#newarrivals

We are welcoming these artists to Kaaitheater for the first time

Fabrice Samyn

A Breath Cycle

performance

A Breath Cycle
A Breath Cycle

performance

Sat 21.04 - Sun 22.04.18

Visual artist Fabrice Samyn installs his seven Breath Pieces around a waiting room. Performers do various things that intensify your awareness of time and focus your attention on the fundamental and uncontrollable nature of breathing. Each section follows a consultable protocol that determines the interactions between performers and audience.

Kevin Trappeniers

AntennA

installation

AntennA
AntennA

installation

Tue 09.10.18

Never have so many messages been sent into the world or have we ever been as reachable. But do we still really talk to each other – or only to ourselves and our devices? In AntennA, Kevin Trappeniers constructs an antenna that is several metres high, creating a new, silent space. What might the content of this new void be?

Jed Martin

Autoportrait/Zelfportret

theatre

Autoportrait/Zelfportret
Autoportrait/Zelfportret

theatre

Thu 20.09 - Fri 21.09.18

Jed Martin – the main character in Michel Houellebecq’s The Map and the Territory – was born near Paris in 1975. When he is forty years old, he writes a letter to his dead mother. She was as old as he was then, when she decided to take her own life. The combination of his words and his visual work results in a compelling self-portrait of a contemporary artist.

Pichet Klunchun & Chen Wu-kang

Behalf

dance

Behalf
Behalf

dance

Fri 03.05 - Sat 04.05.19

In this danced dialogue, Thai dancer Pichet Klunchun and Taiwanese dancer Chen Wu-kang reveal themselves to one another and to the audience. With compact portraits of pure movement, they alternately treat themes such as fatherhood, cultural heritage, and self-reliance. In the meantime, percussionist Lazara Rosell Albear adds a third voice.

Remah Jabr

Broken Shapes

theatre

Broken Shapes
Broken Shapes

theatre

Fri 20.03 - Sat 21.03.20

Warning: this show is cancelled to help contain the spread of the new coronavirus. 

A young woman in a city that has been occupied for decades. On the day of her father’s funeral, she discovers his architectural drawings. Broken Shapes is a hybrid theatrical experience between installation, video and performance that explores how physical surroundings affect us mentally. Onstage we see one actress, her words are supported and interrupted by the visual interventions around her.

 

 

Samira Elagoz

Cock, Cock… Who’s There?

performance

Cock, Cock… Who’s There?
Cock, Cock… Who’s There?

performance

Tue 06.03 - Wed 07.03.18

Cock, Cock… Who's There? is an unsettling and gripping report by a young woman who researches intimacy and violence. Armed with her camera, Samira Elagoz sheds light on the online manipulation of bodies, while cleverly subverting typical gender dynamics on the internet.

Pepe Elmas Naswa

Dans la peau de l’autre

dance

Dans la peau de l’autre
Dans la peau de l’autre

dance

Sat 15.12 - Mon 17.12.18

August 2016, a spring fair somewhere in Kinshasa. The young choreographer Pepe Elmas Naswa is watching an impressive snake dance, performed by a group of street kids and gang members. Afterwards, he convinces the kids to teach a group of contemporary dancers the snake dance during a workshop. This was when Dans la peau de l’autre was born.

Roland Gunst & Sibo Kanobana

The Reign of Afropeanism

lecture performance

The Reign of Afropeanism
The Reign of Afropeanism

lecture performance

Fri 12.10.18

Roland Gunst and Sibo Kanobana sketch a picture of the African presence in Europe and present an alternative version both of history and of the future. Their work is based in Afropeanism: an anti-essentialist attitude that seeks to transcend the divide between African and Europe through encounter and exchange. Do ‘black’ and ‘white’ people not have a common past, present and future?

Rokia Traoré

Dream Mandé – Djata

music theatre

Dream Mandé – Djata
Dream Mandé – Djata

music

Fri 14.12.18

Rokia Traoré is an icon of African music. She narrates the epic of King Soundiata Keita, the King who based his power on respect and not on greed or violence, and the unifier of the great 13th-century Mandé Empire. Traoré blends classic songs by the Mandé griots into her narrative. These poets and singers were responsible for a unique form of oral history.

