PRICE [BR/CH] presented by Beursschouwburg

Melodies are so far my best friend

22.03 – 23.03.2019

If we continue to consume more language more quickly and superficially, will we still be able to use language instinctively and emotionally? PRICE is appealing to movement and music to answer this question. Along with producer Cecile Believ, pianist Sebastian Hirsig, fashion label BARRAGÁN and photographer Mirjam Graf, he will captivate you with his body and voice. You stand next to him on stage, while the soundtrack of heavenly ambient will flow to dark tribal – and back again.

• PRICE is the alter ego of Mathias Ringgenberg – born in Rio de Janeiro and based in Zürich. This queer hybrid of close reality and distant dream enters a no-holds-barred exploration of the emotional disorientation of a generation that grew up with mass culture, neoliberalism and the ubiquity of the internet.


artistic direction PRICE (Mathias Ringgenberg) | music and performance PRICE | music production Cecile Believe | piano Sebastian Hirsig | light Mirjam Graf | stage costume design in collaboration with BARRAGÁN | dramaturgy Tom Engels | movement research Isabel Lewis | co-production Arsenic – Contemporary Performing Arts Center Lausanne, Tanzhaus Zürich, Life Long Burning EU | this project is supported by Pro Helvetia, Swiss Cultural Foundation and Fondation Nestlé pour l’Art

PRICE [BR/CH] presented by Beursschouwburg

Melodies are so far my best friend

22.03 – 23.03.2019

Si nous consommons toujours davantage, plus vite et plus superficiellement le langage, pouvons-nous encore nous en servir sur le plan intuitif et émotionnel ? Pour répondre à cette question, PRICE convoque le mouvement et la musique. Avec la productrice Cecile Believe, le pianiste Sebastian Hirsig, le label de mode BARRAGÁN et le photographe Mirjam Graf, il nous galvanise par son corps et sa voix. Le public est installé sur la scène, alors que la bande sonore passe d’une musique ambient céleste à de ténébreuses sonorités tribales et vice versa.

• PRICE est l’alter ego de Mathias Ringgenberg – né à Rio de Janeiro et basé à Zurich. Cet artiste queer, hybride de réalité proche et de rêves distants, s’engage dans une exploration sans retenue de la désorientation émotionnelle d’une génération qui a grandi avec la culture de masse, le néolibéralisme et l’omniprésence d’internet.

 

 

 


artistic direction PRICE (Mathias Ringgenberg) | music and performance PRICE | music production Cecile Believe | piano Sebastian Hirsig | light Mirjam Graf | stage costume design in collaboration with BARRAGÁN | dramaturgy Tom Engels | movement research Isabel Lewis | co-production Arsenic – Contemporary Performing Arts Center Lausanne, Tanzhaus Zürich, Life Long Burning EU | this project is supported by Pro Helvetia, Swiss Cultural Foundation and Fondation Nestlé pour l’Art