#ilovemusic

Music takes the lead

Kristien De Proost & Bwanga Pilipili

CANCELLED: Simon, Garfunkel, My Sister and Me

theatre music

CANCELLED: Simon, Garfunkel, My Sister and Me
CANCELLED: Simon, Garfunkel, My Sister and Me

theatre

Sat 28.11 - Sun 29.11.20

Please note: this show has been cancelled to help contain the spread of the new coronavirus. 

In 1981, Paul Simon and Art Garfunkel performed their legendary charity concert in Central Park, New York: a musical feast of friendship and solidarity. the two singers now avoid one another as much as possible. More even: they had already split at the time of that concert. Simon, Garfunkel, My Sister and Me is the ultimate re-enactment of the concert, a show about rivalry in all its forms.

Brussels Brecht - Eislerkoor

Mélancolie aux 5 blocs

music theatre

Mélancolie aux 5 blocs (pourquoi ne se révoltent-ils pas ?)
Mélancolie aux 5 blocs (pourquoi ne se révoltent-ils pas ?)

music

Thu 09.01 - Sat 11.01.20

A stone’s throw from the Kaaistudios, there is a row of dilapidated and unhealthy social housing blocks that will soon be demolished: these are the five blocks of the Rempart des Moines. The current residents have to make way for more affluent buyers. The Brussels Brecht-Eisler Choir is presenting a musical theatre piece that attempts to capture and evoke their confusion and uncertainty.

Laura van Dolron & de KOE

Een antwoord op alle vragen

theatre

Een antwoord op alle vragen
Een antwoord op alle vragen

theatre

Thu 17.01 - Fri 18.01.19

They’ve had enough of lonely nights onstage, so Laura van Dolron and Willem de Wolf from the KOE want to answer all your questions. The actors search and struggle, assisted by two musicians. Every evening, this results in a live philosophical theatre concert full of poetry, thought, action, hope and despair…and ultimately there is perhaps one answer that transcends all questions.

Rokia Traoré

Dream Mandé – Djata

music theatre

Dream Mandé – Djata
Dream Mandé – Djata

music

Fri 14.12.18

Rokia Traoré is an icon of African music. She narrates the epic of King Soundiata Keita, the King who based his power on respect and not on greed or violence, and the unifier of the great 13th-century Mandé Empire. Traoré blends classic songs by the Mandé griots into her narrative. These poets and singers were responsible for a unique form of oral history.

Tine Van Aerschot / Trevor

Het betreft liefde

theatre

Het betreft liefde
Het betreft liefde

theatre

Wed 17.10 - Thu 18.10.18

Tine Van Aerschot is presenting a show about love. The love of the child, the adult, and the old person. The love between the three actresses: Lois Brochez, Sara De Roo, and Dounia Mahammed. The love for the infinite beauty of the world around us. The texts are based on conversations that she had with children and adults. But remarkable love stories from the past and from literature also have their place.

Laila Soliman & Stacy Hardy

Museum of Lungs

theatre

Museum of Lungs
Museum of Lungs

theatre

Wed 03.10 - Thu 04.10.18

In Museum of Lungs, author and performer Stacy Hardy talks about her life with TBC, about the years before the diagnosis, and about her treatments since. She combines intimate, personal testimonies with historical archival materials. Together with musicians Neo Muyanga and Nancy Mounir, director Laila Soliman and Hardy also show how vulnerability and disease can initiate resistance and change.

Jan Decorte

Stand Down

theatre music

Stand Down
Stand Down

theatre

Fri 13.10 - Sat 14.10.17

Jan Decorte is leaving the classics behind, but not the great truths and mysteries that they contain. In Jan Paternoster and Dries Van Dijck of Black Box Revelation – and all the uncompromising vehemence that they bring to the piece – Decorte and Sigrid Vinks have found their ideal musical partners in crime. The gentlemen created a brand-new soundtrack especially for Stand Down.

#ilovemusic

La musique en première ligne.

Kristien De Proost & Bwanga Pilipili

ANNULÉ: Simon, Garfunkel, My Sister and Me

théâtre musique

ANNULÉ: Simon, Garfunkel, My Sister and Me
ANNULÉ: Simon, Garfunkel, My Sister and Me

théâtre

sa 28.11 - di 29.11.20

Attention : ce spectacle est annulé afin d’éviter la propagation du nouveau coronavirus.

