#bignames

See the big names in action

Jérôme Bel

Rétrospective

film talk

Rétrospective
Rétrospective

film

Thu 07.11.19

Rétrospective is Jérôme Bel’s subjective reflection on his own work. He chose eighteen dance fragments from his video archive. Through meticulous editing, he has used them to reconstruct the development of his thinking about dance. By emphasizing the links between dance and politics, he foregrounds central themes in his work. After the film screening, there will be an extended conversation with the choreographer.

BL!NDMAN

Arsenal

music film

Arsenal
Arsenal

music

Fri 20.10.17

Exactly one hundred years after the October Revolution in Russia, Eric Sleichim and BL!NDMAN [strings] are presenting a new sound score to the legendary film Arsenal by director Alexander Dovzhenko. Along with Eisenstein’s Battleship Potemkin, Arsenal is rightly considered to be one of the revolutionary masterpieces of Soviet cinema.

Nature Theater of Oklahoma

Life and Times – Episodes 7 - 8

film

Life and Times – Episodes 7 - 8
Life and Times – Episodes 7 - 8

film

Sun 18.12.16

The magisterial Life and Times epic is approaching its conclusion. The life story of Kristin Worrall is continuing in two films, combined into a marathon screening. Episode 7 pays tribute to Citizen Kane and the conventions of Hollywood’s black and white films. Episode 8 takes an entirely different direction, as a Cinemascope colour film with wide, uninterrupted shots. No prior knowledge is necessary: a cinematic newsflash-like introduction will concisely summarize the story so far.

Steve Paxton & Walter Verdin

Goldberg Variations 1-15 & 16-30

film

Goldberg Variations 1-15 & 16-30
Goldberg Variations 1-15 & 16-30

film

Thu 17.11.16

The improvisations of the American choreographer Steve Paxton to Johann Sebastian Bach’s Goldberg Variations are unforgettable for anyone who ever witnessed them. Paxton began the project in 1984 and stopped in 1992. For ten days, video artist Walter Verdin followed the movements of the improvising Paxton and edited a striking 54 minute-long dance film.

#bignames

Les grandes pointures à l’oeuvre

Jérôme Bel

Rétrospective

film talk

Rétrospective
Rétrospective

film

je 07.11.19

Jérôme Bel jette un regard subjectif sur ses travaux précédents. Remontant le fil de ses archives vidéo, il en distille des extraits de ses spectacles les plus significatifs pour reconstituer, à travers un montage minutieux, le déploiement de sa réflexion sur la danse. En se concentrant sur le nouage entre danse et politique, il fait mieux ressortir les préoccupations centrales. Après la projection suit une longue discussion avec le chorégraphe.

BL!NDMAN

Arsenal

musique film

Arsenal
Arsenal

musique

ve 20.10.17

Exactement cent ans après la révolution d’Octobre, Eric Sleichim et BL!NDMAN [strings] dotent le légendaire Arsenal du réalisateur Aleksandr Dovjenko d’une nouvelle bande sonore. Arsenal est considéré, à raison, comme l’un des chefs-d’œuvre révolutionnaires du cinéma soviétique, au même titre que Le Cuirassé Potemkine d’Eisenstein.

Nature Theater of Oklahoma

Life and Times – Episodes 7 - 8

film

Life and Times – Episodes 7 - 8
Life and Times – Episodes 7 - 8

film

di 18.12.16

L’épopée magistrale Life and Times approche de son épilogue. Le récit de la vie de Kristin Worrall se poursuit dans deux films, qui s’enchaînent dans un spectacle marathon. Episode 7 rend hommage à Citizen Kane et aux conventions cinématographiques hollywoodiennes des films en noir et blanc. Episode 8 change de cap et opte pour un film en couleur et en Cinémascope avec de vastes plans séquence ininterrompus. Une connaissance des épisodes précédents n’est pas indispensable : un petit journal, comme ceux qu’on reçoit au cinéma, les résume.

Steve Paxton & Walter Verdin

Goldberg Variations 1-15 & 16-30

film

Goldberg Variations 1-15 & 16-30
Goldberg Variations 1-15 & 16-30

film

je 17.11.16

Les improvisations du chorégraphe états-unien Steve Paxton sur les Variations Goldberg de Jean-Sébastien Bach sont inoubliables pour tous ceux qui les ont un jour vues. Paxton a commencé ce projet en 1984 et y a mis fin en 1992. Dix jours durant, le vidéaste belge Walter Verdin a suivi les mouvements improvisés de Paxton. Des treize heures de rushes, il monte et réalise un impressionnant film de 54 minutes.