Space

The Cloud

27.11 – 28.11.2010

A guided tour of the past of the future

Welcome to the ‘Open-Air Museum to commemorate 2010’. It is now 2060 and we are commemorating 2010, when mankind managed to avert the Catastrophe thanks to The Cloud, an electronic neuro-network which views, regulates and harmonises the wishes of all the people living on earth. Now, fifty years after the Turning Point, we are celebrating our utopian present by remembering what the world was then. While The Cloud – voiced by Viviane de Muynck – tells you about 2010, you will also learn about 2060. The Cloud solves logistic problems such as the fair distribution of food, goods and welfare. Free of these cares, man now lives in small communities where meeting people in real time plays a central role.

• Space takes you on a guided tour of the past of the future. We look at the world in 2010 through the eyes of someone in 2060. This makes you think about life today. Space plays with the boundaries separating theatre and reality. The group describes its performances as ‘keyhole operations’: theatrical documentaries in which fiction is used to expose reality. Last season we presented their Holland Tsunami.


with Li Yang, Petra Ardai, Luc van Loo |voice The Cloud: Viviane de Muynck | director Petra Ardai | text Eszter Babarczy (Cloud), Petra Ardai, Veress Anna, Bálint Solymosi | music & sound Samu Gryllus, Luc van Loo | production Space, Workshop Foundation | support NFPK+, Amsterdams Fonds voor de Kunst, SNS Reaal Fonds, European Cultural Foundation, NORMA foundation, Dutch Embassy Budapest, Kaaitheater, Forum Freies Theater Düsseldorf, National Cultural Funds Budapest, De Brakke Grond Amsterdam, Krétakör, Artus & SíN Budapest, Vlaams-Nederlands Huis deBuren | co-presentation Beursschouwburg, deBuren

Space

The Cloud

The Cloud
The Cloud

27.11 – 28.11.2010

Une visite guidée du passé de l’avenir 

Bienvenus au ‘Musée en plein air, fondé à la mémoire de 2010’. En cette année 2060, nous commémorons 2010, où l’humanité a pu inverser la Catastrophe, grâce à The Cloud, un réseau neuronal électronique qui peut saisir, réguler et harmoniser tous les désirs des sept milliards d’humains. Aujourd’hui, cinquante ans après le Tournant, nous célébrons notre présent utopique en nous souvenant du monde d’avant la Décision. The Cloud – la voix de Viviane de Muynck – nous parle de 2010 et ainsi nous découvrons le monde de 2060. The Cloud règle la distribution équitable de nourriture, de biens et de prospérité. L’être humain, délivré de ces soucis, vit dans de petites communautés qui s’articulent autour des rencontres humaines « en temps réel ».

• Space vous propose une visite guidée du passé de l’avenir : nous observons le monde de 2010 à travers le regard d’une personne vivant en 2060. Cela donne à réfléchir sur la vie d’aujourd’hui. Space joue avec les limites du théâtre et de la réalité. Le groupe décrit ses spectacles comme des « opérations d’observation » : des documentaires théâtraux mettant à nu fiction et réalité. La saison passée nous avons présenté leur Holland Tsunami.


with Li Yang, Petra Ardai, Luc van Loo |voice The Cloud: Viviane de Muynck | director Petra Ardai | text Eszter Babarczy (Cloud), Petra Ardai, Veress Anna, Bálint Solymosi | music & sound Samu Gryllus, Luc van Loo | production Space, Workshop Foundation | support NFPK+, Amsterdams Fonds voor de Kunst, SNS Reaal Fonds, European Cultural Foundation, NORMA foundation, Dutch Embassy Budapest, Kaaitheater, Forum Freies Theater Düsseldorf, National Cultural Funds Budapest, De Brakke Grond Amsterdam, Krétakör, Artus & SíN Budapest, Vlaams-Nederlands Huis deBuren | co-presentation Beursschouwburg, deBuren