Adrienne Altenhaus & Anat Ben-David [Antwerp/London/New York]

Tearing off a piece

18.02 – 20.02.2009

Fresh and juicy, sexy and funny

The American feminist and writer Valerie Solanas (1936-1988) is best known for having shot Andy Warhol in 1968 (he survived). One might consider her SCUM Manifesto as a man-hating, radical-feminist rant, but in an interview with The Village Voice she herself described it as ‘a literary device’.

Written with passion and wit, this brilliant work is a comment on our society and raises questions on social issues, capitalism, the class system, art, science and much more. ‘It’s all fresh and juicy, sexy and funny,’ say the choreographer and theatre-maker Adrienne Altenhaus and the musician and performance artist Anat Ben-David (of Chicks on Speed). They are having a ball with it, and if you want a piece, come and and tear off a piece!

Each evening there will be a free film before the performance:

18/02/2009, 19:00: Isidore Isou, Traité de bave et d’éternité
1951, 120 min., In French, subtitled in English

In 1945 the Romanian Isidore Isou moved to Paris and there immediately set up the ‘lettriste’ movement. ‘Lettrisme’ went wild with poetry and other art forms so as to create a new idiom. Traité de bave et d’eternité is their cinematographic manifesto. Isou smuggled the film into the programme at the Cannes film festival and thereby caused quite an upset, more so because he considered the film a ‘revolution against the cinema’, with deliberately unsynchronised sound and images and film that was scratched or treated with bleach. Nowadays the film is considered a major pivotal work that inspired both the Nouvelle Vague and American experimental film-makers. They unhesitatingly call him one of the most important film-makers ever.

19/02/2009, 20:00: John Bock, Inside Beyond
2007, 47 min., in German, subtitled in English

The German artist John Bock is internationally renowned for spectacular comic-grotesque performances in which he combines theatre, lectures, video, installation and sculpture in a unique manner. In parallel with these performances, he has also made short, rapidly edited video works which have recently increasingly evolved into longer films with a narrative structure that use actors and sets. Whatever else may be the case, these films remain part of the John Bock world: a colourful, enigmatic and absurd one that evade any rational interpretation. Inside Beyond is a defining example of his later work. Bock describes this film as an eight-part chaotic psychodrama involving two women. Both his performances and his films are set in a highly individual and singular world full of biographical, artistic and scientific references.
With: Jytte-Merle Böhrusen, Anne Tismer, John Bock

Adrienne Altenhaus & Anat Ben-David [Antwerp/London/New York]

Tearing off a piece

Tearing off a piece
Tearing off a piece

18.02 – 20.02.2009

Frais, savoureux, drôle et sexy

La féministe et auteure états-unienne Valerie Solanas (1936-1988) est surtout célèbre pour avoir tiré sur Andy Warhol en 1968 (Warhol a survécu à l’attentat). Son SCUM Manifesto peut être relégué au rang de pamphlet féministe radical, pompier et profondément misandre, mais dans une interview accordée à The Village Voice, elle en parle comme d’un « procédé littéraire ».

Écrit avec passion et esprit, ce texte brillant commente notre société et soulève des questions touchant à des problèmes sociaux, au capitalisme, au système de classes, à l’art, à la science et à tant d’autres choses. « C’est frais, savoureux, croustillant, drôle et sexy. », affirment la chorégraphe et créatrice de théâtre Adrienne Altenhaus et la musicienne et artiste de performances Anat Ben-David (Chicks on Speed). Elles célèbrent le texte ; le fêter avec elles est leur message.

Les deux soirs, le spectacle est précédé d’un programme cinématographique gratuit :

18/02/2009, 19:00: Isidore Isou, Traité de bave et d’éternité
1951, 120 min., en français, soustitré en anglais

Le Romain Isidore Isou a déménagé à Paris en 1945, où il a d’emblée fondé le mouvement du « lettrisme », qui s’est démené avec fougue pour créer un nouveau langage à l’aide de la poésie et d’autres expressions artistiques. Leur manifeste cinématographique s’intitule Traité de bave et d’éternité. Isou a présenté le film en marge du Festival de Cannes en 1951, provoquant le scandale, d’autant plus qu’il considérait ce film comme « une révolution contre le cinéma » et qu’il avait, à dessein, désynchronisé le son et l’image, griffé la pellicule ou passé celle-ci à l’eau de javel. Aujourd’hui, Traité de bave et d’éternité est considéré comme un film charnière important qui a inspiré tant les cinéastes de la Nouvelle Vague que les cinéastes expérimentaux états-uniens. Ceux-ci n’ont pas hésité à désigner Isou comme l’un des cinéastes les plus importants de l’histoire du cinéma.

19/02/2009, 20:00: John Bock, Inside Beyond
2007, 47 min., en allemand, sous-titré en anglais

L’artiste allemand John Bock jouit d’une renommée internationale pour ses performances spectaculaires, comiques et grotesques, dans lesquelles il conjugue de façon exceptionnelle le théâtre, la conférence, la vidéo, l’installation et la sculpture. Parallèlement à ces performances, il réalise des œuvres en vidéo, courtes et montées rapidement, qui évoluent de plus en plus vers de longs films narratifs et structurés, avec acteurs et décor. Mais quoi qu’il fasse, ces films demeurent propres à l’univers de John Bock : chamarré, énigmatique et absurde. Toute interprétation rationnelle serait vaine. Inside Beyond est un exemple probant de son œuvre plus tardive. Bock qualifie le film de psychodrame chaotique entre deux femmes, découpé en huit parties. Tant ses performances que ses films baignent dans un univers singulier, émaillé de références biographiques, artistiques et scientifiques.
Avec : Jytte-Merle Böhrusen, Anne Tismer, John Bock