Sumaya E.H., Rachaila & Miranda Ntirandekura Aerts

moving within a collective path of transformation

moving within
moving within

02.10.2021

How can we collectively process what moves us within? How do we honour emotions like anger or grief, or deal with feelings of being overwhelmed by endemic stress, constraints, conditioning or aggressions? How to find an inner centre from which we can express our truth?

We bring together three healing facilitators who offer sessions, wherein concrete tools and knowledge developed to deal with stress or difficult emotions, are experienced and transferred. The facilitators transmit psycho-educational as well as a body-focused techniques. These are created with an acknowledgement of the impact of oppressive mechanisms that may have brought about (chronic) stress. This event aims to move through and beyond pain and cultivate a collective and intimate journey of healing and joy.

moving within is created as an addition to the performance SPIRIT CAPITAL, the Seat of Memory by Roland Gunst. Be welcome to join on Saturday 2nd of October 2021 at Kaaistudios from 14:00. Participation at the event is free, but do register for one of the (non-mixed) offerings.

TIMELINE

14:00-16:00 – 3 offerings in 3 different spaces
From 16:00 onwards: Get-together with DJ Sahra
 

THE OFFERINGS

Cultivating embodied self-compassion in postcolonial times [dansstudio at 14:00 - français/English]

This workshop given by social and health psychologist Sumaya E.H. will offer a safe space for those who identify as part of the postcolonial or ethnic diasporas. An introduction to cultivating an embodied and fierce self-compassionate practice as a tool to deal with racial and ethnic stress. This session welcomes black people and people of colour. 

> Register here

Hoopdance workshop - Connect & commit to your joy [theaterzaal at 14:00 – English]

Did you know, our waistline is a pathway to liberation, and creation? It is high time for you to (re)discover this area! At the core, all people are longing to feel good. Hulahooping does exactly that. Movement enthousiast Rachaila lovingly guides you through a two-hour session, where the hulahoop offers you supported stretches, a sense of freedom and most of all a joyous experience. This session welcomes women and non-binary people.

> Register here

Trauma, what happens in our body as a consequence of what happened to us. [concertstudio at 14:00 – Nederlands]

Miranda Ntirandekura Aerts gives an informative introduction, with a transcultural angle, about the link between trauma, people who are labelled 'the other' or 'stranger' by society and what impact this can have on their (mental/physical) well-being. The following questions are addressed: What do we mean by trauma? What does it do to our body? What are risk factors and protective factors? Are there low-threshold tools that each of us can use? There is also room for questions and reflection. This session welcomes black people and people of colour.

> Register here

Get-together with DJ Sahra [bar & concertstudio at 16:00]

The offerings will be organized simultaneously from 14h to 16h. From 16h, you’re very welcome to connect deeper and share your experiences with others. No one else but DJ Sahra will accompany us with soulful music! There'll also be food and drinks.

This programme is offered as an addition to the performance Spirit Capital, the Seat of Memory by John K Cobra & Moussem and curated by Johanna Couvée.

It is created based on an alliance between experience experts, researchers, sympathizers and activists, aiming to create communities of resistance and liberation in the face of perpetuated postcolonial and patriarchal violence. We expect participants to commit to questioning and positioning oneself in this process. This active engagement does not necessarily mean talking a lot during the sessions, but allowing reflection and taking a position.

The facilitators

Sumaya E.H. is a social and health psychologist, with focus on trauma (racial & intergenerational) and positive psychology. She founded a healing collective ‘SUHU’, where she offers holistic, embodied sessions specifically for various ethnic and diaspora communities. Her main dedication lies in integrating practices from EFT (emotional freedom techniques), mindful self-compassion, martial arts, dance and creative writing practices.
www.facebook.com/healinghubcollective

Rachaila is the founder of the Sisterhoops community, Hulahoop Queen, dancer, DJ and movement coach in the making, would not cover how much passion this lady has for everything that has to do with music and creative movement. Since 2020, she is also an official Twerk After Work instructor. Her intention is to use dance as a means to connect with your body, always in a positive way!
www.sisterhoops.nl/home / www.instagram.com/sisterhoops

