Jan Lauwers & Needcompany [BE]

The blind poet

The blind poet
The blind poet

09.06 – 10.06.2017

Victors

History is written by the victors. By men. How many lies, chance encounters and mishaps have actually determined history as we know it? The idea for The bind poet arose when Jan Lauwers visited the Great Mosque of Cordoba. During the Moorish period (711-1031) Cordoba was the commercial and cultural capital of the world. Women were in power and atheism was normal. Paris was then just a provincial town and Charlemagne was illiterate.

The blind poet travels through history by way of the family trees of all Needcompany’s members. One of Jan Lauwers’ ancestors was an armourer at the time of Godfrey of Bouillon and joined the crusaders. Needcompany discovers that everyone has a connection or similarity somewhere. The blind poet – having been selected for the Theaterfestival 2016 – returns to Kaaitheater, after an international tour.

‘This is theatre with vitality, real, hard and raw, sensitive and intense. True to life, of flesh and blood!’ – INFERNO MAGAZINE


text, directing, set design Jan Lauwers | music Maarten Seghers | with Grace Ellen Barkey, Jules Beckman, Anna Sophia Bonnema, Hans Petter Melø Dahl, Benoît Gob, Maarten Seghers, Mohamed Toukabri | costumes Lot Lemm | assistant to the director, dramaturgy Elke Janssens | production, technique Marjolein Demey, Kurt Bethuyne | sound Ditten Lerooij/Marc Combas | production Needcompany | co-production Kunstenfestivaldesarts, KunstFestSpiele Herrenhausen, FIBA– Festival Internacional de Buenos Aires, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm | with the support of the Flemish authorities

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme

Related content

Maarten Seghers

O

performance music

O or The Challenge Of This Particular Show Was To Have Words Ending In O
O or The Challenge Of This Particular Show Was To Have Words Ending In O

performance

Thu 30.03.17

Maarten Seghers looks for a confrontation with the artists, musicians and dancers Fritz Welch, Simon Lenski, Nicolas Field and Mohamed Toukabri, for whom he wrote an invocatory song about the noisiness of comforting.

Jan Lauwers & Needcompany [BE]

The blind poet

The blind poet
The blind poet

09.06 – 10.06.2017

Vainqueurs

L’Histoire est écrite par les vainqueurs. Par des hommes. Combien de mensonges, de rencontres fortuites, d’accidents de parcours n’ont-ils pas déterminé l’Histoire telle que nous la connaissons ? L’idée du spectacle The blind poet est née lorsque Jan Lauwers a visité la grande mosquée de Cordoue. À l’époque mauresque (711-1031), Cordoue était la capitale commerciale et culturelle du monde. Les femmes y étaient puissantes et l’athéisme, chose courante. Paris n’était alors qu’une ville de province et Charlemagne un analphabète.

The blind poet voyage à travers l’Histoire par le biais des arbres généalogiques de tous les membres de Needcompany. L’un des ancêtres de Jan Lauwers était armurier à l’époque de Godefroid de Bouillon et l’a accompagné en croisade. Needcompany a constaté que chacun a quelque part un lien ou un point commun avec chacun. The blind poet a été sélectionné pour le Theaterfestival 2016, et revient au Kaaitheater après une tournée internationale.

'Un spectacle à découvrir comme un condensé de l’œuvre, formelle et politique, de Jan Lauwers et sa Needcompany.' - L'Echo

‘This is theatre with vitality, real, hard and raw, sensitive and intense. True to life, of flesh and blood!’ – INFERNO MAGAZINE


text, directing, set design Jan Lauwers | music Maarten Seghers | with Grace Ellen Barkey, Jules Beckman, Anna Sophia Bonnema, Hans Petter Melø Dahl, Benoît Gob, Maarten Seghers, Mohamed Toukabri | costumes Lot Lemm | assistant to the director, dramaturgy Elke Janssens | production, technique Marjolein Demey, Kurt Bethuyne | sound Ditten Lerooij/Marc Combas | production Needcompany | co-production Kunstenfestivaldesarts, KunstFestSpiele Herrenhausen, FIBA– Festival Internacional de Buenos Aires, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm | with the support of the Flemish authorities

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme

There's more

Maarten Seghers

O

performance musique

O or The Challenge Of This Particular Show Was To Have Words Ending In O
O or The Challenge Of This Particular Show Was To Have Words Ending In O

performance

je 30.03.17

Une performance de Maarten Seghers en confrontation avec les plasticiens, musiciens et danseurs Fritz Welch, Simon Lenski, Nicolas Field et Mohamed Toukabri pour qui il a écrit une chanson incantatoire sur le chahut de la consolation.