Arkadi Zaides

NECROPOLIS

NECROPOLIS
NECROPOLIS

28.10 – 29.10.2022

Arkadi Zaides and his team are building an archive of bodies that were admitted to Europe only as bodies. Their starting point is the death list of migrants attempting to reach this continent and start a new life. This in order to conceive a virtual depository to document the remains of the many whose deaths are to this day unacknowledged. At the bottom of the sea, on the shores, and inland, a mass of decomposed bodies tells the story of a collective whose ghost hovers over European territory.  

Zaides and his team uses a hybrid methodology consisting partly of a documentary and investigative approach, partly of choreographic practice. This growing archive, this map, this invisible landscape is stretching in all directions across space and time, interrelating the mythologies, histories, geographies and anatomies of those who have been granted entrance to NECROPOLIS. Freedom of movement needs to be returned to the bodies who are admitted to Europe as corpses. And although in the City of the Dead there is no-body left to dance, it is exactly that no-body, that body of the bodies - the body of NECROPOLIS - which Zaides aims to animate back to life.  

On stage, members of the team present the result of their investigation and delve into the darkest recesses of the list. It is an invitation to partake in the sensory discovery of a ghostly virtual territory, to question your actions, your sense of accountability as well as your role as a citizen. 

• Arkadi Zaides is an independent Israeli choreographer and visual artist, of Belarusian origin, currently living in France. After a career as dancer, he embarked on his own artistic path. He focuses on the ways in which political and social contexts affect the movements and gestures of bodies. He collaborated on Jozef Wouters’ Infini #1 and toured around the world with his solo Archive.  In 2019, he participated in the Kaaitheater symposium ‘The School of Speculative Documentary’. 

 

“Arkadi Zaides places himself in this vein between performance and dance which proves, and this is a very current struggle, that movement is not only made up of the living.” - Toute la Culture 


presented by Charleroi danse & Kaaitheater

concept & direction Arkadi Zaides | dramaturgy, text and voice Igor Dobricic | research assistant Emma Gioia | performers Arkadi Zaides, Emma Gioia | sculpture Moran Senderovich | 3D modeling Mark Florquin | avatar animation Jean Hubert | animation assistant Thibaut Rostagnat | light Jan Mergaert | sound design Asli Kobaner | grave location search Aktina Stathaki, Amalie Lynge Lyngesen, Amber Maes, Amirsalar Kavoosi, Ans Van Gasse, Arkadi Zaides, Benjamin Pohlig, Bianca Frasso, Carolina-Maria Van Thillo, Christel Stalpaert, Doreen Kutzke, Dorsa Kavoosi, Elisa Franceschini, Elvura Quesada, Emma Gioia, Frédéric Pouillaude, Gabriel Smeets, Giorgia Mirto, Gosia Juszczak, Igor Dobricic, Ilka Van Bijlen, Jordy Minne, Joris Van Imschoot, Julia Asperska, Juliane Beck, Katia Gandolfi, Katja Seitajoki, Lina Gilani Tsitouri, Luca Lotano, Lucille Haddad, Maite Zabalza, Maria Sierra Carretero, Mercedes Roldan, Meret* Heuss, Myriam Van Imschoot, Myrto Katsiki, Osnat Kelner, Özge Atmış, Pepa Torres Perez, Sarah Leo, Simge Gücük, Solveig Gade, Sunniva Vikør Egenes, Tamara Vajdíková, Tilemachos Tsolis, Yannick Bosc, Yari Stilo | technical director Etienne Exbrayat | administration & production Simge Gücük / Institut des Croisements | international distribution Helena Elshout / laGeste (les ballets C de la B & kabinet k) | coproduction Théâtre de la Ville (FR), Montpellier Danse 40 Bis (FR), Charleroi Danse (BE), CCN2 Centre chorégraphique national de Grenoble (FR), les ballets C de la B (BE), Tanz im August / HAU Hebbel am Ufer (DE), La Filature – Scène nationale de Mulhouse (FR) | residency support CCN - Ballet de Lorraine (FR), STUK (BE), PACT Zollverein (DE), WP Zimmer (BE), Workspacebrussels (BE), Cie THOR (BE) | support for experimentation RAMDAM, un centre d'art (FR)

Arkadi Zaides

NECROPOLIS

NECROPOLIS
NECROPOLIS

28.10 – 29.10.2022

Arkadi Zaides et son équipe constituent une archive des corps qui ont été admis en Europe uniquement en tant que corps. Leur point de départ est la liste de décès des migrant·es qui ont tenté de rejoindre ce continent afin d'y entamer une nouvelle vie. L’objectif est de concevoir un dépôt virtuel pour documenter les restes de ceux·celles, nombreux·euses, dont la mort n'est à ce jour pas reconnue. Au fond de la mer, sur les rivages et à l'intérieur des terres, une masse de corps décomposés raconte l'histoire d'un collectif dont le fantôme plane sur le territoire européen. 

