performance

Bixas

Arts Day for Children: Anywhere Doors (0-100y)

performance

Arts Day for Children: Anywhere Doors (0-100y)
Arts Day for Children: Anywhere Doors (0-100y)

production

Sun 19.11.17

Anywhere Doors is an interactive installation that moves through the public space. Five doors on wheels traverse the urban landscape – and evoke question about territories and borders. Feel free to open the doors, to close them, to step through them… Anywhere Doors will begin its journey in front of the 5 Blocks, as an open invitation to the children in the neighbourhood. You can accompany it to the Kaaistudios, where you will be treated to hot chocolate, waffles, and all the activities at the Arts Day!

David Weber-Krebs

The Guardians of Sleep

performance

The Guardians of Sleep
The Guardians of Sleep

production

Fri 15.12 - Sat 16.12.17

What happens exactly when we fall asleep? What is it like to be a viewer watching other people fall asleep in a theatre, to witness this most intimate act? The Guardians of Sleep is a collective attempt to withdraw in a world that is always ‘switched on’ – and where an ‘off’ button simply doesn’t seem to exist.

Gisèle Vienne

Showcase: Carte Blanche

performance music

Showcase: Carte Blanche
Showcase: Carte Blanche

production

Wed 17.01.18

Just like Meg Stuart, EUROPALIA INDONESIA gave theatre director Gisèle Vienne carte blanche to explore Indonesian culture. She immersed herself in the magical world of performative rituals full of masks and puppets.

Ictus

Liquid Room VIII: PHRASES

music performance

Liquid Room VIII: PHRASES
Liquid Room VIII: PHRASES

production

Sat 20.01.18

Each Liquid Room is a mini festival at various locations where music seeks points of convergence with other disciplines. Liquid Room VIII explores a simple hypothesis: music is not just sound! In PHRASES, the Brussels-based music ensemble Ictus brings together sound poetry, spoken word and modal music.

Meg Stuart/Damaged Goods & Jompet Kuswidananto

celestial sorrows

dance performance

celestial sorrows
celestial sorrows

production

Thu 18.01 - Wed 24.01.18

Meg Stuart and visual artist Jompet Kuswidananto went on an artistic voyage of discovery across contemporary Indonesia. Imaginary and invisible spaces – and the voices that resound within them – are the starting point for an adventurous exploration into uncharted territory.

Benoît Lachambre / Par B.L.eux

Lifeguard

dance performance

Lifeguard
Lifeguard

production

Thu 01.01 - Fri 09.02.18

Benoît Lachambre again asks you to listen to your senses and genuinely to experience the consciousness of your body. Borders between dance and movement gradually blur when a glance, a movement, or the touch of someone in the audience continues to resonate in the choreography.

Jeroen Peeters & David Weber-Krebs

On Enclosed Spaces and the Great Outdoors

performance debate

On Enclosed Spaces and the Great Outdoors
On Enclosed Spaces and the Great Outdoors

production

Sat 10.02.18

We live in an age in which human activity has a profound impact on our physical and ecological surroundings. Nevertheless, these transformations often go unseen. How can we create stories, aesthetics, and spaces of experience to deal with this situation reflexively and critically?

Samira Elagoz

Cock, Cock… Who’s There?

performance

Cock, Cock… Who’s There?
Cock, Cock… Who’s There?

production

Tue 06.03 - Wed 07.03.18

Cock, Cock… Who's There? is an unsettling and gripping report by a young woman who researches intimacy and violence. Armed with her camera, Samira Elagoz sheds light on the online manipulation of bodies, while cleverly subverting typical gender dynamics on the internet.

Helena Dietrich & Janneke Raaphorst

Elastic Habitat

installation performance

Elastic Habitat
Elastic Habitat

production

Tue 06.03 - Thu 08.03.18

Elastic Habitat is an immersive installation – you could call it a kind of playground – that invites you to explore, touch, and even carry textile sculptures. You literally inhabit an imaginary body and thus have the time to explore your own identity in an uninhibited, sensory, intuitive way.

Mette Ingvartsen

21 Pornographies

dance performance

21 Pornographies
21 Pornographies

production

Fri 09.03 - Sat 10.03.18

Based on the assumption that pornography permeates our society, Mette Ingvartsen seeks to question its mechanisms. She focuses on various characteristics of the pornographic: from its cruelty to its clinical precision and violence, but also its expressions of pleasure, excitement, and thrill.

Dolores Bouckaert

Galop

performance theatre

Galop
Galop

production

Tue 20.03 - Thu 22.03.18

Galop tells the bizarre story of the life cycle of a body in ten tableaux. Dolores Bouckaert’s co-stars in this solo are a bed, ten record players, and – via film and audio – a fast and powerful horse. The two are one another’s opposites until they become interchangeable, when the horse’ gallop coincides with the rhythm of her heartbeat.

