Milø Slayers

Monstrare et/ou Monere 

Monstrare et/ou Monere 
Monstrare et/ou Monere 

14.12 – 15.12.2022

A bent back, speaking but there is no mouth. Arms doing their own thing. Legs swinging around by themselves. Until, on the lower of the back, a mouth peeps out of the trousers. Do all those body parts belong together? And where is the head? From the darkness, finally only a voice resounds, like a thunderous eruption from deep within. 

In his solo debut, Milø Slayers explores the boundary between man and monster. Monstrare et/ou Monere is a living triptych about the potential of monstrosity - not in a Hollywood way, but as a deeper consciousness that wants to wriggle out of fixed categories. Can identity be fluid? Where are the boundaries between the 'normal' (normative) body and a body that is experienced as deformed, monstrous? Slayers merges his choreographic background in hip-hop with the structures of abstract contemporary dance, under a play of light that constantly distorts known human relationships. 

• Milø Slayers is part of the dance company Slayers and studied 'art and choreography' at ISAC in Brussels until 2020. With Monstrare et/ou Monere we welcome Milø Slayers to the Kaaistudio's for the first time.


presented by Kaaitheater

concept & dance Milø Slayers | light design Max Adams | costume Lila John | movement research Stéphane Bourhis | production KWP Kunstenwerkplaats | co-production  Dans in Brugge, Vooruit en STUK | dramaturgy Wouter Hillaert | thanks to Wouter Hillaert, Lisa Vereertbrugghen, Daniel Blanga Gubbay, Elsemieke Scholte, Alain Platel, WIPCOOP, BUDA, Ultima Vez, Les Ballets C de la B, Charleroi Danse, BATARD, KVS, ISAC.

Milø Slayers

Monstrare et/ou Monere 

Monstrare et/ou Monere 
Monstrare et/ou Monere 

14.12 – 15.12.2022

Un dos courbé, parlant sans bouche. Des bras qui suivent leur propre chemin. Des jambes qui se balancent toutes seules. Jusqu'à ce que, au bas du dos, une bouche émerge quand même au-dessus du pantalon. Est-ce que toutes ces parties du corps vont ensemble ? Et où est la tête ? Dans l'obscurité ne résonne plus qu'une voix, comme une éruption tonitruante venue des profondeurs. 

Dans son premier solo, Milø Slayers explore la frontière entre l'être humain et le monstre. Monstrare et/ou Monere est un triptyque vivant qui traite du potentiel de la monstruosité - non pas dans un sens hollywoodien, mais comme une conscience plus profonde qui veut s'affranchir des catégories fixes. L'identité peut-elle être fluide ? Où se situent les limites entre le corps "normal" (normatif) et un corps vécu comme déformé, monstrueux ? Slayers fusionne sa formation chorégraphique en hip-hop avec les structures de la danse contemporaine abstraite, sous un jeu de lumière qui déforme constamment les proportions humaines connues. 

• Milø Slayers fait partie de la compagnie de danse Slayers et étudie " l'art et la chorégraphie " à l'ISAC à Bruxelles jusqu'en 2020. Avec Monstrare et/ou Monere, nous accueillons pour la première fois Milø Slayers au Kaaistudio's.


presented by Kaaitheater

concept & dance Milø Slayers | light design Max Adams | costume Lila John | movement research Stéphane Bourhis | production KWP Kunstenwerkplaats | co-production  Dans in Brugge, Vooruit en STUK | dramaturgy Wouter Hillaert | thanks to Wouter Hillaert, Lisa Vereertbrugghen, Daniel Blanga Gubbay, Elsemieke Scholte, Alain Platel, WIPCOOP, BUDA, Ultima Vez, Les Ballets C de la B, Charleroi Danse, BATARD, KVS, ISAC.