreography for six dancers.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas

CANCELLED: Drumming

dance

CANCELLED: Drumming
CANCELLED: Drumming

dance

Fri 09.10 - Sat 31.10.20

Please note: this show has been cancelled to help contain the spread of the new coronavirus. 

Drumming (1998) is returning to Brussels! It’s one of Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker’s most iconic choreographies, written to the eponymous, minimalistic percussion score by Steve Reich. A  wave of pure dance and pure sound, a vortex of vital energy.

Radouan Mriziga

7

dance

7
7

dance

Fri 23.10 - Sat 24.10.20

Every age has its wonders of the world: the impossible that people still manage to build – bigger and more impressive than anything we’d seen before. But how remarkable is the small body that invents and creates all these colossuses? In 7, Radouan Mriziga juxtaposes two benchmarks: the built environment, made to impress, and the ultimate wonder of the world: the human body itself.

#VisuallyStunning

Remplissez-vous les yeux !

FOR ALL QUEENS!

SO YOU WANNA VOGUE, HUH?!

film

SO YOU WANNA VOGUE, HUH?!
SO YOU WANNA VOGUE, HUH?!

film

ve 01.10.21

En mars 2021, le Kaaitheater a ouvert ses portes à l’organisation FOR ALL QUEENS! En à peine deux jours, ils ont concocté un film qui vous emmène à travers trois espaces offrant chaque fois un regard différent sur le phénomène de la culture ballroom. Vous souhaitez en apprendre davantage sur cette communauté et cette culture ? Alors vous apprendrez les us et coutumes et l’histoire du mouvement et vous constaterez que le duckwalk n’est pas forcément si rebondissant.

Diederik Peeters

Apparitions

théâtre

Apparitions
Apparitions

théâtre

je 21.10 - ve 22.10.21

Diederik Peeters incarne un illusionniste, mais se perd rapidement dans ses propres tours de passe-passe. Au moyen d’illusions optiques datant du XIXe siècle, il insuffle vie à sa propre ombre et ressuscite des esprits du futur. Dans une sorte de délire visuel, des échos de Méliès ou Houdini se heurtent au XXIIe siècle. Les morts sont-ils vivants ici ? Et l’avenir se déroule-t-il simplement dans le présent ?

Mokhallad Rasem & Kuno Bakker

Homemade

théâtre

Homemade
Homemade

théâtre

me 17.11 - je 18.11.21

Mokhallad Rasem et Kuno Bakker ont créé ensemble le spectacle De verse tijd, qu'ils ont présenté aux Kaaistudio’s. Ils. Ils poursuivent leur collaboration dans Homemade, mais cette fois pour un lieu où ils peuvent habiter ensemble. Le temps est venu d’agir, de construire. Comment créer un lieu où tous les deux seront heureux et qui répond à leurs aspirations en matière de beauté, de sécurité, de convivialité et de durabilité, bien sûr ?

Gisèle Vienne

L’Etang

théâtre

L’Etang
L’Etang

théâtre

je 18.11 - sa 20.11.21

Gisèle Vienne revient au Kaaitheater avec une adaptation du texte de l’écrivain suisse Robert Walser. L’Étang est une pièce de théâtre musicale sur un enfant qui se sent mal aimé par sa mère. Au plus fort de son désespoir et dans une ultime tentative de gagner son amour, il feint de se suicider dans un étang. Les enfants et adolescents du village sont incarnés par sept marionnettes grandeur nature, Stephen O’Malley du groupe culte SUN O))) signe une fois de plus la musique.

Radouan Mriziga

Akal

danse

Akal
Akal

danse

je 20.01 - ve 21.01.22

La chorégraphie peut-elle être utilisée pour pallier les lacunes de notre mémoire historique ? Avec Akal, Terre en tamazight, Radouan Mriziga s'intéresse une fois de plus aux savoirs des Imazighen, la population autochtone d'Afrique du Nord. Dans ce solo créé pour Dorothée Munyaneza, il invente un alliage intime de rituels, de danse traditionnelle, d'architecture, de contes, de chants, de poésie et de rap. Un regard neuf sur un passé d'oppression.

Volmir Cordeiro

Trottoir

danse

Trottoir
Trottoir

danse

sa 23.10.21

Comment rejouer la liberté sur scène ? Pour Volmir Cordeiro, la clé réside dans la métamorphose, dans la force d’être « en devenir ». Enveloppés dans plusieurs paires de collants colorés, six danseurs lâchent l’énergie exubérante de leurs transformations sur le public. Plongez-vous à corps perdu dans ce laboratoire de la révolte et déconstruisez la relation à vos normes personnelles – au théâtre ou dans la vie quotidienne.

