Kate McIntosh [NZ/BE]

Worktable

Worktable
Worktable

04.12 – 10.12.2016

Gently destroy

Worktable is a live installation - you’re welcome to visit for a short or a long time. The installation takes place in a series of rooms, you must sign in to enter, and you stay as long as you like. Once inside you'll get instructions, equipment and safety goggles so you can get to work. You can brutally hack to pieces or gently dismantle a teacup, umbrella, alarm clock or newspaper. There is no question of rubbish: further instructions, other spaces and other actions follow.

Worktable sets a chain in motion that makes you think about the material world around us. A subtle play of actions and memories calls into question our ceaseless urge to manufacture things. With an instruction manual under your arm – one spectator at a time – you are on your way to facing up to your own responsibility. There’s a lot of work to be done!

• The New Zealander Kate McIntosh lives in Brussels and is artist-in-residence at the Kaaitheater. With performances like Dark Matter (2009), Untried Untested (2012) and All Ears (2013) she cheerfully knocks together an oeuvre that calls into question our daily routines.


concept and realisation Kate McIntosh | production SPIN | Worktable was commissioned in the frame of the event Performance Is a Dirty Work funded by Roehampton University | with thanks to Bruno Roubicek, Hester Chillingworth, Caroline Daish, Palli Banine, Ant Hampton, Joe Kelleher, Tim Etchells, Adrian Heathfield, Simon Bayly

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme

Related content

Kate McIntosh

All Ears

performance

All Ears
All Ears

performance

Sat 28.01.17

In her successful production All Ears, Kate McIntosh transforms the stage into a laboratory and recording studio. In the silence between the sound recordings, she asks you questions: who are we when we are alone, and what are we missing in our urge for self-actualization? With disarming flair and presence, she blends theatre, variety, stand-up comedy, science and philosophy.

Kate McIntosh

In Many Hands

performance

In Many Hands
In Many Hands

performance

Fri 31.03 - Sat 01.04.17

With In Many Hands, McIntosh dives into a tactile and multi-sensory world. She invites you to test, touch, listen and smell. She turns her back on the stage and opts for a series of sensory ‘situations’ which give you free rein to experiment. Take your time to explore and follow your nose!

Kate McIntosh

Kate McIntosh
Kate McIntosh

artist

Kaaitheater artist-in-residence 2017-2021

Kate McIntosh [NZ/BE]

Worktable

Worktable
Worktable

04.12 – 10.12.2016

Fracasser avec délicatesse

Worktable est une installation que vous êtes invité à visiter brièvement ou plus longuement. L’installation occupe une série de pièces – il faut signer un registre en entrant et vous pouvez y rester aussi longtemps que vous le souhaitez. À l’intérieur, vous recevrez des instructions, des outils et des lunettes protectrices afin de vous mettre au travail. On peut fracasser brutalement ou démonter avec délicatesse une tasse à thé, un parapluie, un réveil… Il n’est toutefois pas question de laisser de déchets : d’autres instructions, d’autres espaces, d’autres actions suivent.

Worktable déclenche un enchaînement qui incite à réfléchir sur le monde matériel qui nous entoure. Un jeu subtil de gestes et de souvenirs remet en question notre pulsion incessante de production. Armé d’un mode d’emploi, on s’apprête – un spectateur à la fois – à faire face à sa propre responsabilité. Il y a du pain sur la planche !

• La Néo-Zélandaise Kate McIntosh vit à Bruxelles et est artiste en résidence au Kaaitheater. Avec des spectacles comme Dark Matter (2009), Untried Untested (2012) et All Ears (2013), elle bricole joyeusement une œuvre qui interroge nos habitudes quotidiennes.


concept and realisation Kate McIntosh | production SPIN | Worktable was commissioned in the frame of the event Performance Is a Dirty Work funded by Roehampton University | with thanks to Bruno Roubicek, Hester Chillingworth, Caroline Daish, Palli Banine, Ant Hampton, Joe Kelleher, Tim Etchells, Adrian Heathfield, Simon Bayly

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme

There's more

Kate McIntosh

All Ears

performance

All Ears
All Ears

performance

sa 28.01.17

Dans All Ears, son spectacle couronné de succès, Kate McIntosh transforme le théâtre en un laboratoire et un studio d’enregistrement. Dans le silence entre les prises de son, elle pose des questions : qui sommes-nous quand nous sommes seuls et où échouons-nous dans notre désir d’accomplissement personnel ? Avec un flair et une présence désarmants, elle marie le théâtre, la variété, la comédie stand-up, la science et la philosophie.

Kate McIntosh

In Many Hands

performance

In Many Hands
In Many Hands

performance

ve 31.03 - sa 01.04.17

Avec In Many Hands, McIntosh se plonge dans le tactile et le multisensoriel. Elle nous invite à tester, à toucher, à écouter et à sentir. Elle tourne le dos à la scène et choisit une série de « situations » sensorielles dans lesquelles on peut expérimenter à sa guise et sans réserve. Prenez votre temps pour fouiller et suivez votre flair !

Kate McIntosh

Kate McIntosh
Kate McIntosh

artiste

Kaaitheater artist-in-residence 2017-2021