BELGIAN PREMIERE

Nancy Naous

Turning Point

dance

Turning Point
Turning Point

dance

Fri 25.06 - Sat 26.06.21

Based on interviews with dancers from the Arab world,Turning Point questions the misunderstandings, ambiguities, stereotypes, metaphors, metamorphoses, fantasies, prejudices and imaginations linked to perceptions of dance in this region. Through movement rooted in the pelvis, manipulation of costume elements, and live electro-percussive music, Nancy Naous questions the spectator's gaze and challenges images rooted in our collective imagination.

Ingrid Berger Myhre

In Other Words

dance

In Other Words
In Other Words

dance

Tue 06.07 - Wed 07.07.21

Is dance a language? And if so, how does it speak? In In Other Words, Ingrid Berger Myhre explores the compatibility between dance and language. With the stage as an empty page, the choreographic writing unfolds as a physical discourse with its own syntax, grammar and vocabulary. With ingenuity and charm, Myhre presents a relativizing take on dance.

Radouan Mriziga / A7la5

CANCELLED: Tafukt

dance

CANCELLED: Tafukt
CANCELLED: Tafukt

dance

Thu 26.11 - Sat 28.11.20

Please note: this show has been cancelled to help contain the spread of the new coronavirus. 

Tafukt is a dance solo and the first part of a trilogy focused on semantics and mythologies of the Imazighen – the indigenous population of Northern Africa. Can performance function as a tool of resistance? Radouan Mriziga seeks to create a space for reflections on the past in order to strive for a more inclusive future.

Benjamin Vandewalle

Studio Cité

dance installation

Studio Cité
Studio Cité

dance

Thu 01.01 - Sat 03.10.20

Studio Cité orients, directs, diverts and distorts your view of the world. Step inside a driving mirror cart by yourself, form a dancing circle with your fellow audience members, or stand on the side-lines watching how people with periscopic masks try to find their way. Benjamin Vandewalle organizes an artistic funfair that offers unexpected experiences on Brussels’ squares.

BELGIAN PREMIERE

Mette Ingvartsen

The Dancing Public

danse performance

The Dancing Public
The Dancing Public

danse

me 13.10 - ve 15.10.21

Dans The Dancing Public, Ingvartsen explore, suite à la pandémie, l’extase du mouvement lors de rassemblements sociaux. Son solo fait voler en éclats le confinement solitaire de 2020 avec un brassage de mouvements irrépressibles, de musique incessante, de mots et de chants aux rythmes effrénés. The Dancing Public est une fête de la danse, un concert de spoken word et une expression de frénésie physique allant jusqu’à l’épuisement. Quel est ce besoin d’excès et de mouvements que nos corps ressentent aujourd’hui ? Sommes-nous prêts à reprendre pleinement goût à la vie ?

Meg Stuart / Damaged Goods

CASCADE

danse performance

CASCADE
CASCADE

danse

je 02.09 - sa 04.09.21

Dans CASCADE, Meg Stuart et sept danseurs remettent les pendules à l’heure et reconfigurent des réalités alternatives. Oscillant au bord d’un monde qui disparaît à grande vitesse, ils se plongent dans une autre dimension. CASCADE est un abandon de soi inconditionnel à ce que nous ignorons de l'autre. Entrez dans cette chute libre au rythme du temps qui s’effrite !

Betty Tchomanga

Mascarades

danse

Mascarades
Mascarades

danse

ve 03.09 - sa 04.09.21

Ce solo de danse de Betty Tchomanga évolue autour du personnage mythologique de Mami Wata. Elle est une déesse de l’eau, une figure des profondeurs de la nuit, imprégnée de pouvoir et de sexualité. Cette sirène échouée fait face aux gens qui la regardent. Et cette sirène saute. Sauter pour résister. Sauter pour résister. Sauter pour devenir. Sauter pour mourir. Sauter pour exister.

Ingrid Berger Myhre

In Other Words

danse

In Other Words
In Other Words

danse

ma 06.07 - me 07.07.21

La danse est-elle un langage ? Si oui, comment le parle-t-on ? Dans In Other Words, Ingrid Berger Myhre explore ce que la danse et la langue ont en commun. Avec la scène pour page vierge, la chorégraphie se déploie comme un discours physique avec sa syntaxe, sa grammaire et son vocabulaire. Avec intelligence et charme, Myhre porte sur la danse un regard relativiste.

Nancy Naous

Turning Point

danse

Turning Point
Turning Point

danse

ve 25.06 - sa 26.06.21

Turning point est un spectacle de danse qui prend pour point de départ des interviews de danseurs du monde arabe, pour ainsi se focaliser sur les malentendus, les ambiguïtés, les stéréotypes, les métaphores, les métamorphoses, les fantasmes, les préjugés et les représentations liés à la perception de la danse dans cette région. À partir de mouvements du bassin, de costumes et de percussions électros interprétées en public, Nancy Naouss défie le propre regard et les images enracinées dans nos imaginaires collectifs.