#ilovemusic

Music takes the lead

Michiel Vandevelde/Platform-K & Philippe Thuriot

The Goldberg Variations

dance music

The Goldberg Variations
The Goldberg Variations

dance

Sat 25.04 - Sun 26.04.20

Warning: this show is cancelled to help contain the spread of the new coronavirus. 

The title The Goldberg Variations not only evokes the famous music of Bach, but also the iconic dance solo by Steve Paxton. Along with a dancer, a ballet dancer, and an accordionist, Michiel Vandevelde works with this material. Three bodies, each with very different potentialities, delve into dance history and question the potential of dance today.

Radouan Mriziga

8.2

dance

8.2
8.2

dance

Sat 26.10.19

Radouan Mriziga finds inspiration in an old love: rap music. Along with seven young performers, he researched everything that makes rap unique: the rhythm, the flow, the statements and gestures, and its history from the grandmasters to Kendrick Lamar. They attempt to capture the essence of a style of music that transcends musical trends and survives across generations – and which constantly reinvents itself.

Vera Tussing & MP4 Quartet

Tactile Quartet(s)

dance music

Tactile Quartet(s)
Tactile Quartet(s)

dance

Sat 19.10 - Sun 20.10.19

Vera Tussing invites the string quartet Quatuor MP4 to join four dancers onstage for a playful encounter between movement and sound. At the point where the orbits of dance and music intersect, you are invited to enter the kaleidoscopic score. Lend a hand, or an arm!

Benjamin Vandewalle & HYOID

cancelled - In the Sky I am Walking

music dance

cancelled - In the Sky I am Walking
cancelled - In the Sky I am Walking

music

Tue 15.01 - Wed 16.01.19

Due to productional reasons, this performance is postponed.

The vocal ensemble HYOID and artist-in-residence at Kaaitheater Benjamin Vandewalle are adapting Indianerlieder (1972) by Karlheinz Stockhausen, an iconic but rarely performed work. They are creating a gesamtkunstwerk that aims to reveal the vitality and timelessness of Stockhausen’s music. They are abandoning the original scenography in order to place the audience at the very centre of the three-dimensional ritual.

Benjamin Vandewalle & Platform-K

Common Ground

dance

Common Ground
Common Ground

dance

Sat 27.10 - Sun 28.10.18

One loves jumpstyle and toilet humour, another loves ballet and self-written love songs, while the third loves to observe the world through his camera lens and is secretly an accomplished beatboxer. If it weren’t for this production, these three probably never would have met, but it is their love of dance that has brought them together here.

#ilovemusic

La musique en première ligne.

Michiel Vandevelde/Platform-K & Philippe Thuriot

The Goldberg Variations

danse musique

The Goldberg Variations
The Goldberg Variations

danse

sa 25.04 - di 26.04.20

Attention: ce spectacle est annulé afin d’éviter la propagation du nouveau coronavirus.

Le titre The Goldberg Variations n’évoque pas seulement la célèbre musique de Bach, mais aussi le solo de danse iconique de Steve Paxton. Michiel Vandevelde s’attaque avec un danseur, un danseur de ballet et un accordéoniste à ce matériel. Trois corps aux possibilités très diverses plongent dans l’histoire de la danse et interrogent son potentiel actuel.

Radouan Mriziga

8.2

danse

8.2
8.2

danse

sa 26.10.19

Radouan Mriziga s’inspire d’un ancien amour : la musique rap. Avec sept jeunes danseurs, il se plonge dans tout ce qui rend le rap unique : le rythme, le flow, les postulats et les gestes, l’histoire des grands maîtres jusqu’à Kendrick Lamar. 8.2 tente de saisir la quintessence d’un style musical qui transcende les modes et les générations et ne cesse de se réinventer.

Vera Tussing & MP4 Quartet

Tactile Quartet(s)

danse musique

Tactile Quartet(s)
Tactile Quartet(s)

danse

sa 19.10 - di 20.10.19

Vera Tussing invite le quatuor à cordes MP4 et quatre danseurs à une rencontre ludique entre mouvement et son. Là où se croisent la danse et la musique, nous sommes invités à entrer dans la partition kaléidoscopique. Tendez une main ou un bras !

Benjamin Vandewalle & HYOID

annulé - In the Sky I am Walking

musique danse

annulé - In the Sky I am Walking
annulé - In the Sky I am Walking

musique

ma 15.01 - me 16.01.19

Pour des raisons productionnelles, nous sommes obligés d’annuler la représentation.

L’ensemble vocal HYOID et l'artiste en résidence au Kaaitheater Benjamin Vandewalle s’attaquent à Indianerlieder (1972) de Karlheinz Stockhausen, une œuvre iconique mais rarement interprétée. Ils créent une expérience totale qui a pour ambition de révéler la vitalité et l’intemporalité de la musique de Stockhausen. Ils se distancient de la scénographie originale et offrent au public un lieu au sein d’un rituel tridimensionnel.

Benjamin Vandewalle & Platform-K

Common Ground

danse

Common Ground
Common Ground

danse

sa 27.10 - di 28.10.18

L’un aime le jumpstyle et l’humour salace, l’autre le ballet et les chansons d’amour écrites de sa main et le dernier aime observer le monde à travers l’objectif de sa caméra et est un beatboxer accompli (une boîte à rythmes humaine). Sans ce spectacle, les trois ne se seraient sans doute jamais rencontrés, mais ici, ils se retrouvent autour de leur amour partagé de la danse.