Yasmina Reggad

we dreamt of utopia and we woke up screaming #8

we dreamt of utopia and we woke up screaming #8
we dreamt of utopia and we woke up screaming #8

21.02 – 22.02.2020

we dreamt of utopia and we woke up screaming (2016) is a long-term research project that takes as a starting point the radio shows of the liberation movements based in Algeria in the 60s and 70s. During that time, the Algerian capital hosted national liberation movements, political exiles, rebels and disillusioned Westerners and militants from all the continents, who were forging other possible futures.

The first chapter of the project; a common consent to listen. a collective dissent of interpretation is a multimedia cumulative, ongoing and durational performance that borrows from the radio- and theatre documentary genres. A broadcasting company at times, a foreign broadcast monitoring centre at others, this first chapter explores new ways of activating the unique and little-known archive of the 'Mecca of Revolution'.

For Moussem Cities: Algiers, Yasmina Reggad creates two new versions. #8 is the eighth iteration of the ever-evolving we dreamt of utopia and we woke up screaming performance inspired by the radio documentary genre. #9 is the performative installation that re-enacts different modalities of political engagements and international solidarity through radio broadcasting from exile. The audience is invited to activate the installation and become the radio commentators of a daily live broadcast by reading a projected script inspired by militant movies from the 70s.

• Yasmina Reggad is an independent curator, writer, researcher, performer and choreographer who works between Brussels and Algiers.


concept, script & research Yasmina Reggad | performers Yasmina Reggad, solidarity choir (members TBC) | sound dramaturgy Myriam Pruvot | production Hiros | co-production Moussem | with the support of Centre national des arts plastiques (Cnap), Arab Fund for Arts and Culture, Ucross Foundation, Sundance Institute Theatre Program, the Bouzeurs Family

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme

There's more

Yasmina Reggad

we dreamt of utopia and we woke up screaming #9

installation

we dreamt of utopia and we woke up screaming #9
we dreamt of utopia and we woke up screaming #9

installation

Fri 21.02 - Sat 22.02.20

This durational installation-performance will transport the Kaaistudios to the Algiers of the 60s and 70s, when it was dubbed the Mecca of Revolution. In between broadcasting company and a foreign broadcast monitoring centre, this polyglot and polyphonic performance immerses you in its making, from conception to broadcast.

Kheireddine Lardjam

FIÈVRES

theatre

FIÈVRES
FIÈVRES

theatre

Fri 21.02 - Sat 22.02.20

FIÈVRES is the story of the small streams that coalesced to form the tempestuous torrent of the popular uprising in Algeria in February 2019. Starting from the actual events of the revolution, the author Mustafa Benfodil sketches a universal portrait of resistance and the indisputable role played in it by women.

Halim Faïdi

La Casbah d'Alger demain: problématique du devenir urbain et culturel

talk

La Casbah d'Alger demain: problématique du devenir urbain et culturel
La Casbah d'Alger demain: problématique du devenir urbain et culturel

talk

Sat 22.02.20

The architect and urban planner Halim Faïdi lives and works in Algiers. In this lecture he will explore the past and future of his city’s internationally renowned Casbah in greater depth. It is UNESCO World Heritage, but is now endangered by decay and overpopulation.

Yasmina Reggad

we dreamt of utopia and we woke up screaming #8

we dreamt of utopia and we woke up screaming #8
we dreamt of utopia and we woke up screaming #8

21.02 – 22.02.2020

we dreamt of utopia and woke up screaming (2016) est un projet de recherche à long terme qui prend pour point de départ les émissions radiophoniques des mouvements de libération basés en Algérie dans les années 60 et 70. À cette époque, la capitale algérienne accueillait des mouvements de libération nationale, des exilés politiques, des Occidentaux rebelles et désillusionnés et des militants de tous les continents qui y forgeaient d’autres avenirs possibles.

Le premier volet du projet, a common consent to listen. a collective consent of interpretation est une performance multimédia cumulative, continue et durable qui emprunte aux genres du documentaire radiophonique et du théâtre documentaire. Par moments, une société de radiodiffusion, à d’autres, un centre étranger de contrôle de diffusion, ce premier chapitre explore de nouvelles façons d’exposer et d’aviver des archives uniques et peu connues d’un temps où Alger était surnommée « La Mecque des révolutionnaires ».

Pour Moussem Cities : Alger, Yasmina Reggad crée deux nouvelles versions : #8 est la huitième itération de la performance en constante évolution we dreamt of utopia and woke up screaming inspirée du genre du documentaire radiophonique. #9 est une installation performative qui remet en scène différentes modalités d’engagements politiques et de solidarités internationales à travers la diffusion radio en exil. Le public est invité à activer l’installation et à devenir le commentateur radio d’une émission quotidienne en direct en lisant le script projeté, inspiré de films militants des années 70.

• Yasmina Reggad est commissaire d’expositions indépendante, écrivaine, chercheuse et performeuse et chorégraphe. Elle vit et travaille entre Bruxelles et Alger.


concept, script & research Yasmina Reggad | performers Yasmina Reggad, solidarity choir (members TBC) | sound dramaturgy Myriam Pruvot | production Hiros | co-production Moussem | with the support of Centre national des arts plastiques (Cnap), Arab Fund for Arts and Culture, Ucross Foundation, Sundance Institute Theatre Program, the Bouzeurs Family

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme

Sujets apparentés

Yasmina Reggad

we dreamt of utopia and we woke up screaming #9

installation

we dreamt of utopia and we woke up screaming #9
we dreamt of utopia and we woke up screaming #9

installation

ve 21.02 - sa 22.02.20

Cette installation-performance transportera les Kaaistudio’s vers l’Alger des années 60 et 70, surnommée La Mecque des révolutionnaires. Par moments, société de diffusion, à d’autres, centre de surveillance de diffusion, cette performance polyglotte et polyphonique plonge le public dans la création de l’œuvre, de sa conception à sa diffusion.

Kheireddine Lardjam

FIÈVRES

théâtre

FIÈVRES
FIÈVRES

théâtre

ve 21.02 - sa 22.02.20

FIÈVRES est l’histoire des petits ruisseaux qui ont conflué en une puissante rivière et provoqué le courant de révolte populaire de février 2019 en Algérie. À partir de l’actualité de cette révolution, l’auteur Mustapha Benfodil brosse un portrait universel de la résistance et du rôle indéniable qu’y jouent les femmes.

Halim Faïdi

La Casbah d'Alger demain: problématique du devenir urbain et culturel

talk

La Casbah d'Alger demain: problématique du devenir urbain et culturel
La Casbah d'Alger demain: problématique du devenir urbain et culturel

talk

sa 22.02.20

L’architecte et urbaniste Halim Faïdi vit et travaille à Alger. Lors de cette conférence, il se penche sur le passé et l’avenir de la célébrissime Casbah de sa ville. Bien qu’elle est figure au Patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO, elle est aujourd’hui menacé de délabrement et de surpopulation.