Jan Lauwers & Needcompany [Brussels]

The Lobster Shop - try out

The Lobster Shop - try out
The Lobster Shop - try out

29.06.2006

With Isabella’s Room, Needcompany scored an international hit; this summer will see the first night of the company’s new piece, The Lobster Shop, at Avignon. You can see it at the Kaaitheater next season, but there will also be try-outs before the summer.

The Lobster Shop tells the story of Axel and Theresa. Their son dies in a stupid accident. Their grief destroys everything and when it appears that no therapy is able to help and his wife also leaves him, Axel decides to commit suicide. On the day he has chosen he puts on his best suit and, as a form of farewell, goes to eat lobster just one more time at his favourite restaurant, ‘The Lobster Shop’

The Lobster Shop combines major and minor tragedies, realistic and surrealistic situations, reality and fiction.


texte, mise en scène Jan Lauwers
avec Hans Petter Dahl, Grace Ellen Barkey, Tijen Lawton, Anneke Bonnema, Benoît Gob, Inge Van Bruystegem, Julien Faure, Maarten Seghers
musique Hans Petter Dahl, Maarten Seghers
production Needcompany
coproduction Festival d’Avignon, Théâtre de la Ville (Paris), Théâtre Garonne (Toulouse), Pact Zollverein (Essen), Cankarjev Dom (Ljubljana), La Rose des Vents (Scène Nationale de Villeneuve d’Ascq), Festival Octobre en Normandie (Rouen), La Filature (Mulhouse), Kaaitheater (Bruxelles), deSingel (Anvers)

Jan Lauwers & Needcompany [Brussels]

The Lobster Shop - try out

The Lobster Shop - try out
The Lobster Shop - try out

29.06.2006

Avec La Chambre d’Isabella, Needcompany a remporté un franc succès international. Cet été, au festival d’Avignon, aura lieu la première de leur nouveau spectacle : Le Bazar du Homard, qui sera à l’affiche du Kaaitheater la saison prochaine, mais aux répétitions publiques duquel vous pouvez d’ores et déjà assister.

Le Bazar du Homard raconte l’histoire d’Axel et de Theresa. Leur fils meurt à la suite d’un incident stupide. Le chagrin est dévastateur et lorsque toute thérapie se révèle inefficace et que sa femme le quitte, Axel décide de se suicider. Au jour prévu, il met son plus beau complet et en guise d’adieu, il va une dernière fois manger du homard dans son restaurant préféré : Le Bazar du Homard.

Le Bazar du Homard réunit petites et grandes tragédies, situations réalistes et surréalistes, réalité et fiction.


texte, mise en scène Jan Lauwers
avec Hans Petter Dahl, Grace Ellen Barkey, Tijen Lawton, Anneke Bonnema, Benoît Gob, Inge Van Bruystegem, Julien Faure, Maarten Seghers
musique Hans Petter Dahl, Maarten Seghers
production Needcompany
coproduction Festival d’Avignon, Théâtre de la Ville (Paris), Théâtre Garonne (Toulouse), Pact Zollverein (Essen), Cankarjev Dom (Ljubljana), La Rose des Vents (Scène Nationale de Villeneuve d’Ascq), Festival Octobre en Normandie (Rouen), La Filature (Mulhouse), Kaaitheater (Bruxelles), deSingel (Anvers)