La méthodologie de Zaides et de son équipe est hybride, constituée en partie d'une approche documentaire et d'investigation, en partie d'une pratique chorégraphique. Cette archive croissante, cette carte, ce paysage invisible s'étend dans toutes les directions, à travers l'espace et le temps, et met en relation les mythologies, les histoires, les géographies et les anatomies de ceux·celles qui ont été autorisé·es à entrer dans NECROPOLIS. La liberté de mouvement doit être rendue aux corps qui sont admis en Europe en tant que cadavres. Et bien que dans la Cité des morts, il n'y ait plus aucun corps à danser, c'est précisément ce non corps, ce corps des corps - le corps de NECROPOLIS - que Zaides cherche à animer pour le ramener à la vie. 

Sur scène, les membres de l'équipe présentent le résultat de leur enquête et plongent dans les recoins les plus sombres de la liste. Il s'agit d'une invitation à participer à la découverte sensorielle d'un territoire virtuel fantomatique, à remettre en question vos actions, votre sens des responsabilités ainsi que votre rôle en tant que citoyenne.

• Arkadi Zaides est un chorégraphe et artiste visuel israélien indépendant, d'origine biélorusse, qui vit actuellement en France. Après une carrière de danseur, il s'est lancé dans sa propre voie artistique. Il s'intéresse à la manière dont les contextes politiques et sociaux affectent les mouvements et les gestes des corps. Il a collaboré à Infini #1 de Jozef Wouters et a fait le tour du monde avec son solo Archive.  En 2019, il a participé au symposium du Kaaitheater 'The School of Speculative Documentary'.

 

"Arkadi Zaides se place dans cette veine entre la performance et la danse qui prouve, c'est un combat très actuel, que le mouvement n'est pas fait que de vivants." - Toute la Culture


presented by Charleroi danse & Kaaitheater

concept & direction Arkadi Zaides | dramaturgy, text and voice Igor Dobricic | research assistant Emma Gioia | performers Arkadi Zaides, Emma Gioia | sculpture Moran Senderovich | 3D modeling Mark Florquin | avatar animation Jean Hubert | animation assistant Thibaut Rostagnat | light Jan Mergaert | sound design Asli Kobaner | grave location search Aktina Stathaki, Amalie Lynge Lyngesen, Amber Maes, Amirsalar Kavoosi, Ans Van Gasse, Arkadi Zaides, Benjamin Pohlig, Bianca Frasso, Carolina-Maria Van Thillo, Christel Stalpaert, Doreen Kutzke, Dorsa Kavoosi, Elisa Franceschini, Elvura Quesada, Emma Gioia, Frédéric Pouillaude, Gabriel Smeets, Giorgia Mirto, Gosia Juszczak, Igor Dobricic, Ilka Van Bijlen, Jordy Minne, Joris Van Imschoot, Julia Asperska, Juliane Beck, Katia Gandolfi, Katja Seitajoki, Lina Gilani Tsitouri, Luca Lotano, Lucille Haddad, Maite Zabalza, Maria Sierra Carretero, Mercedes Roldan, Meret* Heuss, Myriam Van Imschoot, Myrto Katsiki, Osnat Kelner, Özge Atmış, Pepa Torres Perez, Sarah Leo, Simge Gücük, Solveig Gade, Sunniva Vikør Egenes, Tamara Vajdíková, Tilemachos Tsolis, Yannick Bosc, Yari Stilo | technical director Etienne Exbrayat | administration & production Simge Gücük / Institut des Croisements | international distribution Helena Elshout / laGeste (les ballets C de la B & kabinet k) | coproduction Théâtre de la Ville (FR), Montpellier Danse 40 Bis (FR), Charleroi Danse (BE), CCN2 Centre chorégraphique national de Grenoble (FR), les ballets C de la B (BE), Tanz im August / HAU Hebbel am Ufer (DE), La Filature – Scène nationale de Mulhouse (FR) | residency support CCN - Ballet de Lorraine (FR), STUK (BE), PACT Zollverein (DE), WP Zimmer (BE), Workspacebrussels (BE), Cie THOR (BE) | support for experimentation RAMDAM, un centre d'art (FR)