La Piscine

performance

La Piscine
La Piscine

production

Tue 20.03 - Sat 24.03.18

La Piscine is a collective project that gathers different artistic practices and works addressed to a single spectator. Going from a walk with the eyes closed, to a conversation, to a bath, a single spectator and one of the artist will tune to each other to draw a singular path into Les Bains du Centre – at the heart of the Marolles.

Christophe Meierhans

Trial of Money

theatre performance

Trial of Money
Trial of Money

production

Wed 18.04 - Thu 19.04.18

Trial of Money does what it promises: to turn the theatre into a courtroom in which the financial system is put on trial. If ‘money rules the world’, can we not call it to account for how it uses this position of power? Consider this your invitation to become a jury member.

Fabrice Samyn

A Breath Cycle

performance

A Breath Cycle
A Breath Cycle

production

Sat 21.04 - Sun 22.04.18

The visual artist Fabrice Samyn presents five of his seven Breath Pieces, which take breathing as their starting point. To the rhythm of the breathing, a number of different actions are performed that intensify your awareness of time, while attention is focused on all that is fundamental and uncontrollable about breathing.

Jonathan Burrows, Matteo Fargion & guests

Any Table Any Room

performance

Any Table Any Room
Any Table Any Room

production

Wed 25.04 - Thu 26.04.18

Jonathan Burrows, dancer and choreographer. Matteo Fargion, musician and composer. Always the two of them… but not this time! They invite four local artists to address the subject of ‘the possibility and impossibility of community’. The ingredient? 72 clay objects created by the performers, group singing and Indian drone sounds on smartphones.

performance

David Weber-Krebs

The Guardians of Sleep

performance

The Guardians of Sleep
The Guardians of Sleep

production

ve 15.12 - sa 16.12.17

Que se passe-t-il précisément lorsqu’on s’endort ? Que peut signifier le fait de regarder d’autres s’endormir quand on est un spectateur dans une salle de théâtre et qu’on est témoin d’un acte si intime ? The Guardians of Sleep est une tentative collective de rempli dans un monde toujours en mode « allumé » – où un bouton « arrêt » ne semble tout simplement pas exister.

Stephen O'Malley & Wukir Suryadi

Showcase: Carte Blanche to Gisèle Vienne

performance musique

Showcase: Carte Blanche to Gisèle Vienne
Showcase: Carte Blanche to Gisèle Vienne

production

me 17.01.18

Gisèle Vienne a voyagé avec Stephen O’Malley, le cofondateur de Sunn O))), à Java et à Bali pour s’immerger dans le monde magique des rituels performatifs. Leur rencontre avec le musicien Wukir Suryadi, cofondateur de Senyawa, a révélé de profondes résonances. Cette soirée présente leur projet commun à travers une philosophie musicale partagée.

Ictus

Liquid Room VIII: PHRASES

musique performance

Liquid Room VIII: PHRASES
Liquid Room VIII: PHRASES

production

sa 20.01.18

Chaque Liquid Room est un mini-festival sur différents podiums lors duquel la musique cherche des points de convergence avec d’autres disciplines. La teneur de Liquid Room VIII s’appuie sur une hypothèse simple : la musique n’est pas que du son ! Dans PHRASES, l’ensemble musical bruxellois Ictus réunit la poésie sonore, le spoken word et la musique modale.

Meg Stuart/Damaged Goods & Jompet Kuswidananto

Celestial Sorrow

danse performance

Celestial Sorrow
Celestial Sorrow

production

je 18.01 - me 24.01.18

Meg Stuart et l’artiste Jompet Kuswidananto s’essaient à une exploration artistique à travers des mémoires collectives et des traumatismes fictifs. Des espaces imaginaires et invisibles – et les voix qui les font résonner – ne constituent que quelques-uns des points de départ de cette analyse aventureuse en terrain inconnu.

Meryem Jazouli

Folkah!

danse performance

Folkah!
Folkah!

production

ve 02.02 - sa 03.02.18

Folkah! est né du désir de réunir deux femmes artistes autour d’une danse ancestrale du Sahara, la « guedra ». Meryem Jazouli unit ses forces à celles de sa co-initiatrice de l’atelier de danse Espace Darja, la célèbre compositrice, productrice et chanteuse de jazz, Malika Zarra.

