Göksu Kunak

AN(A)KARA 

AN(A)KARA 
AN(A)KARA 

21.10.2022

Welcome to a degenerated utopia, a ticket to time travel: AN(A)KARA is a sci-fi TV variety show hosted by Gucci Chunk a.k.a. Göksu Kunak focusing on the late modernism of Turkey in relation to the city of Ankara, swaying back and forth between Orientalism and Westoxification.  

AN(A)KARA investigates the collapse and decay of an imaginary society with references to real absurdities like instruments of propaganda such as nationalist monuments and TV variety-morning shows of Turkey.  

 Göksu Kunak also explores the shift in time concepts: from kısmet, the idea that fate predetermines a person's path, to the clocked fast pace of neoliberalism and the friction in between. AN(A)KARA addresses the construction of modern societies and the losses this brings. Memories and confusions of a Muslim child appear as voices and objects speaking in the 1980s and 1990s. While the performance gives an overview of this distinctive era in recent Turkish history, Göksu Kunak simultaneously addresses the clichés and clashes about the East-and-West as well as (self-)censorship.   

 • Göksu Kunak (Ankara, 1985) a.k.a Gucci Chunk is a writer, performer, and performance maker based in Berlin. Using queer methodologies and hybrid texts, Kunak’s work points out the problematics of hetero-patriarchal structures, while exploring Orientalism, self-Orientalization, as well as Eastern masculinities and their intertwinement with state governmentality. 


presented by Kaaitheater

concept, performance, installation, costume and sound Göksu Kunak | dramaturgy Isabel Gatzke | light design Annegret Schalke | stage design Julian Weber | production Nara Virgens / Florian Greß | sound mastering Laure M. Hiendl | documentation Ethan Folk | special thanks to Mateusz Szymanówka and Övül Ö. Durmuşoğlu | with the generous support of Berlin Senate Department of Culture and Europe

Göksu Kunak

AN(A)KARA 

AN(A)KARA 
AN(A)KARA 

21.10.2022

Bienvenue dans une utopie dégénérée, un billet pour un voyage dans le temps : AN(A)KARA est une émission de variétés télévisées de science-fiction animée par Gucci Chunk alias Göksu Kunak, qui se concentre sur le modernisme tardif de la Turquie en lien avec la ville d'Ankara, oscillant entre orientalisme et occidentalisation. 

AN(A)KARA enquête sur l'effondrement et la décadence d'une société imaginaire avec des références à des absurdités réelles : des instruments de propagande tels que les monuments nationalistes et les émissions de variétés télévisées de la Turquie. 

Göksu Kunak explore également le glissement des concepts temporels : du kısmet, l'idée que le destin prédétermine la voie d'un individu, au rythme rapide du néolibéralisme et aux frictions entre les deux. AN(A)KARA traite de la construction des sociétés modernes et des pertes qu'elle engendre. Les souvenirs et les confusions d'un enfant musulman apparaissent sous forme de voix et d'objets parlant dans les années 1980 et 1990. Alors que la performance propose un aperçu de cette époque particulière de l'histoire récente de la Turquie, Göksu Kunak aborde simultanément les clichés et les conflits concernant l'Orient et l'Occident, ainsi que l'(auto)censure.  

• Göksu Kunak (Ankara, 1985) alias Gucci Chunk est un écrivain, performeur et  créateur de performances basé à Berlin. Utilisant des méthodologies queer et des textes hybrides, le travail de Kunak met en évidence la problématique des structures hétéro-patriarcales, tout en explorant l'orientalisme, l'auto-orientalisation, ainsi que les masculinités orientales et leur imbrication avec la gouvernementalité de l'État.


presented by Kaaitheater

concept, performance, installation, costume and sound Göksu Kunak | dramaturgy Isabel Gatzke | light design Annegret Schalke | stage design Julian Weber | production Nara Virgens / Florian Greß | sound mastering Laure M. Hiendl | documentation Ethan Folk | special thanks to Mateusz Szymanówka and Övül Ö. Durmuşoğlu | with the generous support of Berlin Senate Department of Culture and Europe