Miranda Ntirandekura Aerts works as a clinical psychologist and psychotherapist in Antwerp. With years of work experience in various organisations within the mental health and education sectors, she founded C.I.E.R. Community, a platform where her passion for care, interculturality, education and research come together. As a clinical psychologist, she divides her time between psychotherapeutic counselling in her practice and the development and implementation of lectures, trainings and workshops. The topics discussed are often an intersection between mental well-being, migration and (un)justice.
www.instagram.com/cier_community

The organizers

Roland Gunst a.k.a. John K Cobra, is a conceptual artist, film maker and musician of Belgian-Congolese (D.R.C.) descent, living and working between Belgium and South Africa. In his films, performances and objects he experiments with hybrid identities and Afro- European stories, from an autobiographical perspective and as a reaction to conflicts and tensions between black Africa and the white West. He previously appeared in the Kaaiprogramme with the lecture performance De heerschappij van het Afropeanisme. Spirit Capital, his latest performance, was made in residence at Moussem Nomadic Arts Centre.

Johanna Couvée is a Brussels-based cultural manager and artist coach from the Netherlands with a background in Sociology. She works for Citylab, a creative incubator that supports Brussels-based talents in developing and imagining their perspectives on urban futures. She believes in the power of art for collective healing, as a medium to change habits of perception and as imaginative inspiration to work towards new possibilities for social realities. Currently training to be a somatic psychologist, she is engaged in finding ways of bridging therapeutic embodied practices with collective action and accountability towards social justice.

Aru Lee is a poet and workshop coordinator. They use poetry to raise awareness about cultural differences. As a poet they express their emotions and journey as a black, queer African diasporic person through personal observation, experiences and facts. Their work talks about what it means to look for meaning in ourselves when growing up in different environments. What defines home and how our mental health is affected by our history. They explore concepts of self-love through the deconstruction of everything learnt. Aru lee also leads workshops around the concept of Safer Spaces with a focus on racial inclusion and mental health. They have worked with various cultural organisations in tackling social justice issues within a working, educational and cultural environment.

This event is created with the support of Kaaitheater.

There's more

Roland Gunst_John K Cobra / Moussem

SPIRIT CAPITAL

performance

SPIRIT CAPITAL
SPIRIT CAPITAL

performance

Wed 29.09 - Thu 30.09.21

Two female, identical performers move through the theatre space. The scene evokes the 'Tropical Bungalow', a dwelling installed by the colonial in Congo. SPIRIT CAPITAL transforms the stage into a ritualised place and invites you on a spatial and mental journey where historically oppressed bodies can shed the chains of history and liberate themselves through movement, words, sounds, music and outward transformations.

Sumaya E.H., Rachaila & Miranda Ntirandekura Aerts

moving within a collective path of transformation

moving within
moving within

02.10.2021

Comment transformer collectivement ce qui nous touche à l'intérieur ? Comment honorer des émotions comme la colère ou le chagrin, ou gérer le sentiment d'être submergé par le stress, des contraintes, conditionnements ou agressions ? Comment trouver un centre intérieur à partir duquel exprimer notre vérité ?

Nous réunissons trois facilitatrices de guérison qui proposent des sessions où sont expérimentés des outils concrets et des connaissances développées dans l‘objectif de gérer le stress ou les émotions difficiles. En utilisant des techniques psycho-éducatives et corporelles reconnaissant l'impact des mécanismes d'oppression qui ont pu provoquer un stress (chronique), cet événement vise à traverser et à dépasser la douleur, ainsi qu’à cultiver un voyage collective et intime de guérison et de joie.

moving within est créé en complément de la performance SPIRIT CAPITAL, the Seat of Memory de John K Cobra & Moussem. Soyez les bienvenu·e·s le samedi 2 octobre 2021 au Kaaistudios à partir de 14h. La participation à l'événement est gratuite, mais inscrivez-vous à l'une des offres, qui se passent en non-mixité.