Helena Dietrich & Janneke Raaphorst

Elastic Habitat

installation performance

Elastic Habitat
Elastic Habitat

installation

Tue 06.03 - Thu 08.03.18

Elastic Habitat is an immersive installation – you could call it a kind of playground – that invites you to explore, touch, and even carry textile sculptures. You literally inhabit an imaginary body and thus have the time to explore your own identity in an uninhibited, sensory, intuitive way.

Doris Uhlich

Every Body Electric [medium]

dance

Every Body Electric [medium]
Every Body Electric [medium]

dance

Thu 02.04.20

Warning: this show is cancelled to help contain the spread of the new coronavirus. 

People with physical disabilities are often more associated with stationariness than with movement. In Every Body Electric, Doris Uhlich refutes this idea with vitality and vibrancy. What other possibilities open up when wheelchairs, prostheses and crutches are not perceived as obstacles but as powerful extensions of the body? You can expect a fascinating dialogue between the human and the mechanical in which very personal dance styles vary from explosive to gently poetic.

Femke & Lander Gyselinck

FLAMER

dance music

FLAMER
FLAMER

dance

Thu 29.11 - Fri 30.11.18

For their first joint creation, dancer Femke and drummer Lander Gyselinck (STUFF.) decided to swap roles. Lander dances (musically), Femke plays music (dansant), until both become blurred and blend together. Their older brother Wannes, a dramaturg, keeps an eye on the whole work. It’s a family affair...

Pages

#newarrivals

Des artistes que nous accueillons pour la première fois au Kaaitheater

Fabrice Samyn

A Breath Cycle

performance

A Breath Cycle
A Breath Cycle

performance

sa 21.04 - di 22.04.18

L’artiste plasticien Fabrice Samyn installe ses sept Breath Pieces autour d’une salle d’attente. Les performeurs interprètent différentes actions qui intensifient la perception du temps et fixent l’attention sur le caractère fondamental et l’incontrôlable de la respiration. Chaque partie suit un protocole consultable qui détermine les interactions entre les performeurs et le public.

Kevin Trappeniers

AntennA

installation

AntennA
AntennA

installation

ma 09.10.18

À aucun moment, autant de messages n’ont circulé dans le monde et avons-nous été aussi joignables qu’aujourd’hui. Mais parlons-nous encore vraiment les uns avec les autres ? Avec AntennA, Kevin Trappeniers crée une antenne émettrice, autour de nous naît un nouvel espace silencieux. Quelle teneur peut accueillir ce nouveau vide ?

Jed Martin

Autoportrait/Zelfportret

théâtre

Autoportrait/Zelfportret
Autoportrait/Zelfportret

théâtre

je 20.09 - ve 21.09.18

Jed Martin – le personnage principal du roman La carte et le territoire de Michel Houellebecq – est né en 1975 en région parisienne. À quarante ans, il écrit une lettre à sa mère défunte. Elle avait son âge actuel quand elle s’est suicidée. La combinaison des mots et des œuvres plastiques constitue un autoportrait pénétrant d’un artiste contemporain.

Pichet Klunchun & Chen Wu-kang

Behalf

danse

Behalf
Behalf

danse

ve 03.05 - sa 04.05.19

Au cours de ce dialogue dansé, le danseur thaï Pichet Klunchun et le danseur taïwanais Chen Wu-kang se dévoilent l’un à l’autre et au public. Avec des portraits condensés, composés de purs mouvements, ils abordent tour à tour des thèmes comme la paternité, le patrimoine culturel et l’autonomie. La percussionniste Lazara Rosell Albear assure une troisième voix.

Remah Jabr

Broken Shapes

théâtre

Broken Shapes
Broken Shapes

théâtre

ve 20.03 - sa 21.03.20

Attention: ce spectacle est annulé afin d’éviter la propagation du nouveau coronavirus. 

Une jeune dans une ville occupée depuis des dizaines d’années découvre les dessins architecturaux de son père le jour de son enterrement. Broken Shapes est une expérience théâtrale hybride entre installation, vidéo et performance qui analyse la façon dont l’environnement physique influe sur le mental. Sur scène, une actrice dont la parole est interrompue et soutenue par des interventions visuelles autour d’elle.