En 1981, Paul Simon et Art Garfunkel donnent leur légendaire concert de charité à Central Park, à New York : une fête musicale d’amitié et de solidarité. Les deux chanteurs s’évitent depuis. Pire : ils étaient déjà en froid à l’époque du concert. Simon, Garfunkel, My Sister and Me, est la reconstitution ultime du concert, un spectacle sur la rivalité sous toutes ses formes.

Brussels Brecht - Eislerkoor

Mélancolie aux 5 blocs

musique théâtre

Mélancolie aux 5 blocs (pourquoi ne se révoltent-ils pas ?)
Mélancolie aux 5 blocs (pourquoi ne se révoltent-ils pas ?)

musique

je 09.01 - sa 11.01.20

À proximité des Kaaistudio’s se trouvent cinq barres de logements sociaux insalubres et négligés : les cinq immeubles du Rempart aux Moines. Tous vont bientôt être rasés. Les habitants doivent faire de la place pour un public plus nanti. Le spectacle de théâtre musical du Brussels Brecht-Eislerkoor tente de saisir et d’évoquer leur confusion et leur incertitude.

Laura van Dolron & de KOE

Een antwoord op alle vragen

théâtre

Een antwoord op alle vragen
Een antwoord op alle vragen

théâtre

je 17.01 - ve 18.01.19

Genoeg eenzame avonden op het toneel, Laura van Dolron wil samen met Willem de Wolf van de KOE een antwoord geven op al jouw vragen. De spelers zoeken en worstelen, bijgestaan door twee muzikanten. Zo ontstaat er iedere avond live een filosofisch theaterconcert vol poëzie, denken, doen, hoop en wanhoop… en uiteindelijk is er misschien wel één antwoord dat alle vragen overstijgt.

Rokia Traore

Dream Mandé – Djata

musique théâtre

Dream Mandé – Djata
Dream Mandé – Djata

musique

ve 14.12.18

Rokia Traore est une icône de la musique Africaine. Elle raconte l’épopée du roi Soundiata Keita, le roi qui appuyait son pouvoir sur le respect et non pas sur la cupidité ou la violence, et l’unificateur du royaume du Mandingue au XIIIe siècle. Traore émaille son récit de chansons classiques des griots mandés. Ces poètes et chanteurs ont produit et perpétué une historiographie orale unique.

Tine Van Aerschot / Trevor

Het betreft liefde

théâtre

Het betreft liefde
Het betreft liefde

théâtre

me 17.10 - je 18.10.18

Tine Van Aerschot crée un spectacle sur l’amour. L’amour chez l’enfant, l’adulte, la personne âgée. L’amour entre les trois actrices : Lois Brochez, Sara De Roo et Dounia Mahammed. L’amour pour la beauté infinie du monde qui nous entoure. Le texte part de conversations que Tine Van Aerschot a menées avec des enfants et avec des adultes. Mais elle laisse aussi la place à des histoires d’amour marquantes de l’Histoire et de la littérature.

Laila Soliman & Stacy Hardy

Museum of Lungs

théâtre

Museum of Lungs
Museum of Lungs

théâtre

me 03.10 - je 04.10.18

Dans Museum of Lungs, l’auteure et performeuse Stacy Hardy raconte sa vie avec la maladie, les années qui ont précédé le diagnostic et le traitement. Elle marie des confidences intimes et des archives historiques. Avec les musiciens Neo Muyanga et Nancy Mounir, la metteuse en scène Laila Soliman et Hardy montrent aussi à quel point la vulnérabilité et la maladie peuvent signifier l’amorce d’une résistance et d’un changement.

Jan Decorte

Stand Down

théâtre musique

Stand Down
Stand Down

théâtre

ve 13.10 - sa 14.10.17

Avec Stand Down, Jan Decorte abandonne les classiques, mais pas les grandes vérités et les mystères qu’ils recèlent. En Jan Paternoster et Dries Van Dijck de Black Box Revelation et dans l’intensité sans compromis qu’ils introduisent – Sigrid Vinks et lui ont trouvé leurs complices musicaux rêvés. Spécialement pour Stand Down, ces messieurs ont créé une toute nouvelle bande sonore.