tg STAN & de KOE [BE]

My Dinner with André

My Dinner with André
My Dinner with André

15.06 – 16.06.2018

Conflicting philosophies

In My Dinner with André – based on the screenplay of the 1981 film of the same name by Louis Malle – Damiaan De Schrijver and Peter Van den Eede sit down for a four-course meal. While one is a sober-minded humanist, the other holds forth about his extraordinary spiritual experiences. The result is a hilarious conversation about their conflicting personal philosophies, about life, and especially about the theatre. Every evening, there is a different chef onstage to prepare the meal.

After its première in 1998, the production toured extensively in Flanders and the Netherlands, and in 1999 it won the Grand Prix at the Theatre Festival. In 2005, De Schrijver and Van den Eede launched a French-speaking tour, the language in which they have now performed the piece most often. The pair have performed My Dinner with André more than 200 times, and they still enjoy it as much as ever. Don’t miss the 20th anniversary of this cult production!

Yes,
you know,
in the sexual act
there is that one unbelievable moment
in which you forget everything
and immediately after
you start thinking again
about all kinds of things,
about theatre,
about all the things you will do tomorrow.

« This pièce de résistance by two of the best local companies of actors is simply not to be missed. »
– Le Soir ★★★★


tekst André Gregory & Wallace Shawn, naar het scenario van de gelijknamige film van Louis Malle | bewerking, van en met Damiaan De Schrijver & Peter Van den Eede | kostuums Inge Büscher | productie tg STAN, de KOE

Related content

tg STAN

Poquelin II

theatre

Poquelin II
Poquelin II

production

Fri 24.11 - Sun 26.11.17

In 2004, the tg STAN actors dived into the oeuvre of Molière, resulting in the hilarious montage production Poquelin. After ten years they delve into his works again. Along with Kuno Bakker, Els Dottermans, Willy Thomas and Stijn Van Opstal, they are adapting Le Bourgeois Gentilhomme and L’Avare.

tg STAN, de KOE & Maatschappij Discordia

Atelier

theatre

Atelier
Atelier

production

Wed 28.02 - Sat 03.03.18

Do playwrights – like sculptors and painters – have studios where they turn their ideas into material? Matthias de Koning, Damiaan De Schrijver and Peter Van den Eede construct the fourth wall, and subsequently demolish it again. Welcome to this laboratory of naturalism, realism and hyperrealism!

de KOE

HelloGoodbye

theatre

HelloGoodbye
HelloGoodbye

production

Wed 20.12 - Thu 21.12.17

De KOE has unfinished business with the in-between. They perform a selection of arrival and departure scenes from Russian and Western literature, and supplement them with their own texts. Eight actors perform 35 characters who enter and leave in a symbiosis of welcoming and parting ceremonies. Because nobody stays.

tg STAN & de KOE [BE]

My Dinner with André

My Dinner with André
My Dinner with André

15.06 – 16.06.2018

Philosophies antagonistes

Dans My Dinner with André – d’après le scénario du film éponyme de Louis Malle en 1981 –, Damiaan De Schrijver et Peter Van den Eede s’attablent devant un repas gastronomique. Alors que l’un est un humaniste sobre, l’autre pérore sur des expériences spirituelles extravagantes. Il s’ensuit une conversation désopilante sur leurs philosophies de vie antagonistes, sur la vie et sur le théâtre. Chaque soir, un autre cuisinier monte sur les planches leur mitonner différents plats.

Après la première en 1998, le spectacle a effectué une longue tournée en Flandre et aux Pays-Bas et a remporté en 1999 le Grand Prix du Theaterfestival. En 2005, De Schrijver et Van den Eede ont donné le coup d’envoi de la version française du spectacle, celle qu’ils ont interprétée le plus souvent depuis lors. Le duo a donné quelque deux cents représentations de My Dinner with André chaque fois avec autant de plaisir de jeu et d’appétit. Ne ratez pas le 20e anniversaire de ce spectacle culte !

Oui,
tu sais,
dans l’acte sexuel
il y a ce moment incroyable
où l’on oublie tout
et aussitôt après
on se remet à réfléchir
à tout et n’importe quoi,
au théâtre,
à ce qu’on va faire demain.

« A ne pas manquer, cette pièce de résistance de deux des meilleures compagnies d'acteurs de nos contrées. »
– Le Soir ★★★★

« Un grand moment de bonheur théâtral. »
– La Libre Belgique


tekst André Gregory & Wallace Shawn, naar het scenario van de gelijknamige film van Louis Malle | bewerking, van en met Damiaan De Schrijver & Peter Van den Eede | kostuums Inge Büscher | productie tg STAN, de KOE

Sujets apparentés

tg STAN

Poquelin II

théâtre

Poquelin II
Poquelin II

production

je 01.01 - di 26.11.17

En 2004, les acteurs de tg STAN se sont plongés dans l’œuvre de Molière pour en distiller leur création désopilante, Poquelin. Tant d’années après ils se replongent dans son œuvre. Ils ne le font pas seuls, mais avec Kuno Bakker, Els Dottermans, Willy Thomas et Stijn Van Opstal. Cette fois, ils revisitent Le Bourgeois Gentilhomme et L’Avare.

tg STAN, de KOE & Maatschappij Discordia

Atelier

théâtre

Atelier
Atelier

production

me 28.02 - sa 03.03.18

Les créateurs de théâtre ont-ils – à l’instar de sculpteurs et des peintres – un atelier où ils peuvent matérialiser leurs idées ? Matthias de Koning, Damiaan De Schrijver et Peter Van den Eede reconstruisent les quatre murs pour ensuite mieux les démolir. Bienvenue dans ce laboratoire du naturalisme, du réalisme et de l’hyperréalisme !

de KOE

HelloGoodbye

théâtre

HelloGoodbye
HelloGoodbye

production

me 20.12 - je 21.12.17

De KOE n’en a pas fini avec le milieu. Ils interprètent une sélection de scènes d’arrivée et de départ de la littérature russe et occidentale et les complètent de textes qu’ils ont eux-mêmes écrits. Huit acteurs font entrer et sortir 35 personnages dans une symbiose de cérémonies d’accueil et d’adieu. Car personne ne reste.