#bignames

See the big names in action

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas & Pavel Kolesnikov

The Goldberg Variations, BWV 988

dance music

The Goldberg Variations, BWV 988
The Goldberg Variations, BWV 988

dance

Thu 03.12 - Sun 13.12.20

After The Six Brandenburg Concerto, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker continues her journey with Bach in dialogue with these variations. Along with pianist Pavel Kolesnikov she brings The Goldberg Variations, BWV 988, a solo performance danced by De Keersmaeker herself. Here too, the musical score forms a blueprint for the choreography.

Encyclopédie de la parole

Suite n° 4

theatre music

Suite n° 4
Suite n° 4

theatre

Tue 19.05 - Sun 24.05.20

Please note: this show has been cancelled to help contain the spread of the new coronavirus. 

In the first part of Suite n° 4, recognizable and anonymous voices overlap as though they were coming from different acoustic spaces. In the second part, the voices are accompanied by eight musicians from Ictus. The Encyclopédie de la parole collective presents a performance about absence, like an opera without singers or a theatre without actors. For 150 minutes, you hear a thousand concrete situations in more than 30 languages.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas & Ictus

Rain (live)

dance music

Rain (live)
Rain (live)

dance

Fri 15.05 - Wed 20.05.20

Rain (2001) is one of Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker’s most characteristic performances, set to Steve Reich’s Music for 18 Musicians. Seven women and three men allow themselves to be propelled by an unstoppable joined energy. They are connected by a lively network of breathing and speed, as well as the special comradery that forms when you are beyond fatigue. In 2016, Rain was reprised with a new cast, premièring at the Royal Circus.

Gorges Ocloo

Moby Dick

music theatre

Moby Dick
Moby Dick

music

Sat 04.04.20

Warning: this show is cancelled to help contain the spread of the new coronavirus. 

For this adaptation of Moby Dick, Gorges Ocloo called on Ben Okri, who adapted the novel into a magic-realist story about the gulf between high and low, rich and poor. Josse De Pauw and the soprano Nobulumko Mngxekeza-Nziramasanga take to the stage to perform an energized and jazzy opera about the need for rapprochement in an increasingly polarized society.

Ictus

Pneuma

music

Pneuma
Pneuma

music

Wed 18.12.19

'We have 25 candles to blow out at Kaaitheater in Brussels, so we’re blowing strong! We will sing our love for breath and the winds.' Pneuma is a subtle soundscape that unfurls across the space, and you can decide on the distance from which you want to experience this (breath)taking event.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas

Bartók/Beethoven/Schönberg

dance music

Bartók/Beethoven/Schönberg
Bartók/Beethoven/Schönberg

dance

Wed 19.06 - Thu 27.06.19

This special repertory evening will present three early works by Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, each of which is based on a piece of classical music. The programme features a combative choreography set to the layered rhythms and harmonies of Bartók’s Quartet n°4, a group piece that defies gravity and depicts the ingenious counterpoint in Beethoven’s Die Grosse Fuge, and a shamelessly romantic duet set to Schönberg’s Verklärte Nacht. Ictus and the Brussels Philharmonic will accompany the pieces live especially for the Brussels series.

Ictus & Suzanne Vega

Einstein on the Beach

music

Einstein on the Beach
Einstein on the Beach

music

Wed 05.06.19

The legendary opera Einstein on the Beach by Phillip Glass, Robert Wilson and Lucinda Childs premièred at the Festival of Avignon in 1976. For this new concertante version, the Ictus ensemble is joining forces with the Collegium Vocale Ghent and with neo-folk legend Suzanne Vega. The musical composition and the musicality of the libretto are the central focus in a minimalist and hypnotizing soundscape that lasts 200 minutes.

#bignames

Les grandes pointures à l’oeuvre

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas & Pavel Kolesnikov

ANNULÉ: The Goldberg Variations, BWV 988

danse musique

ANNULÉ: The Goldberg Variations, BWV 988
ANNULÉ: The Goldberg Variations, BWV 988

danse

je 03.12 - di 13.12.20

Attention : ce spectacle est annulé afin d’éviter la propagation du nouveau coronavirus.