Ana Pi

The Divine Cypher

danse

The Divine Cypher
The Divine Cypher

danse

je 10.02 - ve 11.02.22

La chorégraphe et chercheuse en danses urbaines Ana Pi revient au Kaaitheater avec une création performative et cinématographique sur les danses sacrées haïtiennes. Cette création fait dialoguer Ana Pi avec la cinéaste expérimentale Maya Deren, les cultures populaires haïtiennes, les mouvements sacrés ancestraux des cultures Vaudou et Candomblé, en célébrant leur pionniérisme et leur puissance.

Mette Edvardsen

Livre d’images sans images

performance

Livre d’images sans images
Livre d’images sans images

performance

me 02.03 - je 03.03.22

Chorégraphier c’est écrire. À partir de cette constatation, Mette Edvardsen franchit une nouvelle étape dans le processus d’écriture qu’elle développe depuis une décennie. Ne considérant pas la danse en premier lieu comme un art visuel, elle explore surtout la manière dont la danse s’adresse aux autres sens, tels que l’écoute, le ressenti et l’imagination. Dans la nouvelle création Livre d’images sans images, Edvardsen rassemble des textes (de chansons) qu’on entend sous différentes formes – en direct et enregistrés.

Alix Eynaudi

BRUNO

performance

BRUNO
BRUNO

performance

me 09.03 - je 10.03.22

Imaginez une tour composée d'innombrables lampes et de sources lumineuses. Au rythme de sons de commutateurs, elle s'anime en bourdonnant, crépitant et grinçant. Du nom du concepteur de lumière Bruno Pocheron, BRUNO réunit des séquences de danses oscillant entre figuration et abstraction où trois danseurs essaient leurs mouvements comme s'il s'agissait de vêtements : chaque touche, chaque geste, même fugitif, est imprimé à jamais.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas

Red Dark

danse expo

Red Dark
Red Dark

danse

sa 23.04 - di 08.05.22

Que se passe-t-il quand la chorégraphie se fait exposition ? En 2021, De Keersmaeker a été invitée par la Fondation Beyeler à créer Dark Red—Beyeler, une  installation « live » qui confronte le corps dansant à l’univers sculptural d’Auguste Rodin et de Hans Arp.

buren

SPARE TIME WORK

performance musique

SPARE TIME WORK
SPARE TIME WORK

performance

sa 04.06.22

Dans ce parc de science-fiction ludique, le collectif buren passe au crible les forces sociales et économiques qui agissent sur le « temps libre » et le « travail » dans notre société occidentale. Dans un récit associatif, les créateurs relient des souvenirs personnels à l’histoire de l’aménagement des loisirs et du travail, et à l’évolution du travail des femmes en Belgique et à l’étranger.

Femke Gyselinck

Letters 2 Dance

danse musique

Letters 2 Dance
Letters 2 Dance

danse

sa 11.06 - di 12.06.22

Quelle relation existe-t-il entre le mouvement et la typographie, entre la danse et les images des lettres ? Dans sa nouvelle performance Letters 2 Dance, Femke Gyselinck et deux interprètes créent un alphabet dansé que vous, spectateur·ices, êtes invité·es à déchiffrer. Ils·elles sont sur scène avec l’éclectique musicienne-compositrice Liesa Van der Aa et harmonisent ensemble des lettres en utilisant des échantillons musicaux.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas

Mystery Sonatas / For Rosa

danse musique

Mystery Sonatas / For Rosa
Mystery Sonatas / For Rosa

danse

je 23.06 - di 26.06.22

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker poursuit son voyage chorégraphique avec les quinze et virtuoses Sonates du Mystère, les compositions les plus connues de Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber. Ces sonates intrinsèquement religieuses et narratives sont également une chaleureuse invitation à la danse, grâce aux formes de danse musicale telles que les Gigues, les Allemandes et les Courantes. De Keersmaeker s'imprègne de la richesse mystique et géométrique de cette musique et s'approprie les Sonates dans une chorégraphie pour six danseurs.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas

ANNULÉ : Drumming

danse

ANNULÉ : Drumming
ANNULÉ : Drumming

danse

ve 09.10 - sa 31.10.20

Attention : ce spectacle est annulé afin d’éviter la propagation du nouveau coronavirus.

Drumming (1998) revient à Bruxelles ! Il s’agit de l’une des chorégraphies les plus emblématiques d’Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker créée à partir de l’œuvre éponyme de Steve Reich, une composition minimaliste pour percussions. Une vague de sons et de danse à l’état pur, un tourbillon d’énergie vitale.

Radouan Mriziga

7

danse

7
7

danse

ve 23.10 - sa 24.10.20

Chaque époque crée ses merveilles : l’impossible néanmoins érigé, plus grand et plus impressionnant que tout ce que nous connaissions jusque-là. Mais ce petit corps humain, qui a imaginé et réalisé toutes ces merveilles, ne reste-t-il pas la plus grande merveille d’entre toutes ? Radouan Mriziga confronte deux critères : le monde construit, créé pour en imposer et la merveille ultime de ce monde : le corps humain.