Wiels contemporary art centre

The Other Tradition

The Other Tradition
The Other Tradition

25.02 – 05.03.2011

An other tradition

Wiels brings together a young generation of artists who use a situation, event or action as their central medium. They bring us live actions, or involve actors to enact their instructions or in some way record their actions for the exhibition. Is it a new genre? Terms such as “participatory art” or “performance,” are not appropriate to describe their work. They do not so much examine what a work of art represents as what it is and does when it is being made or when it encounters visitors in an exhibition. In this investigation, the artists use the tactics of public protest, dance, esotericism, social work, storytelling and so on.
  
Jiří Skála tries to persuade two strangers to spend the entire duration of the exhibition learning to copy each other’s handwriting. Sharon Hayes stages outmoded demonstrations in different cities. Pili Takala accepts an office job and goes to the office every day, but deliberately does not work. Tino Sehgal engages a museum attendant to spontaneously recite the day’s newspaper headline to visitors at the ticket desk. These are just a few of some of the diverse projects featured in the exhibition. Each artist actively rethinks the traditional function of art and how it engages with its subject and its public.
  
Unannounced events and actions, artefacts, documents, installations, films, props and other objects, these are the artists’ contribution to this experimental exhibition, which tries to identify what an other tradition of art might be.

Participating artists (a.o.):

• Danai Anesiadou (1973, GR/BE; lives in Brussels)
• Ei Arakawa (1977, JP; lives in New York) in collaboration with Silke Otto-Knapp (1970, DE, lives in London)
Cezary Bodzianowski (1968, PL; lives in Łódź)


Sung Hwan Kim (1975, KR; lives in New York)
Sharon Hayes (1970, US; lives in New York)
Roman Ondák (1966, SK; lives in Bratislava)
Jimmy Robert (1975, GP; lives in Brussels)
Kateřina Šedá (1979, CZ; lives in Praag)
Tino Sehgal (1976, UK/DE; lives in Berljn)
Jiří Skála (1976, CZ; lives in Praag)
Pilvi Takala (1981, FI; lives in Amsterdam)
Tris Vonna-Michell (1982, UK; lives in Stockholm)

Wiels contemporary art centre

The Other Tradition

The Other Tradition
The Other Tradition

25.02 – 05.03.2011

Une autre tradition

Wiels réunit une génération de jeunes artistes qui se servent de situations, d’événements et d’actions comme média principal. Ils présentent des actions en direct, les font accomplir pas des acteurs, ou en présentent des prises de vues. S’agit-il d’un genre nouveau ? Les termes existants d’« art participatif » ou de « performance » ne sont pas appropriés pour décrire leur pratique. Ils n’analysent pas tant ce qu’une œuvre d’art représente que ce qu’elle est et fait lorsqu’elle est réalisée ou exposée et contemplée. Pour cette recherche, ils font usage de tactiques empruntées aux actions de revendication, à la danse, l’ésotérisme, le travail social, l’art de la narration…
  
Jiří Skála tente d’obtenir de la part de deux étrangers qu’ils apprennent à imiter leur écriture réciproque durant toute la durée de l’exposition. Sharon Hayes reconstitue d’anciennes manifestations dans différentes villes. Pili Takala accepte un emploi dans un bureau, s’y rend quotidiennement, mais n’y fait strictement rien. Tino Sehgal demande à un gardien du musée de réciter chaque jour les titres du journal aux visiteurs qui font la queue à la billetterie. Voilà juste quelques exemples de projets de cette exposition. Ces artistes réinventent le mode opératoire traditionnel de l’art et la façon dont l’art se rapporte à son sujet et à son public.
  
Au moyen d’événements non annoncés et d’actions, d’artefacts, de documents, d’installations, de films, d’accessoires et autres objets, les artistes prennent part à cette exposition expérimentale qui tente de faire un tour d’horizon de ce que pourrait être une autre tradition de l’art.

Participating artists (a.o.):

• Danai Anesiadou (1973, GR/BE; lives in Brussels)
• Ei Arakawa (1977, JP; lives in New York) in collaboration with Silke Otto-Knapp (1970, DE, lives in London)
Cezary Bodzianowski (1968, PL; lives in Łódź)


Sung Hwan Kim (1975, KR; lives in New York)
Sharon Hayes (1970, US; lives in New York)
Roman Ondák (1966, SK; lives in Bratislava)
Jimmy Robert (1975, GP; lives in Brussels)
Kateřina Šedá (1979, CZ; lives in Praag)
Tino Sehgal (1976, UK/DE; lives in Berljn)
Jiří Skála (1976, CZ; lives in Praag)
Pilvi Takala (1981, FI; lives in Amsterdam)
Tris Vonna-Michell (1982, UK; lives in Stockholm)