#gender

On sexuality, gender, and feminism

Radouan Mriziga

Tafukt

dance

Tafukt
Tafukt

dance

Fri 08.05 - Tue 12.05.20

Please note: this show has been cancelled to help contain the spread of the new coronavirus. 

Tafukt/The Sun/Athena is a dance solo and the first part of a trilogy focused on epistemologies and mythologies of the Tamazigh – the indigenous population of Northern Africa. How can we challenge the current canon? Can performance function as a tool of resistance? Radouan Mriziga seeks to create a space for reflections on the past in order to strive for a more inclusive future.

Maatschappij Discordia & de Roovers

Liebe Jelinek

theatre

Liebe Jelinek
Liebe Jelinek

theatre

Wed 29.04 - Thu 30.04.20

Warning: this show is cancelled to help contain the spread of the new coronavirus. 

Looking for insights about love, Maatschappij Discordia decided to consult Elfriede Jelinek. While last season, Marguerite Duras accompanied them in a lifelong attempt to articulate the first experience of love, with Jelinek, Discordia has immediately encountered provocation. What is the image that this author – a virtuoso at unmasking clichés – sketches of love… and the female experience of love?

Alejo Pérez & Krystian Lada

Symphony of Expectation

music

Symphony of Expectation
Symphony of Expectation

music

Wed 18.03.20

Warning: this show is cancelled to help contain the spread of the new coronavirus. 

Symphony of Expectation combines two iconic, 20th-century compositions: Sinfonia by Luciano Berio and Erwartung by Arnold Schönberg. One second of the maximal spiritual excitement of a female main character explodes into an intense theatrical experience.

Alexandra Bachzetsis

Escape Act

dance performance

Escape Act
Escape Act

dance

Fri 06.03 - Sat 07.03.20

Does gender have a voice? Using drag, vogueing, striptease, YouTube tutorials as well as the triadic ballet by Oskar Schlemmer, seven bodies and many more objects try out new constellations, like surrealist ready-mades. With a great sense of irony, Escape Act presents hyper-stereotyped gender identities, only to deconstruct them completely.

Orla Barry

Spin, Spin, Scheherazade

performance

Spin, Spin, Scheherazade
Spin, Spin, Scheherazade

performance

Wed 04.03 - Thu 05.03.20

Spin, Spin, Scheherazade is a humorous and passionate monologue rooted in a form of artistic barefoot anthropology. Orla Barry directs Einat Tuchman, who explores the boundaries of art, gender, and the rural everyday. Coincidence, humour and a subtle language game are the ingredients of a performance that blends oral historiography with personal memories.

#gender

À propos de sexualité, de genre et de féminisme.

Orla Barry

Spin, Spin, Scheherazade

performance

Spin, Spin, Scheherazade
Spin, Spin, Scheherazade

performance

me 04.03 - je 05.03.20

Dans ce monologue drôle et passionné écrit pour Einat Tuchman, Orla Barry explore les limites de l’art, du genre et du quotidien rural. Elle décrit les expériences d’une artiste qui retourne de la ville vers sa terre natale et y revit en tant que paysanne-artiste. Hasard, humour et jeu de langage subtil composent les ingrédients d’un spectacle qui entrelace l’historiographie orale et les souvenirs personnels.

Alexandra Bachzetsis

Escape Act

danse performance

Escape Act
Escape Act

danse

ve 06.03 - sa 07.03.20

La voix a-t-elle un genre, la peau a-t-elle une race ? En évoquant le drag, le voguing, le strip-tease, les didacticiels YouTube ainsi que les ballets triadiques d’Oskar Schlemmer, sept corps et bien plus d’objets éprouvent de nouvelles constellations comme ready-made surréalistes. Avec beaucoup d’ironie, le spectacle présente des identités de genre de manière hyperstéréotypée pour ensuite les démonter.

Alejo Pérez & Krystian Lada

Symphony of Expectation

musique

Symphony of Expectation
Symphony of Expectation

musique

me 18.03.20

Symphony of Expectation combine deux pièces musicales iconiques du XXe siècle : Sinfonia de Luciano Berio et Erwartung d’Arnold Schönberg. Une seconde d’excitation spirituelle maximale de la protagoniste explose en une expérience théâtrale intense.

Maatschappij Discordia & de Roovers

Liebe Jelinek

théâtre

Liebe Jelinek
Liebe Jelinek

théâtre

me 29.04 - je 30.04.20

En quête de compréhension de l’amour, Maatschappij Discordia se plonge dans les écrits d’Elfriede Jelinek. Là où Marguerite Duras les emmenait la saison passée dans la tentative de toute une vie de mettre en paroles une première expérience amoureuse, Discordia se heurte d’emblée à de la provocation chez Jelinek. Quelle image l’écrivaine – une championne dans la mise à nu des clichés – brosse-t-elle de l’amour ?

Radouan Mriziga

Tafukt

danse

Tafukt
Tafukt

danse

ve 08.05 - ma 12.05.20

Tafukt est un solo de danse et le premier volet d’une trilogie sur le (T) amazigh, la culture indigène de l’Afrique du Nord. Comment remettre en question le canon actuel ? La performance peut-elle être un outil de résistance ? Avec Tafukt, Radouan Mriziga souhaite créer un espace de réflexion sur le passé permettant de parvenir à un avenir plus inclusif.

Katja Dreyer & Karen Røise Kielland

Cry Me a River. The quest for the source

théâtre

Cry Me a River. The quest for the source
Cry Me a River. The quest for the source

théâtre

me 05.02 - je 06.02.20

Par le biais d’une expédition à la source du Styx, Karen Røise Kielland et Katja Dreyer atterrissent dans la mythologie grecque. À travers de multiples rencontres avec des habitants locaux et leurs histoires sur le fleuve, elles réinsufflent vie à un ancien mythe. Le spectacle commence dans la profusion et le chaos multicolore, mais plus on se rapproche de la source, plus un ordre rigoureux et un silence monochrome prennent le dessus.