Youness Atbane & Youness Aboulakoul

The Architects

danse performance

The Architects
The Architects

production

je 01.02 - sa 03.02.18

Plantes, gobelets, livres, chaises, lampes – voilà ce que les employés de banque ont emporté en quittant leurs bureaux de Wall Street au sommet de la crise financière. Ces objets constituent à présent le point de départ d’un duo de danse qui met en question le lien entre objet, marché de l’art et crise. Youness Atbane et Youness Aboulakoul font voler en éclats la logique du langage, du mouvement et de l’image.

Jeroen Peeters & David Weber-Krebs

On Enclosed Spaces and the Great Outdoors

performance débat

On Enclosed Spaces and the Great Outdoors
On Enclosed Spaces and the Great Outdoors

production

sa 10.02.18

Nous vivons une époque dans laquelle l’activité humaine a un impact énorme sur notre environnement physique et écologique. Néanmoins, ces transformations se soustraient souvent à nos regards. Comment pouvons-nous créer des récits, des esthétiques et des espaces d’expérimentation pour aborder cette situation de façon réflexive et critique ?

Benoît Lachambre / Par B.L.eux

Lifeguard

danse performance

Lifeguard
Lifeguard

production

me 07.02 - ve 09.02.18

Benoît Lachambre invite à nouveau l’auditoire à écouter ses sens et à réellement ressentir la conscience de son corps. Les frontières entre danse et mouvement s’estompent lentement lorsqu’un regard, un mouvement, un frôlement d’un membre du public reste résonner dans la chorégraphie.

Samira Elagoz

Cock, Cock… Who’s There?

performance

Cock, Cock… Who’s There?
Cock, Cock… Who’s There?

production

ma 06.03 - me 07.03.18

Cock, Cock… Who’s There? est un reportage inquiétant et touchant d’une jeune femme qui analyse l’intimité et la violence. Caméra à la main, elle met en lumière la manipulation des corps en ligne tandis qu’elle intervertit de façon intelligente les rôles de la dynamique typique entre homme et femme sur Internet.

Helena Dietrich & Janneke Raaphorst

Elastic Habitat

installation performance

Elastic Habitat
Elastic Habitat

production

ma 06.03 - je 08.03.18

Elastic Habitat est une installation immersive – une sorte d’aire de jeu – qui invite à analyser, à toucher ou même à porter des sculptures en textile. On se glisse littéralement dans la peau d’un corps imaginaire et on se voit ainsi offrir le temps d’explorer sa propre identité de manière impartiale, sensorielle et intuitive.

Mette Ingvartsen

21 Pornographies

danse performance

21 Pornographies
21 Pornographies

production

ve 09.03 - sa 10.03.18

Partant de l’idée que la pornographie s’est infiltrée en profondeur dans notre société contemporaine, Mette Ingvartsen souhaite en examiner les mécanismes. Elle met en évidence différentes caractéristiques de la pornographie : de sa cruauté à sa violence en passant par son aspect clinique. Mais elle met également en lumière des éléments de plaisir, d’excitation et de charme.

Dolores Bouckaert

Galop

performance théâtre

Galop
Galop

production

ma 20.03 - je 22.03.18

Galop raconte en dix tableaux le cours bizarre de l’existence d’un corps. Les partenaires de Dolores Bouckaert sont un lit, une dizaine de tourne-disques et – à travers du son et des images filmées – un cheval rapide et vigoureux. Les deux sont des pôles opposés jusqu’à l’interversion complète, lorsque la cadence du galop coïncide avec le rythme de son pouls.

La Piscine

performance

La Piscine
La Piscine

production

ma 20.03 - sa 24.03.18

La Piscine est un projet collectif qui rassemble différentes pratiques artistiques adressées à un spectateur unique. D'une balade aux yeux fermés, à une conversation, à un bain, à une sieste avec objets et sons, le spectateur unique et un des artiste s'accorderont l'un à l'autre pour dessiner un trajet particulier dans les bains du centre, au plein coeur des Marolles.

Christophe Meierhans

Trial of Money

théâtre performance

Trial of Money
Trial of Money

production

me 18.04 - je 19.04.18

Trial of Money tient sa promesse et transforme le théâtre en prétoire où se tient le procès du système monétaire. Si « l’argent gouverne le monde », n’est-il pas légitime qu’il réponde des actes qu’il pose à partir de cette position de pouvoir ? Et par la présente, considérez-vous comme appelé à siéger en tant que membre du jury.

Fabrice Samyn

A Breath Cycle

performance

A Breath Cycle
A Breath Cycle

production

sa 21.04 - di 22.04.18

Le plasticien Fabrice Samyn présente cinq de ses sept Breath Pieces : différentes actions exécutées au rythme de la respiration, ce qui intensifie la conscience temporelle tandis que l’attention se porte sur l’aspect fondamental et incontrôlable de la respiration.