TIMELINE

14h-16h : 3 offres dans 3 different espaces
à partir de 16h : Get-together avec DJ Sahra

LES OFFRES

Cultiver l'auto-compassion incarnée en période postcoloniale [dansstudio à 14h - français/English]

Cet atelier donné par la psychologue sociale et de la santé Sumaya E.H. offrira un safe space pour celleux qui s'identifient comme appartenant aux diasporas postcoloniales ou ethniques. Une introduction à la culture d'une pratique d'auto-compassion incarnée et implacable comme outil pour faire face au stress racial et ethnique. Cette session est ouverte aux personnes noires et racisées.

> Inscrivez-vous

Le hula hoop - Connectez-vous et engagez-vous dans votre joie [theaterzaal à 14h - English]

Saviez-vous que notre tour de taille est un chemin vers la libération et la création ? Il est grand temps pour vous de (re)découvrir cette zone corporelle ! Au fond, tout le monde aspire à se sentir bien et c’est exactement ce que fait la pratique du hula hoop. Passionnée de cette discipline, Rachaila vous guide avec amour à travers une session de deux heures, où le hula hoop vous offre des étirements soutenus, un sentiment de liberté et surtout une expérience joyeuse. Cette session est ouverte aux femmes et aux personnes non-binaires.

> Inscrivez-vous

Le traumatisme, ce qui se produit dans notre corps, comme conséquence de ce qui nous est arrivé. [concertstudio à 14h - Nederlands]

Miranda Ntirandekura Aerts donne une introduction informative, comportant un angle transculturel, sur le lien entre les traumatismes, les personnes qui sont qualifiées «l'autre » ou « l’étranger·ère » dans la société, et l'impact que cette labellisation peut avoir sur leur bien-être (mental/physique). Les questions suivantes sont abordées : Qu'entendons-nous par "traumatisme" ? Quelles effets engendre-t-il sur notre corps ? Que sont les facteurs de risque et les facteurs de protection ? Et existe-t-il des outils à bas seuil que chacun·e d'entre nous peut utiliser ? La session laisse également la place aux questions et réflexions. Cette session est ouverte aux personnes noires et racisées.

> Inscrivez-vous

Get-together avec DJ Sahra ​​​​[bar & concertstudio à 16h]

Les offres seront organisées simultanément de 14h à 16h. À partir de 16h, vous êtes les bienvenu·e·s pour vous connecter plus profondément et partager vos expériences avec les autres. C'est DJ Sahra qui nous accompagnera avec des soulful beats. Il y aura de la nourriture et des boissons.

Ce programme est créé sur la base d'une alliance entre expert·es de l'expérience, chercheur·euses, sympathisant·es et activistes, et vise à former des communautés de résistance et de libération face à la violence post-coloniale et patriarcale qui se perpétue. Nous attendons des participant·es qu’iels s'engagent à se questionner et à se positionner dans ce processus. Cet engagement actif ne signifie pas nécessairement de prendre beaucoup la parole durant les sessions, mais de permettre la réflexion et la prise de position.

Ce programme est proposé en complément de la performance SPIRIT CAPITAL, the Seat of Memory de Roland Gunst_John K Cobra & Moussem et curaté par Johanna Couvée.

Les facilitatrices

Sumaya E.H. est une psychologue sociale et de la santé, spécialisée dans les traumatismes (raciaux et intergénérationnels) et la psychologie positive. Elle a fondé un collectif de guérison 'SUHU', où elle propose des séances holistiques et incarnées, qui sont spécifiquement destinées à diverses communautés ethniques et diasporiques. Elle se consacre principalement à l'intégration des pratiques de l'EFT (techniques de libération émotionnelle), de l'auto-compassion consciente, des arts martiaux, de la danse et de l'écriture créative.
www.facebook.com/healinghubcollective

