Noé Soulier [FR]

The Waves

The Waves
The Waves

01.02 – 02.02.2019

French choreographer and philosopher Noé Soulier is convinced that watching dance is just as creative as dancing itself. To stimulate this physical response in the audience, he transforms practical gestures like hitting, throwing, and grasping into unfinished, interrupted movements. In a constantly changing puzzle of movement, Soulier composes rhythm in the way you would write movement. In this latest creation, he presents six dancers and two percussionists: Tom De Cock and Gerrit Nulens from the Ictus-ensemble. The drum sounds add commas and full stops, punctuating or pausing a series of movements, or initiate new actions. In The Waves, Soulier explores the intersection of extremely precise dance writing and pure improvisation! 

• Noé Soulier studied dance at PARTS and philosophy at the Sorbonne in Paris. Over the last few seasons, he has presented the solo Movement on Movement and the group pieces Removing and Faits et gestes. During Performatik19, this season, he is confronting the theatre hall with a series of artworks from the Centre Pompidou.


choreography Noé Soulier | with Stephanie Amurao, Lucas Bassereau, Meleat Frederikson, Yumiko Funaya, Anna Massoni, Nans Pierson | music Noah Soulier, with Tom de Cock & Gerrit Nulens (Ictus) | light Victor Burel | production ND Productions | co-production Kaaitheater, Tanz im August, HAU, La Place de la Danse – CDCN Toulouse, Théâtre national de Chaillot, Festival d’Automne à Paris, CND Centre national de la danse, Opéra de Lille, Theater Freiburg, Teatro Municipal do Porto, PACT Zollverein | support Direction Régionale des Affaires Culturelles d’Île-de-France – Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication

Related content

Noé Soulier

Performing Art

performance

Performing Art
Performing Art

performance

Fri 22.03 - Sat 23.03.19

Now that bodies are occupying more and more museums, choreographer and philosopher Noé Soulier is presenting an opposite movement: what if instead of bodies, the artworks themselves adapted to a new space? Performing Art presents twenty pieces from the collection of the Centre Pompidou. You do not see them as you walk through a museum, but from your seat in the theatre.

Noé Soulier [FR]

The Waves

The Waves
The Waves

01.02 – 02.02.2019

« Le geste, l’acte le plus simple reste enfermé comme dans mille vases clos dont chacun serait rempli de choses d’une couleur, d’une odeur, d’une température absolument différentes. » – MARCEL PROUST, Le Temps retrouvé

Le chorégraphe et philosophe français Noé Soulier est convaincu que regarder de la danse est aussi créatif que de danser soi-même. Pour susciter cette réaction physique chez le spectateur, il transforme des gestes pratiques – comme frapper, jeter, saisir – en mouvements inachevés et interrompus. Au cours d’un puzzle gestuel en mutation permanente, Soulier compose du rythme comme on écrirait un mouvement. Dans cette nouvelle création, il fait partager la scène à six danseurs et deux percussionnistes : Tom De Cock et Gerrit Nulens de l’ensemble Ictus. Les percussions ajoutent des virgules et des points, scandent ou suspendent une séquence de mouvements ou relancent l’action. Avec The Waves, Soulier s’aventure à la frontière de l’écriture millimétrée et l’improvisation.

• Noé Soulier a étudié la danse à PARTS à Bruxelles et la philosophie à la Sorbonne à Paris. Les saisons précédentes, il était l’hôte du Kaaitheater avec son solo Movement on Movement et les pièces de groupe Removing et Faits et gestes. Lors de Performatik19, cette saison, il confrontera la salle à une série d’œuvres d’art du Centre Pompidou.


choreography Noé Soulier | with Stephanie Amurao, Lucas Bassereau, Meleat Frederikson, Yumiko Funaya, Anna Massoni, Nans Pierson | music Noah Soulier, with Tom de Cock & Gerrit Nulens (Ictus) | light Victor Burel | production ND Productions | co-production Kaaitheater, Tanz im August, HAU, La Place de la Danse – CDCN Toulouse, Théâtre national de Chaillot, Festival d’Automne à Paris, CND Centre national de la danse, Opéra de Lille, Theater Freiburg, Teatro Municipal do Porto, PACT Zollverein | support Direction Régionale des Affaires Culturelles d’Île-de-France – Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication

Sujets apparentés

Noé Soulier

Performing Art

performance

Performing Art
Performing Art

production

ve 22.03 - sa 23.03.19

À présent que les corps entrent toujours davantage dans les musées, le chorégraphe et philosophe Noé Soulier choisit un mouvement inverse : et si c’était les œuvres d’art qui s’adaptaient à un nouvel espace au lieu des corps ? Dans Performing Art, on regarde une vingtaine d’œuvres d’art de la collection du Centre Pompidou. Non pas en se promenant à travers un musée, mais à partir de son fauteuil de théâtre.