Lucas Katangila

La veste du président

La veste du président
La veste du président

27.10 – 28.10.2022

The president's jacket is passed on from president to president as an instrument of power. It gives rulers a free pass to enrich themselves unlawfully, to exploit the population, to permit daily violence.

With his political solo The President's Jacket, Congolese dancer, choreographer and activist Lucas Katangila addresses the abuses in eastern Congo: in addition to the internal daily violence, he also condemns the role of the West in the exploitation of Congolese wealth and its people. Dressed in white, he dips his arms in a bath full of blood - blood being shed there every day.
His choreography balances between smooth, flowing movements and a very calculated, even sometimes restrained dance. Until the tension can no longer be held, the piece erupts and spits out all the violence that this wounded region has to endure.

• Lucas Katangila explicitly uses his work as a weapon to combat violence in Congo and to create attention for it in Europe. With influences from hip-hop, contemporary dance and traditional African dance, his choreographies build a bridge between Europe and Africa. In 2020, he won the Roel Verniers Prize at Theaterfestival.


presented by Mestizo Arts Platform & Kaaitheater

by & with Lucas Katangila | sound Ben Kamuntu, Pablo Mahiant | lights Remy Urbain | dramaturgy Anna Kuch

Lucas Katangila

La veste du président

La veste du président
La veste du président

27.10 – 28.10.2022

La veste du président est transmise de président en président comme un instrument de pouvoir. Elle donne carte blanche aux détenteurs du pouvoir pour s'enrichir illégalement, exploiter la population, autoriser la violence quotidienne.

Avec son solo politique La veste du président, le danseur, chorégraphe et activiste congolais Lucas Katangila s'attaque aux exactions commises dans l'est du Congo : outre les violences internes quotidiennes, il dénonce le rôle de l'Occident dans l'exploitation des richesses congolaises et de sa population. Vêtu de blanc, il plonge ses bras dans une baignoire remplie - du sang qui y est versé quotidiennement.
Sa chorégraphie oscille entre des mouvements souples et fluides et une danse très calculée, parfois même retenue. Jusqu'à ce que la tension ne puisse plus être contenue, la pièce éclate et crache toute la violence que cette région meurtrie endure.

• Lucas Katangila utilise explicitement son travail comme une arme pour contrer la violence au Congo et attirer l'attention sur elle en Europe. Avec des influences du hip-hop, de la danse contemporaine et de la danse traditionnelle africaine, ses chorégraphies jettent un pont entre l'Europe et l'Afrique. Il a remporté le prix Roel Verniers au Theaterfestival en 2020.


presented by Mestizo Arts Platform & Kaaitheater

by & with Lucas Katangila | sound Ben Kamuntu, Pablo Mahiant | lights Remy Urbain | dramaturgy Anna Kuch