Enkidu Khaled & Joachim Robbrecht

TANK TINK / ONE

TANK TINK / ONE
TANK TINK / ONE

15.10.2022

Enkidu Khaled and Joachim Robbrecht will close the evening at Ecopolis with the premiere of TANK TINK / ONE.

The impact and disastrous consequences of war remain a painful and often underexposed topic in the debate on global warming. Access to raw materials is often the root cause of conflict and ecological warfare, such as the draining of rivers, is increasingly used as an instrument of violence. Military exercises and operations waste enormous amounts of energy and leave behind hallucinatory amounts of debris.

It is both cynical and ironic but some exercise areas and war zones are so polluted that no one is allowed to enter them. They are instead declared nature zones where nature is given free rein and can heal. The war in Ukraine also puts violence forcing governments to strive to make our energy sources more sustainable on the agenda.

Enkidu Khaled and Joachim Robbrecht will close the evening at Ecopolis with the premiere of TANK TINK / ONE. They have hijacked the format of the 'creative think tank' from its original military context. Along with artists, journalists and activists from different corners of the world, they examine the relationship between warfare and environmental crises in a hybrid and polyphonic lecture-performance.

• Theatremakers and performers Enkidu Khaled and Joachim Robbrecht have previously performed at the Kaaitheater with God 99-Bar by Bar, Night by Night, Story by Story, onward. (2021)


concept Enkidu Khaled en Joachim Robbrecht | van en met Sara Dziri, Chris Keulemans, Anika Schwarzlose, Caroline Ngorobi, Ogutu Muraya en Joachim Robbrecht, Enkidu Khaled | productie Kunstenwerkplaats, VGC | coproductie Kaaitheater, Theater Rotterdam, Monty

There's more

Ecopolis 2022

Multiple (hi)stories, Multiple futures

colloquium debate conversation

Multiple (hi)stories, Multiple futures
Multiple (hi)stories, Multiple futures
Sat 15.10.22

Social, ecological and economic crises force us to think about a radically different way of living. "The world is not about to end; we are already living with a different world," writes philosopher Bayo Akomolafe, speaker at the eighth edition of Ecopolis where artists, thinkers and doers break open our frames. This year, Ecopolis brings stories that depict an inclusive and sustainable future for this new world.

Enkidu Khaled & Joachim Robbrecht

TANK TINK / ONE

TANK TINK / ONE
TANK TINK / ONE

15.10.2022

Pendant Ecopolis, Enkidu Khaled et Joachim Robbrecht clôtureront la soirée avec la première de TANK TINK / ONE.

L'impact et les conséquences désastreuses de la guerre demeurent un sujet douloureux, souvent sous-exposé, dans le débat sur le réchauffement climatique. L'accès aux ressources est souvent au coeur des conflits et la guerre écologique, comme l'assèchement des rivières, est de plus en plus utilisée comme un instrument de violence. Les exercices et opérations militaires gaspillent d'énormes quantités d'énergie et laissent derrière eux des quantités hallucinantes de débris.

Cyniquement-ironiquement, certaines zones d'exercice et de guerre sont tellement polluées qu'aucun être humain n'est autorisé à y pénétrer. Elles sont déclarées zones naturelles, où la nature y est laissée à l’état sauvage et peut guérir. La guerre en Ukraine montre en outre clairement comment,en raison de la violence, les gouvernements se voient contraints de tenter de rendre nos sources d'énergie plus durables.

Pendant Ecopolis, Enkidu Khaled et Joachim Robbrecht clôtureront la soirée avec la première de TANK TINK / ONE. Ils détournent le format du "groupe de réflexion créatif" de son contexte militaire initial. Avec des artistes, des journalistes et des activistes de différents coins du monde, ils étudient la relation entre la guerre et les crises environnementales dans une lecture-performance hybride et polyphonique.

• Les metteurs en scène et performeurs Enkidu Khaled et Joachim Robbrecht ont auparavant déjà été présents au Kaaitheater avec notamment God 99 - Bar by Bar, Night by Night, Story by Story, onwards!


concept Enkidu Khaled en Joachim Robbrecht | van en met Sara Dziri, Chris Keulemans, Anika Schwarzlose, Caroline Ngorobi, Ogutu Muraya en Joachim Robbrecht, Enkidu Khaled | productie Kunstenwerkplaats, VGC | coproductie Kaaitheater, Theater Rotterdam, Monty

There's more

Ecopolis 2022

Multiple (hi)stories, Multiple futures

colloque débat conversation

Multiple (hi)stories, Multiple futures
Multiple (hi)stories, Multiple futures
sa 15.10.22

Les crises sociales, écologiques et économiques nous forcent à réfléchir à un mode de vie radicalement différent. "La fin du monde n'est pas imminente ; nous vivons déjà dans un monde différent", écrit le philosophe Bayo M. Akomolafe, intervenant à la huitième édition d'Ecopolis, où des artistes, des penseur·euses et des créateur·ices brisent nos cadres. Cette année, Ecopolis propose des histoires qui dépeignent un avenir inclusif et durable pour ce nouveau monde.