#ilovemusic

Music takes the lead

Brussels Brecht - Eislerkoor

Mélancolie aux 5 blocs

music theatre

Mélancolie aux 5 blocs (pourquoi ne se révoltent-ils pas ?)
Mélancolie aux 5 blocs (pourquoi ne se révoltent-ils pas ?)

music

Thu 09.01 - Sat 11.01.20

A stone’s throw from the Kaaistudios, there is a row of dilapidated and unhealthy social housing blocks that will soon be demolished: these are the five blocks of the Rempart des Moines. The current residents have to make way for more affluent buyers. The Brussels Brecht-Eisler Choir is presenting a musical theatre piece that attempts to capture and evoke their confusion and uncertainty.

Vera Tussing & MP4 Quartet

Tactile Quartet(s)

dance music

Tactile Quartet(s)
Tactile Quartet(s)

dance

Sat 19.10 - Sun 20.10.19

Vera Tussing invites the string quartet Quatuor MP4 to join four dancers onstage for a playful encounter between movement and sound. At the point where the orbits of dance and music intersect, you are invited to enter the kaleidoscopic score. Lend a hand, or an arm!

Mette Edvardsen & Matteo Fargion

Penelope Sleeps

performance music

Penelope Sleeps
Penelope Sleeps

performance

Fri 10.05 - Tue 14.05.19

In her new creation, Mette Edvardsen explores interfaces with opera, flanked by composer and performer Matteo Fargion. Together, they deconstruct the mythological figure of Penelope, the woman who spent years waiting for her husband Odysseus. But her apparent passivity conceals tremendous power. Be whisked away to this intimate, minimalist dream world, where new relationships are forged between women, the world, and the other.

Ictus & Julie Pfleiderer

SAFE

music performance

SAFE
SAFE

music

Thu 22.11 - Fri 23.11.18

SAFE begins as a concert and then evolves into a sophisticated audio play. Based on Todd Haynes’ film Safe (1995) – in which a woman suffers increasingly intense allergic reactions – Ictus and Julie Pfleiderer sketch a picture of contemporary hypersensitivity. Join an immersive journey that will stimulate all your senses!

Jan Decorte

Stand Down

theatre music

Stand Down
Stand Down

theatre

Fri 13.10 - Sat 14.10.17

Jan Decorte is leaving the classics behind, but not the great truths and mysteries that they contain. In Jan Paternoster and Dries Van Dijck of Black Box Revelation – and all the uncompromising vehemence that they bring to the piece – Decorte and Sigrid Vinks have found their ideal musical partners in crime. The gentlemen created a brand-new soundtrack especially for Stand Down.

#ilovemusic

La musique en première ligne.

Brussels Brecht - Eislerkoor

Mélancolie aux 5 blocs

musique théâtre

Mélancolie aux 5 blocs (pourquoi ne se révoltent-ils pas ?)
Mélancolie aux 5 blocs (pourquoi ne se révoltent-ils pas ?)

musique

je 09.01 - sa 11.01.20

À proximité des Kaaistudio’s se trouvent cinq barres de logements sociaux insalubres et négligés : les cinq immeubles du Rempart aux Moines. Tous vont bientôt être rasés. Les habitants doivent faire de la place pour un public plus nanti. Le spectacle de théâtre musical du Brussels Brecht-Eislerkoor tente de saisir et d’évoquer leur confusion et leur incertitude.

Vera Tussing & MP4 Quartet

Tactile Quartet(s)

danse musique

Tactile Quartet(s)
Tactile Quartet(s)

danse

sa 19.10 - di 20.10.19

Vera Tussing invite le quatuor à cordes MP4 et quatre danseurs à une rencontre ludique entre mouvement et son. Là où se croisent la danse et la musique, nous sommes invités à entrer dans la partition kaléidoscopique. Tendez une main ou un bras !

Mette Edvardsen & Matteo Fargion

Penelope Sleeps

performance musique

Penelope Sleeps
Penelope Sleeps

performance

ve 10.05 - ma 14.05.19

La nouvelle création de Mette Edvardsen, réalisée avec le compositeur et performeur Matteo Fargion, explore la frontière de l’opéra. Ensemble, ils déconstruisent la figure mythologique de Pénélope, la femme qui a attendu des années durant le retour de son époux, Ulysse. Mais derrière sa passivité apparente se dissimule une force immense. Plongez-vous dans cet univers intime, minimaliste et onirique qui éclaire les rapports entre la femme, le monde et l’autre.

Ictus & Julie Pfleiderer

SAFE

musique performance

SAFE
SAFE

musique

je 22.11 - ve 23.11.18

SAFE commence comme un concert, pour évoluer en pièce radiophonique sophistiquée. Avec le film Safe (1995) de Todd Haynes pour point de départ – dans lequel une femme subit des crises d’allergie de plus en plus intenses – Ictus et Julie Pfleiderer brossent une image de l’hypersensibilité actuelle. Embarquez-vous dans un voyage immersif qui joue sur tous les sens !

Jan Decorte

Stand Down

théâtre musique

Stand Down
Stand Down

théâtre

ve 13.10 - sa 14.10.17

Avec Stand Down, Jan Decorte abandonne les classiques, mais pas les grandes vérités et les mystères qu’ils recèlent. En Jan Paternoster et Dries Van Dijck de Black Box Revelation et dans l’intensité sans compromis qu’ils introduisent – Sigrid Vinks et lui ont trouvé leurs complices musicaux rêvés. Spécialement pour Stand Down, ces messieurs ont créé une toute nouvelle bande sonore.