Anne Collod / Anna Halprin [FR, US]

The Blank Placard Dance, replay

The Blank Placard Dance, replay
The Blank Placard Dance, replay

13.10.2018

A day before the municipal elections, a parade of people dressed in white marches through Brussels, accompanied by a brass band. They wear white placards with no slogans. American choreographer Anna Halprin created Blank Placard Dance in 1967 as a protest against the Vietnam War. ‘What are you protesting against?’, passers-by would ask the dancers. ‘What do you want to protest against?’ they would throw the question back at them.

Anne Collod recreates this performance with participants from Brussels. She thus explores Halprin’s utopian thought around protest and collectivism in today’s context: what is the importance of collectivism in a radically individualist age?

• In 2008, French choreographer Anne Collod came to Kaaitheater with parades & changes, replays, an adaptation of the legendary 1965 piece by Anna Halprin. In 2015, she presented The Parliament of the Invisibles here, another contemporary interpretation of a historical dance, the ‘danse macabre’ or dance of death.


created by association ... & altersen | in collaboration with La Magnanerie | based on Blank Placard Dance (1967) by Anna Halprin | artistic direction & recreation Anne Collod | artistic collaboration Cécile Proust 

There's more

Choreographer Anne Collod is looking for participants for a performance in public space

Choreographer Anne Collod is looking for participants for a performance in public space
Choreographer Anne Collod is looking for participants for a performance in public space

article

Wed 05.09.18

American choreographer Anna Halprin created Blank Placard Dance in 1967 as a protest against the Vietnam War. ‘What are you protesting against?’, passers-by would ask the dancers. ‘What do you want to protest against?’ they would throw the question back at them. In an age in which individualism is rife, French choreographer Anne Collod is recreating this performance with participants from Brussels. Are you one of them?

Anne Collod / Anna Halprin [FR, US]

The Blank Placard Dance, replay

The Blank Placard Dance, replay
The Blank Placard Dance, replay

13.10.2018

La veille des élections communales, un cortège de gens habillés en blanc accompagné d’une fanfare parcourent Bruxelles. Les manifestants portent des pancartes blanches, sans slogans. En 1967, la chorégraphe états-unienne Anna Halprin a créé Blank Placard Dance pour protester contre la guerre du Vietnam. « Contre quoi manifestez-vous ? », leur demandaient les passants. « Contre quoi voulez-vous manifester ? », leur répondaient les danseurs.

Anne Collod recrée cette performance avec des participants bruxellois. Elle met ainsi à l’épreuve du temps présent la pensée utopique de Halprin autour de la contestation et de la collectivité : quelle est l’importance du collectif à une époque où l’individualisme règne en maître ?

• En 2008, la chorégraphe française Anne Collod était l’hôte du Kaaitheater avec parades & changes, replays, une adaptation de la pièce légendaire d’Anna Halprin de 1965. En 2015, The Parliament of the Invisibles nous proposait à nouveau une interprétation contemporaine d’une chorégraphie historique : la danse macabre.


created by association ... & altersen | in collaboration with La Magnanerie | based on Blank Placard Dance (1967) by Anna Halprin | artistic direction & recreation Anne Collod | artistic collaboration Cécile Proust 

Sujets apparentés

La chorégraphe Anne Collod cherche des figurants pour une performance dans l’espace public

La chorégraphe Anne Collod cherche des figurants pour une performance dans l’espace public
La chorégraphe Anne Collod cherche des figurants pour une performance dans l’espace public

article

me 05.09.18

En 1967, la chorégraphe états-unienne Anna Halprin a créé Blank Placard Dance pour protester contre la guerre du Vietnam. « Contre quoi manifestez-vous ? », leur demandaient les passants. « Contre quoi voulez-vous manifester ? », leur répondaient les danseurs. En ces temps de triomphe de l’individualisme, la chorégraphe française Anne Collod recrée cette performance avec des participants bruxellois. Aimeriez-vous être l’un(e) d’entre eux ?