#brusselsdance

1 CITY / 2 MONTHS / 18 VENUES / 80 DANCE PERFORMANCES & TALKS / 180 EVENTS 

In Brussels, people are dancing and creating to their hearts’ content! Fourteen cultural venues that testify to the richness and diversity of contemporary dance in Brussels offer the public the opportunity to discover for themselves the creativity and vitality of our capital city.

This fifth edition of Brussels, dance! stands for 80 performances and talks, 180 performances, an open and bold selection of young and emerging talent, but also of renowned artists… Come and taste dance in all its diversity and vitality, from 3 March to 30 April! 

brusselsdance.eu

Claire Croizé / Ecce & The Goeyvaerts String Trio

Duet for Two String Trios

dance music

Duet for Two String Trios
Duet for Two String Trios
Thu 03.03 - Fri 04.03.22

How do you translate the intensity, complexity and physicality of a piece of music into dance? For her new creation Duet for Two String Trios, Claire Croizé teams up with the Goeyvaerts String Trio, looking for answers to these questions through two string trios by the contemporary composer Charles Wuorinen. Dancers Emmi Väisänen and Jason Respilieux offer their bodies as a counterweight to this auditory onslaught. Music and dance circle each other in a play that is as dynamic and changeable as the string trios themselves: never a piece-by-piece translation, always a dialogue.

Daniel Linehan/Hiatus

Listen Here: This Cavern

dance

Listen Here: This Cavern
Listen Here: This Cavern
Fri 08.04 - Sat 09.04.22

Where Daniel Linehan's previous performance Listen Here: These Woods took place among the trees, Listen Here: This Cavern invites you to descend into the darkness of a cave, to sharpen your senses and to listen.

Vera Tussing & Quatuor MP4

Tactile Quartet(s)

dance music

Tactile Quartet(s)
Tactile Quartet(s)
Fri 29.04 - Sat 30.04.22

Vera Tussing invites the string quartet Quatuor MP4 to join four dancers onstage for a playful encounter between movement and sound. The four musicians play passages from various quartets by Franz Schubert, Anton Dvorak and Florence Price as well as contemporary works by Georg Friedrich Haas and Caroline Shaw. At the point where the orbits of dance and music intersect, you are invited to enter the kaleidoscopic score. Lend a hand, or an arm!

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas

Dark Red

dance exhibition

Dark Red
Dark Red
Sat 23.04 - Sun 08.05.22

What would it mean for choreography to perform as an exhibition? In 2021, De Keersmaeker was invited by Fondation Beyeler to create Dark Red—Beyeler, a ‘live installation’ where the dancing body faced the sculptural work of Auguste Rodin and Hans Arp

#brusselsdance

1 VILLE / 2 MOIS / 18 LIEUX / 80 SPECTACLES & CONFERENCES / 180 REPRESENTATIONS

A Bruxelles, on danse, on crée, on bouge ! Quatorze lieux culturels, reflet de la richesse et de la diversité de la danse contemporaine à Bruxlles, vous offrent l’occasion de vivre Bruxelles comme capitale créative et remuante.
Cette Cinquième édition de Brussels, dance ! c’est 80 spectacles et conférences, 180 de représentations, des artistes émergents et de renommée, des propositions ouvertes et audacieuses. Du 3 mars au 30 avril, découvrez la danse dans tous ses langages et dans toute sa vitalité !

brusselsdance.eu

 

Claire Croizé / Ecce & The Goeyvaerts String Trio

Duet for Two String Trios

danse musique

Duet for Two String Trios
Duet for Two String Trios
je 03.03 - ve 04.03.22

Comment traduire en danse l'intensité, la complexité et la physicalité d'une œuvre musicale ? Dans sa nouvelle création Duet for Two String Trios, Claire Croizé et le Goeyvaerts String Trio cherchent des réponses à ces questions à travers deux trios à cordes du compositeur contemporain Charles Wuorinen. Contre cette violence auditive, les danseur·euses Emmi Väisänen et Jason Respilieux jettent leurs corps dans la bataille. Musique et danse tourbillonnent l'une autour de l'autre dans un jeu aussi dynamique et changeant que les trios à cordes eux-mêmes : jamais de traduction univoque, toujours un dialogue.

Daniel Linehan/Hiatus

Listen Here: This Cavern

danse

Listen Here: This Cavern
Listen Here: This Cavern
ve 08.04 - sa 09.04.22

Alors que la précédente performance de Daniel Linehan, Listen Here : These Woods, se déroulait parmi les arbres, Listen Here : This Cavern vous invite à descendre dans l'obscurité d'une grotte, à aiguiser vos sens et à écouter. La musique de Pauline Oliveros — enregistrée dans une gigantesque grotte souterraine — accompagne les spirales dynamiques des mouvements des interprètes. Laissez vos sens se familiariser à l'obscurité et écoutez comment les vibrations sonores et les danseurs tournoient dans l'espace le plus sombre du Kaaitheater. 

Vera Tussing & Quatuor MP4

Tactile Quartet(s)

danse musique

Tactile Quartet(s)
Tactile Quartet(s)
ve 29.04 - sa 30.04.22

Vera Tussing invite le quatuor à cordes Quatuor MP4 et quatre danseurs à une rencontre ludique entre mouvement et son. Les quatre musiciens jouent des passages de divers quatuors, allant de Franz Schubert, Anton Dvořak et Florence Price à des œuvres contemporaines de Georg Friedrich Haas et Caroline Shaw. Là où se croisent la danse et la musique, nous sommes invités à entrer dans la partition kaléidoscopique. Tendez une main ou un bras !

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas

Dark Red

danse expo

Dark Red
Dark Red
sa 23.04 - di 08.05.22

Que se passe-t-il quand la chorégraphie se fait exposition ? En 2021, De Keersmaeker a été invitée par la Fondation Beyeler à créer Dark Red—Beyeler, une  installation « live » qui confronte le corps dansant à l’univers sculptural d’Auguste Rodin et de Hans Arp.