Christophe Meierhans [DE/BE]

Trials of Money

Trials of Money
Trials of Money

14.11 – 15.11.2019

‘Money rules the world,’ it is sometimes said. Is money responsible for what has happened in the world under its governance? Can we call it to account for the horrifying situations in which many people find themselves today? These are the questions addressed by Trials of Money. Based on interviews with a range of different people – a psychologist, an ex-banker, a homeless person, a rich philanthropist… – the production presents nine characters. Christophe Meierhans invites you to join him in an investigation of what money is and does. Does money exist solely to serve humanity? Or are there other ways of looking at our relationship with this system of exchange we have invented for ourselves?

• Christophe Meierhans has made a big impression over the past few years with Some Use for Your Broken Clay Pots and A Hundred Wars to World Peace productions of which the endings are always determined by the audience. Last season, he premiered Trials of Money, in which he literally took money to court. He is now presenting a revised solo version, meant for the theatre as well as for classes of economics, conferences, company board meetings, etcetera. Meierhans is an artist-in-residence at Kaaitheater from 2017 until 2021.


concept & realisation Christophe Meierhans | performance Christophe Meierhans, Luca Mattei | with the collaboration of Shila Anaraki, Jochen Dehn, Adva Zakai | dramaturgy Bart Capelle | original scenography Decoratelier Jozef Wouters | light saber microphones Alexis Pawlak, Gaia Carabillo | costumes Sofie Durnez, Valerie Le Roy | monetary advice Olivier Auber | production HIROS, Elisa Demarré | co-production Kaaitheater, AUAwirleben, BIT Teatergarasjen, BUDA, FAR°, Nouveau Théâtre de Montreuil, Teatro Maria Matos, Vooruit, ZonaK | with the support of Vlaamse Gemeenschap, ProHelvetia

Christophe Meierhans [DE/BE]

Trials of Money

Trials of Money
Trials of Money

14.11 – 15.11.2019

« L’argent dirige le monde », entend-on parfois dire. S'il est vrai que l'argent gouverne le monde, ne pourrait-on pas alors lui demander de rendre des comptes sur la misère qui sévit toujours dans le monde aujourd’hui ? Ces questions sont posées lors des Trials of Money. Basé sur des interviews d’un éventail de personnes différentes – un psychologue, un ancien banquier, un sans-abri, un milliardaire philanthrope… –, le spectacle met neuf personnes en scène. Christophe Meierhans nous invite à contribuer à l’enquête de ce qu’est et ce que fait précisément l’argent. Est-il uniquement au service des êtres humains ? Ou existe-t-il d’autres manières d’envisager notre relation avec ce moyen d’échange que nous avons nous-mêmes inventé ?

• Christophe Meierhans a fait forte impression ces dernières années avec Some Use for Your Broken Clay Pots et A Hundred Wars to World Peace des spectacles dont le dénouement est résolument entre les mains du public. La saison passée, il a présenté une première de Trials of Money, à présent, il propose une version retravaillée en solo, pensée autant pour le théâtre que pour d'autres contextes tels qu'un cours d'économie, une conférence, une réunion d'employés d'une entreprise… Meierhans est artiste en résidence au Kaaitheater de 2017 à 2021.


concept & realisation Christophe Meierhans | performance Christophe Meierhans, Luca Mattei | with the collaboration of Shila Anaraki, Jochen Dehn, Adva Zakai | dramaturgy Bart Capelle | original scenography Decoratelier Jozef Wouters | light saber microphones Alexis Pawlak, Gaia Carabillo | costumes Sofie Durnez, Valerie Le Roy | monetary advice Olivier Auber | production HIROS, Elisa Demarré | co-production Kaaitheater, AUAwirleben, BIT Teatergarasjen, FAR°, Next Festival, Nouveau Théâtre de Montreuil, Teatro Maria Matos, Vooruit, ZonaK | with the support of Vlaamse Gemeenschap, ProHelvetia