#challengethesystem

There Is An Alternative

Anoek Nuyens & Rebekka de Wit

De zaak Shell

theatre

De zaak Shell
De zaak Shell

theatre

Fri 13.11 - Sat 14.11.20

Please note: this show has been cancelled to help contain the spread of the new coronavirus. We are looking into whether the conference can be held online. 

Anoek Nuyens and Rebekka bring together all the voices in the climate debate. Why does it seem so easy to dodge responsibility?

Ecopolis 2020

AGAIN(ST) NATURE

talk debate

AGAIN(ST) NATURE
AGAIN(ST) NATURE

talk

Sun 18.10.20

The year is 2020. From Australia to the Campine, nature is on fire. There is rapid deforestation, constant building projects, and millions of species of plants and animals are under imminent threat of extinction. How long can we continue to saw off the branch on which we sit? For this sixth edition, Ecopolis is again inviting a broad range of writers, academic experts and thinkers from civil society.

Khadija El Kharraz Alami

Re-claiming Space

performance theatre

Re-claiming Space
Re-claiming Space

performance

Fri 09.10 - Sat 10.10.20

Each evening Khadija El Kharraz Alami invites somebody else on stage. A performer, artist, actor, writer, human being, dancer... always a woman. You witness their first meeting. Re-claiming Space is an exploration of the space of womanhood and how to transcend it. Khadija’s work process is characterized by leaving certain things undetermined, so the performance takes shape onstage.

Radouan Mriziga

Tafukt

dance

Tafukt
Tafukt

dance

Fri 08.05 - Tue 12.05.20

Please note: this show has been cancelled to help contain the spread of the new coronavirus. 

Tafukt/The Sun/Athena is a dance solo and the first part of a trilogy focused on epistemologies and mythologies of the Tamazigh – the indigenous population of Northern Africa. How can we challenge the current canon? Can performance function as a tool of resistance? Radouan Mriziga seeks to create a space for reflections on the past in order to strive for a more inclusive future.

Joost Vandecasteele

Culturo Says No

theatre

Culturo Says No
Culturo Says No

theatre

Tue 05.05 - Wed 06.05.20

Please note: this show has been cancelled to help contain the spread of the new coronavirus. 

 

‘I resist the laziness of resistance. I am disgusted by how rage imagines itself to be a valid argument. I am ashamed of the dullness of the screamers. After Otaku, In Onaanvaardbare Staat and Habeus Corpus Joost Vandecasteele is returning with this new solo.

Faustin Linyekula/NTGent

Histoire(s) du théâtre II

theatre dance

Histoire(s) du théâtre II
Histoire(s) du théâtre II

theatre

Fri 13.03 - Sat 14.03.20
Warning: this show is cancelled to help contain the spread of the new coronavirus.

1974, Zaire. In the Fight of the Century, Muhammad Ali defeated George Foreman. Mobutu Sese Seko founded the National Ballet of Zaire. Fast forward to 2019. Faustin Linyekula has created a production in which he reflects on key moments in the history of theatre. Along with three members of the Congolese National Ballet and actors Papy Maurice Mbwiti and Oscar van Rompay, he explores what the young Congolese state could have become.

#challengethesystem

Une alternative est possible

Anoek Nuyens & Rebekka de Wit

ANNULÉ: De zaak Shell

théâtre

ANNULÉ: De zaak Shell
ANNULÉ: De zaak Shell

théâtre

ve 13.11 - sa 14.11.20

Attention : ce spectacle est annulé afin d’éviter la propagation du nouveau coronavirus. Nous examinons si le spectacle peut avoir lieu en ligne.

De zaak Shell réunit toutes les voix dans le débat sur le climat. Pourquoi semble-t-il si facile de rejeter la responsabilité sur les autres ?

Ecopolis 2020

AGAIN(ST) NATURE

talk débat

AGAIN(ST) NATURE
AGAIN(ST) NATURE

talk

di 18.10.20

L’an 2020. De l’Australie à la Campine, la nature brûle. Des forêts sont abattues à un rythme effréné, l’expansion du béton paraît irrépressible et des millions d’espèces animales et végétales sont sur le point de disparaître. Combien de temps va-t-on encore scier la branche sur laquelle nous sommes assis ? Pour cette sixième édition, Ecopolis invite un large éventail d’auteur.trice.s, d’expert.e.s académiques, et de penseur.se.s de la société civile.

Khadija El Kharraz Alami

Re-claiming Space

performance théâtre

Re-claiming Space
Re-claiming Space

performance

ve 09.10 - sa 10.10.20

Chaque soir, Khadija El Kharraz Alami invite quelqu’un d’autre sur scène. Une performeuse, une artiste, une actrice, une autrice, une danseuse, une personne… toujours une femme. Vous assistez à leur première rencontre. Re-claiming Space est une recherche sur l’espace de la condition féminine et sur la manière de le transcender. Le processus de travail de Khadija se caractérise par le fait de ne pas tout déterminer, de sorte que le spectacle prend corps sur scène.

Radouan Mriziga

Tafukt

danse

Tafukt
Tafukt

danse

ve 08.05 - ma 12.05.20

Attention : ce spectacle est annulé afin d’éviter la propagation du nouveau coronavirus.

Tafukt est un solo de danse et le premier volet d’une trilogie sur le (T) amazigh, la culture indigène de l’Afrique du Nord. Comment remettre en question le canon actuel ? La performance peut-elle être un outil de résistance ? Avec Tafukt, Radouan Mriziga souhaite créer un espace de réflexion sur le passé permettant de parvenir à un avenir plus inclusif.

Joost Vandecasteele

Culturo Says No

théâtre

Culturo Says No
Culturo Says No

théâtre

ma 05.05 - me 06.05.20

Attention : ce spectacle est annulé afin d’éviter la propagation du nouveau coronavirus.

« Je m’insurge contre la paresse de la résistance. J’exècre la façon dont la colère s’imagine être un argument digne. J’ai honte de l’ennui des brailleurs. » Après Otaku, In Onaanvaardbare Staat et Habeus Corpus, Joost Vandecasteele revient avec un nouveau solo.

Faustin Linyekula/NTGent

Histoire(s) du théâtre II

théâtre danse

Histoire(s) du théâtre II
Histoire(s) du théâtre II

théâtre

ve 13.03 - sa 14.03.20
Attention: ce spectacle est annulé afin d’éviter la propagation du nouveau coronavirus.

Zaïre, 1974. Muhammad Ali remporte le match du siècle contre George Foreman. Mobutu Sese Seko fonde le Ballet national du Zaïre. Avance rapide vers 2019. Faustin Linyekula crée un spectacle dans lequel il réfléchit aux moments clés de l’histoire du théâtre. Avec trois membres du Ballet National Congolais et les acteurs Papy Maurice Mbwiti et Oscar van Rompay, il se penche sur ce que le jeune État congolais aurait pu être.