Needcompany

Billy’s Violence

Billy’s Violence
Billy’s Violence

29.10 – 30.10.2021

Shakespeare is the most widely read and performed author in Western literary history. Yet many of the Bard's texts are almost unplayable because of the violence, horror, racism and misogyny. What does violence mean in art today? Why do we love to look at it? Is violence viewed differently today than in the 16th and 17th centuries?

For Billy's Violence, Victor Afung Lauwers researched ten tragedies by Shakespeare and rewrote them into violently loving, intimate dialogues in which women are central, stripped of every historical reference and anecdote. You may never have seen Shakespeare this boned and dusted. This is a Needcompany production pur sang: Maarten Seghers is responsible for the music, Jan Lauwers for the direction, set and costumes, and all of this with a cast of international and intergenerational performers.

• Needcompany is an artists' house founded in 1986 by artists Jan Lauwers and Grace Ellen Barkey. Since 2001, Maarten Seghers has also been associated with the company. This central trio of artists presents theatre, dance, performances, visual art, texts, etc. In recent years Needcompany has performed at Kaaitheater with Al het goede, Begin the Beguine and Oorlog en terpentijn.

 

‘It is a bit like Quentin Tarantino. Is it gratuitous, entertaining, or necessary or impossible? Tarantino is a choirboy compared to what Shakespeare has written in terms of brutality.’ - JAN LAUWERS


tekst Victor Afung Lauwers | muziek Maarten Seghers | regie, set, kostuums Jan Lauwers | met Nao Albet, Grace Ellen Barkey, Gonzalo Cunill, Martha Gardner, Romy Louise Lauwers, Juan Navarro, Maarten Seghers, Meron Verbelen | dramaturgie Elke Janssens, Erwin Jans | lichtontwerp Ken Hioco | techniek en productie Marjolein Demey, Ken Hioco, Tijs Michiels | assistent kostuum en props, boventiteling Nina Lopez Le Galliard | productie Needcompany | coproductie Festival Grec de Barcelona, Teatre Nacional de Catalunya, Teatro Español y Naves del Español en Matadero, Teatro Central (Sevilla), Les Salins - Scène Nationale de Martigues, Cultuurcentrum Brugge | tax shelter financiering BNP Paribas Fortis Film Finance NV/SA | gerealiseerd met de steun van de Tax Shelter van de Belgische Federale Overheid en de Vlaamse overheid

Needcompany

Billy’s Violence

Billy’s Violence
Billy’s Violence

29.10 – 30.10.2021

Shakespeare est l’auteur le plus lu et le plus joué de l’histoire de la littérature occidentale. Pourtant, de nombreux textes du barde sont quasi injouables à cause de leur violence, de leur cruauté, de leur racisme et de leur misogynie. Que signifie la violence dans l’art aujourd’hui ? Pourquoi aimons-nous tant la regarder ? La violence est-elle considérée différemment aujourd’hui qu’aux XVIe et XVIIe siècles ?

Pour Billy’s Violence, Victor Afung Lauwers s’est penché sur dix tragédies de Shakespeare et les a réécrites en dialogues intimes, violemment affectueux, dépouillés de toute référence historique et anecdotique et dans lesquels la femme occupe une place centrale. Vous n’avez peut-être jamais vu du Shakespeare aussi décortiqué et écumé. Du Needcompany pur jus : Maarten Seghers signe la musique, Jan Lauwers la mise en scène, le décor et les costumes, et le tout avec une distribution de  performeurs internationaux et intergénérationnels.

• Needcompany est une maison d’artistes fondée en 1986 par les artistes Jan Lauwers et Grace Ellen Barkey. Maarten Seghers est rejoint la compagnie en 2001. Ce trio de créateurs, noyau dur de la structure, produit du théâtre, de la danse, des performances, des arts visuels, des textes, etc. Ces dernières années, Needcompany était à l’affiche du Kaaitheater avec Al het goede, Begin the Beguines et Oorlog en terpentijn.

 

« C’est un peu comme du Quentin Tarantino : est-ce gratuit, divertissant, nécessaire ou impossible ? Cela dit, en matière de brutalités, Tarantino est un enfant de chœur comparé à tout ce qu’a écrit Shakespeare. » - JAN LAUWERS


tekst Victor Afung Lauwers | muziek Maarten Seghers | regie, set, kostuums Jan Lauwers | met Nao Albet, Grace Ellen Barkey, Gonzalo Cunill, Martha Gardner, Romy Louise Lauwers, Juan Navarro, Maarten Seghers, Meron Verbelen | dramaturgie Elke Janssens, Erwin Jans | lichtontwerp Ken Hioco | techniek en productie Marjolein Demey, Ken Hioco, Tijs Michiels | assistent kostuum en props, boventiteling Nina Lopez Le Galliard | productie Needcompany | coproductie Festival Grec de Barcelona, Teatre Nacional de Catalunya, Teatro Español y Naves del Español en Matadero, Teatro Central (Sevilla), Les Salins - Scène Nationale de Martigues, Cultuurcentrum Brugge | tax shelter financiering BNP Paribas Fortis Film Finance NV/SA | gerealiseerd met de steun van de Tax Shelter van de Belgische Federale Overheid en de Vlaamse overheid