 

 

Samira Elagoz

Cock, Cock… Who’s There?

performance

Cock, Cock… Who’s There?
Cock, Cock… Who’s There?

performance

ma 06.03 - me 07.03.18

Cock, Cock… Who’s There? est un reportage inquiétant et touchant d’une jeune femme qui analyse l’intimité et la violence. Caméra à la main, elle met en lumière la manipulation des corps en ligne tandis qu’elle intervertit de façon intelligente les rôles de la dynamique typique entre homme et femme sur Internet.

Pepe Elmas Naswa

Dans la peau de l’autre

danse

Dans la peau de l’autre
Dans la peau de l’autre

danse

sa 15.12 - lu 17.12.18

Août 2016, une kermesse populaire quelque part à Kinshasa. Le jeune chorégraphe Pepe Elmas Naswa regarde plein d’admiration une danse de serpent exécutée par un groupe d’enfants de la rue et d’enfants de gangs. Ensuite, il les convainc d’apprendre la danse à un groupe de danseurs contemporains lors d’un atelier. Ce fut le point de départ de Dans la peau de l’autre.

Roland Gunst & Sibo Kanobana

The Reign of Afropeanism

lecture performance

The Reign of Afropeanism
The Reign of Afropeanism

lecture performance

ve 12.10.18

Roland Gunst et Sibo Kanobana brossent un tableau de la présence africaine en Europe et racontent une version alternative de l’Histoire et du futur. Le point de départ est l’Afropéanisme : une attitude anti-essentialiste qui chérit le cosmopolitisme et tente de combler le fossé entre l’Afrique et l’Europe par le biais de rencontres. Car ceux qu’on dit « noirs » et ceux qu’on dit « blancs » n’ont-ils pas de passé, de présent et de futur communs ?

Rokia Traore

Dream Mandé – Djata

musique théâtre

Dream Mandé – Djata
Dream Mandé – Djata

musique

ve 14.12.18

Rokia Traore est une icône de la musique Africaine. Elle raconte l’épopée du roi Soundiata Keita, le roi qui appuyait son pouvoir sur le respect et non pas sur la cupidité ou la violence, et l’unificateur du royaume du Mandingue au XIIIe siècle. Traore émaille son récit de chansons classiques des griots mandés. Ces poètes et chanteurs ont produit et perpétué une historiographie orale unique.

Helena Dietrich & Janneke Raaphorst

Elastic Habitat

installation performance

Elastic Habitat
Elastic Habitat

installation

ma 06.03 - je 08.03.18

Elastic Habitat est une installation immersive – une sorte d’aire de jeu – qui invite à analyser, à toucher ou même à porter des sculptures en textile. On se glisse littéralement dans la peau d’un corps imaginaire et on se voit ainsi offrir le temps d’explorer sa propre identité de manière impartiale, sensorielle et intuitive.

Doris Uhlich

Every Body Electric [medium]

danse

Every Body Electric [medium]
Every Body Electric [medium]

danse

je 02.04.20
Attention: ce spectacle est annulé afin d’éviter la propagation du nouveau coronavirus.

Les personnes avec un handicap physique sont plus souvent associées à l’immobilité qu’au mouvement. Dans Every Body Electric, Doris Uhlich réfute cette idée avec vitalité et extase. Quelles possibilités supplémentaires se profilent lorsque fauteuils roulants, prothèses et béquilles ne constituent plus des obstacles, mais au contraire de puissantes extensions du corps ? Attendez-vous à un dialogue passionnant entre êtres humains et machines et à des styles de danse hautement personnels qui varient d’explosifs à doux et poétiques.

Femke & Lander Gyselinck

FLAMER

danse musique

FLAMER
FLAMER

danse

je 29.11 - ve 30.11.18

Pour leur première création commune, danseuse Femke en percussionniste Lander Gyselinck (STUFF.) procèdent à un échange de leur métier. Lander danse (musicalement) et Femke chante (de manière dansante) jusqu’à ce que le tout devienne flou et se fonde. Wannes, frère aîné et dramaturge, surveille le tout du coin de l’œil. Une affaire de famille !

Pages