Rachaila, fondatrice de la communauté Sisterhoops, Hulahoop Queen, danseuse, DJ et future coach en mouvement, autant de fonctions qui ne sauraient exprimer toute la passion de cette femme pour tout ce qui touche à la musique et au creative movement. Depuis 2020, elle est également une enseignante officielle de Twerk After Work. Son intention est d'utiliser la danse comme un moyen de se connecter avec son corps et ce toujours de manière positive ! 
www.sisterhoops.nl/home / www.instagram.com/sisterhoops

Miranda Ntirandekura Aerts travaille en tant que psychologue clinicienne et psychothérapeute à Anvers. Après des années d'expérience professionnelle dans diverses organisations du secteur de la santé mentale et de l'éducation, elle a fondé C.I.E.R. Community, une plateforme où se conjuguent ses passions pour le soins, l'interculturalité, l'éducation et la recherche.
En tant que psychologue clinicienne, elle répartit son temps entre le conseil psychothérapeutique dans son cabinet et l'élaboration ainsi que la mise en œuvre de conférences, de formations et d'ateliers. Les thèmes qui y sont abordés sont souvent à l'intersection entre le bien-être mental, la migration et la (l’in)justice. 
www.instagram.com/cier_community

Les organisateur·rices

Roland Gunst, alias John K Cobra, est un artiste conceptuel, cinéaste et musicien d'origine belgo-congolaise ( R.D.C.), qui vit et travaille entre la Belgique et l'Afrique du Sud. Dans ses films, performances et objets, il expérimente des identités hybrides et des récits afro-européens dans une perspective autobiographique, ainsi qu’en réaction aux conflits et tensions entre l'Afrique noire et l'Occident blanc. Il a déjà participé aux programmes du Kaaithater avec la conférence performance The Reign of Afroeuropeanism. Spirit Capital, sa dernière performance, a été conçue en résidence au Moussem Nomadic Arts Centre.

Johanna Couvée est une manager culturel et coach d'artistes à Bruxelles d'origine néerlandaise avec une formation en sociologie. Elle travaille pour Citylab, un incubateur créatif qui aide les talents bruxellois à développer et à imaginer leurs perspectives sur les futurs urbains. Elle croit au pouvoir  de l'art pour la guérison collective, comme moyen de changer les habitudes de perception et en tant qu’inspiration imaginative pour travailler à de nouvelles possibilités de réalités sociales. Elle suit actuellement une formation de psychologue somatique et s'efforce de trouver des moyens de relier les pratiques thérapeutiques incarnées à l'action et la responsabilité collective, visé à la justice sociale.

Aru Lee est poète et coordinateur d'atelier. Iel utilise la poésie pour sensibiliser aux différences culturelles. En tant que poète, iel exprime leurs émotions et leur parcours en tant que personne noire, queer et africaine de la diaspora par le biais d'observations, d'expériences et de faits personnels. Leur travail parle de ce que cela signifie de chercher un sens à soi-même quand on grandit dans des environnements différents. Ce qui définit le foyer et comment notre santé mentale est affectée par notre histoire. Iel explore les concepts de l'amour de soi à travers la déconstruction de tout ce qui a été appris. Aru Lee anime également des ateliers autour du concept de Safer Spaces, en mettant l'accent sur l'inclusion raciale et la santé mentale. Iel ont travaillé avec diverses organisations culturelles pour aborder les questions de justice sociale dans un environnement de travail, éducatif et culturel.

Cet événement est créé avec le soutien du Kaaitheater.

There's more

Roland Gunst_John K Cobra / Moussem

SPIRIT CAPITAL

performance

SPIRIT CAPITAL
SPIRIT CAPITAL

performance

me 29.09 - je 30.09.21

Deux performeuses, d’apparence identique se meuvent à travers l’espace théâtral. La scénographie évoque le « Bungalow tropical », une structure résidentielle installée par les coloniaux au Congo. SPIRIT CAPITAL transforme la scène en un lieu ritualisé et invite à un voyage spatial et mental dans lequel des corps historiquement opprimés peuvent rejeter les chaînes de l’Histoire et s’en libérer à travers des mouvements, des paroles, des sons, de la musique et des métamorphoses visibles.