Nancy Naous Cie 4120.CORPS

Turning Point

Turning Point
Turning Point

25.06 – 26.06.2021

Based on interviews with dancers from the Arab world, the dance piece Turning Point questions the misunderstandings, ambiguities, stereotypes, metaphors, metamorphoses, fantasies, prejudices and imaginations linked to perceptions of dance in this region. Through movement rooted in the pelvis, manipulation of costume elements, and live electro-percussive music, Nancy Naous explores a multitude of possibilities of diversions and pretenses while questioning the spectator's gaze and challenging images rooted in our collective imagination.

• Nancy Naous is a choreographer, dancer and actress. She finds inspiration in current events and the developments in the Arab world. She studied in Beirut and Paris. Her own company is called 4120.CORPS, in an allusion to the number of kilometres between these two cities. Nancy Naous has previously presented work in the Kaaistudios, during Moussem Cities: Beirut.


concept & choreography Nancy Naous | with Nadim Bahsoun, Ali Beidoun, Nancy Naous | dramaturgy Abdullah Alkafri | scenography & costumes Bissane Al Charif | music Ali Beidoun aka. Fotonik noise | light creation & general management Alexandre Vincent | production Cie 4120.CORPS | co-production, residencies & support La DRAC – Ile-De-France , La PLATEFORME / Cie Samuel Mathieu - Toulouse, La PRATIQUE / Atelier de fabrique artistique - Vatan - Région Centre -Val de Loire, L’ETOILE DU NORD / scène conventionnée danse - Paris, Le CND / Centre nationale de la danse - Pantin / STC Super Théâtre Collectif - Paris / Compagnie Ex-Nihilo -Marseille / MOUSSEM / Nomadic Arts centre - Bruxelles / Théâtre de Privas - Ardèche / L'échangeur – CDCN Hauts-de-France (dans le cadre de « Studio Libre ») / Nouvelle scène nationale de Cergy-Pontoise

There's more

Youness Atbane

Untitled 14 KM

performance installation

Untitled 14 KM
Untitled 14 KM

performance

Wed 23.06 - Thu 24.06.21

Untitled 14 KM explores how the art world currently approaches the concept of contemporary art in its relation with identity, and specifically Arab identity. Youness Atbane examines this through an enacted dialogue between fictional characters: an Arab-Andalusian poet, a director of the museum of contemporary art, a curator, and an artist. These characters are trying to set up an exhibition that analyzes the concept of modernism.

Nancy Naous Cie 4120.CORPS

Turning Point

Turning Point
Turning Point

25.06 – 26.06.2021

Turning point est un spectacle de danse qui prend pour point de départ des interviews de danseurs du monde arabe, pour ainsi se focaliser sur les malentendus, les ambiguïtés, les stéréotypes, les métaphores, les métamorphoses, les fantasmes, les préjugés et les représentations liés à la perception de la danse dans cette région. À partir de mouvements du bassin, de costumes et de percussions électros interprétées en public, Nancy Naouss explore les possibilités de mystifications et faux-fuyants. Entre-temps, elle défie le propre regard et les images enracinées dans nos imaginaires collectifs.

• Nancy Naous est chorégraphe, danseuse et comédienne. Elle s’inspire toujours de l’actualité et des évènements dans le monde arabe. Elle a suivi une formation à Beyrouth et à Paris. Sa compagnie s’appelle 4120.CORPS, une référence au nombre de kilomètres qui séparent les deux villes qui l’ont formée. Nancy Naous a déjà présenté son travail aux Kaaistudio's, lors de Moussem Cities: Beirut.


concept & choreography Nancy Naous | with Nadim Bahsoun, Ali Beidoun, Nancy Naous | dramaturgy Abdullah Alkafri | scenography & costumes Bissane Al Charif | music Ali Beidoun aka. Fotonik noise | light creation & general management Alexandre Vincent | production Cie 4120.CORPS | co-production, residencies & support La DRAC – Ile-De-France , La PLATEFORME / Cie Samuel Mathieu - Toulouse, La PRATIQUE / Atelier de fabrique artistique - Vatan - Région Centre -Val de Loire, L’ETOILE DU NORD / scène conventionnée danse - Paris, Le CND / Centre nationale de la danse - Pantin / STC Super Théâtre Collectif - Paris / Compagnie Ex-Nihilo -Marseille / MOUSSEM / Nomadic Arts centre - Bruxelles / Théâtre de Privas - Ardèche / L'échangeur – CDCN Hauts-de-France (dans le cadre de « Studio Libre ») / Nouvelle scène nationale de Cergy-Pontoise

There's more

Youness Atbane

Untitled 14 KM

performance installation

Untitled 14 KM
Untitled 14 KM

performance

me 23.06 - je 24.06.21

Untitled 14 KM explore de quelle manière le monde artistique contemporain établit des liens entre art et identité arabe. Youness Atbane met en scène une conversation entre différents personnages fictifs : un poète arabo-andalou, un directeur de musée d’art contemporain, un commissaire d’expositions et un artiste. Ces personnages essayent de monter une exposition qui analyse « le modernisme » par le biais d’écrits poétiques de l’époque d’al-Andalus et de quelques œuvres d’artistes arabes contemporains.