Après les six Concertos brandebourgeois Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker poursuit son entêté compagnonnage avec Bach. Avec le pianiste Pavel Kolesnikov elle opte avec The Goldberg Variations, BWV 988 pour un spectacle en solo, qu’elle interprète elle-même. Et comme toujours, l’étude des partitions musicales constitue le fondement de la partition.

Encyclopédie de la parole

Suite n° 4

théâtre musique

Suite n° 4
Suite n° 4

théâtre

ma 19.05 - di 24.05.20

Attention : ce spectacle est annulé afin d’éviter la propagation du nouveau coronavirus.

Dans la première partie de Suite n° 4, des voix reconnaissables et anonymes se superposent comme si elles provenaient d’espaces acoustiques différents. Dans la seconde partie, huit musiciens d’Ictus accompagnent les voix. Le collectif français Encyclopédie de la parole présente un spectacle sur l’absence, comme un opéra sans chanteurs ou un théâtre sans comédiens. Cent cinquante minutes durant, le spectacle nous fait traverser mille situations concrètes en plus de trente langues.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas & Ictus

Rain (live)

danse musique

Rain (live)
Rain (live)

danse

ve 15.05 - me 20.05.20

Rain (2001) est l’une des plus électrisantes productions d’Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, écrite sur Music for 18 Musicians de Steve Reich. Sept femmes et trois hommes s’abandonnent à une irrépressible énergie collective qui les connecte l’un à l’autre, réseau bouillonnant où se partagent le souffle, la vitesse, et cette étrange amitié qui ne peut naître qu’au-delà de la fatigue. En 2016, une nouvelle distribution a repris Rain au Cirque Royal.

Gorges Ocloo

Moby Dick

musique théâtre

Moby Dick
Moby Dick

musique

sa 04.04.20
Attention: ce spectacle est annulé afin d’éviter la propagation du nouveau coronavirus.

Pour cette adaptation de Moby Dick, Gorges Ocloo a fait appel à Ben Okri. Celui-ci a revisité le texte qui devient un récit magique réaliste sur le fossé entre haut et bas, riche et pauvre. Sur scène, Josse De Pauw et la soprano Nobulumko Mngxekeza-Nziramasanga interprètent ensemble un opéra jazzy dynamique sur la nécessité d’un rapprochement entre les êtres humains dans une société toujours plus polarisée.

Ictus

Pneuma

musique

Pneuma
Pneuma

musique

me 18.12.19

«  Au Kaaitheater, nous soufflerons nos 25 bougies. Et nous soufflerons fort ! Nous chanterons l’amour de la respiration et du grand vent. » Pneuma donne un subtil bain de sons qui se diffusent à travers l’espace et l’on définit soi-même la distance à laquelle on souhaite assister à cet événement à couper le souffle.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas

Bartók/Beethoven/Schönberg

danse musique

Bartók/Beethoven/Schönberg
Bartók/Beethoven/Schönberg

danse

me 19.06 - je 27.06.19

Cette soirée exceptionnelle de répertoire nous emmène le long de trois anciens spectacles d’Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, chacun inspiré d’une composition musicale classique. Au programme : une chorégraphie ludique et combative sur les harmonies et rythmes stratifiés du Quartet n° 4, de Bartók ; une chorégraphie de groupe qui défie la gravité et met en image l’ingénieux contrepoint de Beethoven dans Die Grosse Fuge, et un duo d’un romantisme éhonté au son de Verklärte Nacht de Schönberg. Pour cette série de représentations, Ictus et le Brussels Philharmonic interprètent la musique en direct.

Ictus & Suzanne Vega

Einstein on the Beach

musique

Einstein on the Beach
Einstein on the Beach

musique

me 05.06.19

En 1976, le Festival d’Avignon a présenté la première de l’opéra légendaire Einstein on the Beach de Phillip Glass, Robert Wilson et Lucinda Childs. Pour cette nouvelle version concertante, l’ensemble Ictus unit ses forces avec le chœur Collegium Vocale Gent et la légende néo-folk Suzanne Vega. Cette fois, avec priorité à la composition musicale et à la musicalité du livret au cours d’une immersion sonore minimaliste et hypnotique de 200 minutes.