Mette Edvardsen [BE/NO]

We to be

We to be
We to be

20.10 – 21.10.2017

Expand the stage

Mette Edvardsen is drastically expanding the classical stage. She is performing We to be at three locations simultaneously: in the book from which she reads aloud, on the empty stage as a projection screen of your imagination, and in the ether as a live radio broadcast. This production is the final instalment in Edvardsen’s trilogy in which language and voice predominate and visual aspects are transferred to the imaginations of the audience. In the first part, Black, she made invisible objects appear simply by naming them. In No Title, she did the inverse, by indicating what was not there.

• Choreographer, dancer and performance artist Mette Edvardsen always surprises us with refined performances. Black (2011) and No Title (2014) were previously performed at the Kaaistudios. During Performatik17, she presented oslo. And she was awarded the prestigious Norwegian Ibsen Prize for We to be.


created and performed by Mette Edvardsen | light design Bruno Pocheron | sound design Peter Lenaerts | graphic design Michaël Bussaer | production Mette Edvardsen/ Athome and Manyone vzw | co-production BUDA (Kortrijk), Black Box teater (Oslo), Teaterhuset Avant Garden (Trondheim), BIT – Teatergarasjen (Bergen) | support of workspacebrussels (Brussels), Contour (Mechelen) | support Norsk Kulturråd, Vlaamse Gemeenschap

Related content

Volmir Cordeiro

L’œil la bouche et le reste

dance

L’œil la bouche et le reste
L’œil la bouche et le reste

production

Tue 17.10 - Wed 18.10.17

After a series of solos, Volmir Cordeiro has created his first work for four dancers. He has created a dance that aims to express the physical movement and behaviour of the eye. The interior, the hidden and even the pre-human and cannibalistic is exposed in this intense, almost obsessive inquiry into dance, and into the ineffable itself.

Vera Tussing

The Palm of Your Hand II

dance

The Palm of Your Hand II
The Palm of Your Hand II

production

Fri 17.11 - Sat 18.11.17

Continuous interaction between the performers and audience is rooted in an implicit understanding. Along with your fellow audience members, you delineate the stage in an ellipsis: this is a dance of touch. Join the performers in this adventure to discover what it means to experience tactility!

Anne Juren

Anatomie

performance

Anatomie
Anatomie

production

Fri 17.11 - Sat 18.11.17

How can a mental choreography give you a sense of movement? In Anatomie, Anne Juren creates a movement score for entrails and bodily functions. While you lie on a mat with your eyes closed, she uses her voice to guide you around your body and your mind.

Mette Edvardsen [BE/NO]

We to be

We to be
We to be

20.10 – 21.10.2017

Étendre l’espace d’interprétation

Mette Edvardsen étend considérablement l’espace d’interprétation classique. Elle joue We to be dans trois lieux à la fois : le livre dont elle fait la lecture à haute voix, la scène vide qui fait office d’écran de projection de l’imagination du spectateur et les ondes radiophoniques à travers une diffusion en direct. Avec ce spectacle, Mette Edvardsen achève une trilogie dans laquelle la langue et la voix prennent le dessus et l’aspect visuel se déplace vers l’imaginaire du public. Dans Black, le premier volet, elle faisait apparaître des objets invisibles simplement en les nommant. Dans No Title, elle procédait de manière inverse en désignant ce qui n’était pas là.

• Chorégraphe, danseuse et artiste de la performance, Mette Edvardsen surprend à chaque fois avec des spectacles subtils. On a pu voir précédemment Black (2011) et No Title (2014) aux Kaaistudio’s. Durant Performatik17, elle a présenté oslo. We to be lui a valu le prestigieux prix norvégien Ibsen.

 

 


created and performed by Mette Edvardsen | light design Bruno Pocheron | sound design Peter Lenaerts | graphic design Michaël Bussaer | production Mette Edvardsen/ Athome and Manyone vzw | co-production BUDA (Kortrijk), Black Box teater (Oslo), Teaterhuset Avant Garden (Trondheim), BIT – Teatergarasjen (Bergen) | support of workspacebrussels (Brussels), Contour (Mechelen) | support Norsk Kulturråd, Vlaamse Gemeenschap

Sujets apparentés

Christoph De Boeck

À propos de son et d’imagination

talk

À propos de son et d’imagination
À propos de son et d’imagination

production

sa 21.10.17

Christophe De Boeck (directeur artistique d’Overtoon) raconte comment des aveugles perçoivent leur environnement en interprétant de subtils changements acoustiques. À l’aide d’échos minimaux naît littéralement une « image » de l’espace. De Boeck expose aussi des exemples d’espaces que des artistes ont créés en travaillant avec des sons et de l’écholocalisation. Ensuite, il engage la discussion avec Anke Van Meer et Saïd Gharbi.

Volmir Cordeiro

L’œil la bouche et le reste

danse

L’œil la bouche et le reste
L’œil la bouche et le reste

production

ma 17.10 - me 18.10.17

Après une série de solos, Volmir Cordeiro crée un premier spectacle pour quatre danseurs. Il crée une danse censée reproduire les actions et les fonctions physiques de l’œil. L’intériorité, la latence et même le pré-humain et le cannibale sont mis à nu lors de cette quête intense, quasi obsessionnelle de la danse et de l’innommé.

Vera Tussing

The Palm of Your Hand II

danse

The Palm of Your Hand II
The Palm of Your Hand II

production

ve 17.11 - sa 18.11.17

Une interaction continue entre performeurs et public s’ancre dans une connivence tacite. Avec ses co-spectateurs, on balise une surface de jeu en forme d’ellipse : une danse du frôlement. Partez donc explorer avec les performeurs ce que signifie faire l’expérience du tactile.

Anne Juren

Anatomie

performance

Anatomie
Anatomie

production

ve 17.11 - sa 18.11.17

Comment une chorégraphie mentale peut-elle procurer un sentiment de mouvement ? Dans Anatomie, Anne Juren crée une partition de mouvements pour viscères et fonctions corporelles. Alors qu’on est allongé sur un tapis, les yeux clos, sa voix nous guide à travers notre corps et notre esprit.