River Lin [TW] PRESENTED BY KANAL – CENTRE POMPIDOU

The 0 Time Collection

16.03 – 17.03.2019

We get up and we go back to sleep every day: the two extremes that determine the primal unity of our lives. In this performance, River Lin questions sleep as an artificial force. To ritualize the daily cycle, he tries to fall asleep in an unexpected public place. Until his alarm wakes him, over and over again.

• Born in Taipei, and currently based in Paris and Taipei, River Lin (°1984) is an artist working across the fields of visual and performing arts, including live installation, durational performance, one-on-one situation and choreography. His live work has been presented internationally at festivals and exhibitions, including the 2016 Taipei Biennial, Manifesta 11 (Zürich), le Palais de Tokyo, to name but a few.

 

RETURN-TO-KANAL PASS

During Performatik19, there will be five consecutive performances and open studios at Kanal – Centre Pompidou. You can attend all of these performances over several days with only one ticket (€ 14), take this ticket to the Kanal ticket office and exchange it for your return-to-Kanal pass.
> Buy your pass here
> Find the four other projects included in the pass below

Are you eligible for a reduced rate? You can buy a reduced ticket at the Kanal ticket office. This ticket is only valid for one day (so you cannot exchange it for a return-to-Kanal pass). You do not need to book seats for ongoing performances and open studios.


concept & performance River Lin | co-production Kaaitheater & Kanal – Centre Pompidou

Related content

Jocelyn Cottencin

Monumental

performance

Monumental
Monumental

performance

Fri 15.03 - Sun 17.03.19

Originally, Monumental was a film about monuments, statues and memorials in public spaces. Cottencin is now handing the performance on to a group of students from the ULB and La Cambre. How do you represent performance and time in the immovable space of collective memory?

Radouan Mriziga

0.Kanal

performance

0.Kanal
0.Kanal

performance

Wed 13.03 - Sat 23.03.19

How can dance, choreography, performance, and architecture create a new kind of space together? During Performatik19, choreographer and Kaaitheater artist-in-residence Radouan Mriziga will install a residency project at KANAL – Centre Pompidou. He is inviting dance and architecture students to share their knowledge and practice.

a.pass researchers

Unsettled Study

performed research

Unsettled Study
Unsettled Study

performed research

Fri 22.03 - Sat 23.03.19

During Unsettled Study, a.pass platform for artistic research is revisiting the architectural, material and performative components of doing research together. The group is establishing a space of study at Kanal where you can join their explorations as they happen.

Léa Drouet

Boundary Games

performance dance

Boundary Games
Boundary Games

performance

Thu 21.03.19

Léa Drouet finds a spot in Kanal that she transforms into an area for play and experimentation for her six performers. Like a social laboratory, the piece tests the process involved in composing and disbanding groups. Infinite (re)arrangements of bodies and stage elements define new social rules like alternatives to the sole principles of inclusion and exclusion.

River Lin [TW] PRESENTED BY KANAL – CENTRE POMPIDOU

The 0 Time Collection

16.03 – 17.03.2019

Chaque jour, nous nous levons et allons nous coucher : deux extrêmes qui déterminent l’unité primaire de notre durée de vie. Dans cette performance, River Lin remet en question le sommeil en tant que force artificielle. Pour ritualiser le cycle quotidien, il tente de s’endormir dans un lieu public à un moment inattendu. Jusqu’à ce que son réveil le réveille, encore et encore.

• Né à Taïpei et actuellement basé à Paris et à Taïpei, River Lin (°1984) est un artiste qui travaille dans le champ des arts visuels et de la performance, incluant des installations en public, des performances dans un contexte spatio-temporel, des situations en tête-à-tête et des chorégraphies. Son œuvre qui s’articule en public a été présentée à travers le monde dans des festivals et des expositions, dont la Biennale de Taïpei 2016, Manifesta 11 (Zurich) et le Palais de Tokyo pour n’en citer que quelques-uns.

RETURN-TO-KANAL PASS

Lors de Performatik19, on peut assister en continu à cinq performances et ateliers ouverts à Kanal – Centre Pompidou. Avec l’achat en ligne ou sur place d’un seul billet (14 €), vous pouvez vous y rendre plusieurs jours d'affilée. Welcome back!
> Achetez ici
> Vous trouverez les quatre autres projets inclus ci-dessous

Vous entrez en ligne de compte pour un tarif réduit ? Alors vous pouvez acheter à la billetterie de Kanal un billet à tarif réduit. Ce billet n’est valable qu’un seul jour (et ne peut donc pas être échangé contre un return-to-Kanal pass). Il n’est pas nécessaire de réserver pour les performances de longue durée et les studios ouverts.


concept & performance River Lin | co-production Kaaitheater & Kanal – Centre Pompidou

Sujets apparentés

Jocelyn Cottencin

Monumental

performance

Monumental
Monumental

performance

ve 15.03 - di 17.03.19

À l’origine, Monumental était un film sur des monuments, des statues et des mémoriaux dans l’espace public. À présent, Cottencin transmet la performance à un groupe d’étudiants de l’ULB et de La Cambre. Comment introduire du jeu et du temps dans l’espace inamovible de la mémoire collective ?

Radouan Mriziga

0.Kanal

performance

0.Kanal
0.Kanal

performance

me 13.03 - sa 23.03.19

Comment la danse, la chorégraphie, la performance et l’architecture peuvent-elles créer ensemble un nouveau type d’espace ? Dans le cadre de Performatik19, le chorégraphe et artiste en résidence au Kaaitheater Radouan Mriziga installe un projet de résidence à KANAL – Centre Pompidou. Il invite des étudiants en danse et en architecture à partager leur connaissance et leur pratique.

a.pass researchers

Unsettled Study

performed research

Unsettled Study
Unsettled Study

performed research

ve 22.03 - sa 23.03.19

Pendant Unsettled Study, la plateforme de recherche artistique a.pass observe à nouveau les composants architecturaux, matériaux et performatifs d’une recherche collective. Pour ce faire, le groupe crée un espace de recherche à Kanal où l’on pourra suivre leur étude pendant son déroulement. 

Léa Drouet

Boundary Games

performance danse

Boundary Games
Boundary Games

performance

je 21.03.19

Léa Drouet a trouvé un lieu à Kanal qu'elle transforme en périmètre de jeu et d’expérimentation pour ses six performeurs. Tel un laboratoire social, la pièce teste les processus de fabrication et de dissolution des groupes. D’infinis (ré)agencements de corps et d’éléments scénographiques définissent de nouvelles règles sociales comme autant d’alternatives aux seuls principes d’inclusion et d’exclusion.