Alexandr Petlura [Moscow]

Street of Truth. Living installations

Street of Truth. Living installations
Street of Truth. Living installations

30.11 – 01.12.2005

Aleksandr Petlura (Moscow)
Street of Truth: Living Installations

My name is Aleksandr Petlura. I am collector of symbols of eras. I collect objects made by human subjects and focus on the study of human activity using trash. The idea of interpreting trash as an indicator of a country’s culture came to me 30 years ago. My collection now consists of approximately 25,000 pieces. Most of it was found in trash piles, municipal dumps and abandoned houses. The rest comes from flea markets or was donated.

The objects that arrive in my laboratory are examined in three phases. The first consists of scientific research. In the second, I use the objects in stationary expositions. In the third phase, they become a part of theatrical activity. The artistic movement in which I work is called “new symbolism”. My method consists of transforming the energy from the previous owner of the object, as well as injecting my own energy and fantasy. Here the circumstances in which the object was found play an important role. Thus, my stylistic compositions belong to real history as well as to my subjective opinion concerning this history.

Chronological and historical events do not constitute my most important task. What is important, is demonstrating the evolution of the materials; the influence of the country's major political and economic phenomenon on light industry; the emergence of individualism from the masses; and finally the sophisticated suppression of mass consciousness in the context of day-to-day life.

After combining the three phases of my work (scientific research, stationary installations and theatrical activities,) into one, I created a new project called “Street of Truth: Living Installations”. This is the history of my country in pictures, from the beginning of the century until today. As if characters from historical paintings, photos and films step out from these and the statues in the stops of the Moscow metro come to life. You will also see the clothing of town idiots. Everything you will see in this project represents the truth!

The truth lies in the fact that you will hear the real sounds of Russian songbirds, speeches by Lenin and Stalin, discussions on the street, sounds of battles, as well as the most popular and beloved songs of the soviet people from various years.

The truth lies in the fact that all of the day-to-day clothing, footwear, accessories and objects you will see were manufactured in factories and sewed to order on the territory of the former Soviet Union and Russia.

The truth lies in the fact that the actors were collected on location, in order to preserve a naive style—everyone who wants to, can become an actor.

PS: For a short while, I will make you favourably disposed to everyday things, tell you about Russian culture and teach you how to drink vodka.

 


en collaboration avec Europalia Russie

Alexandr Petlura [Moscow]

Street of Truth. Living installations

Street of Truth. Living installations
Street of Truth. Living installations

30.11 – 01.12.2005

Je m’appelle Aleksandr Petlura. Je collectionne des symboles d’époques. Je collectionne des objets fabriqués par des sujets et j’examine l’activité humaine à l’aide des immondices humaines. Il y a trente ans, j’ai eu l’idée que la culture d’un pays pouvait être interprétée à l’aune des ordures de ce pays. Aujourd’hui, ma collection compte plus ou moins 25.000 pièces. J’ai trouvé la plus grande partie sur des tas d’ordures, dans des dépotoirs urbains et des maisons abandonnées. Le reste vient des marchés aux puces et certaines pièces m’ont été offertes.

Les objets qui atterrissent dans mon laboratoire parcourent trois étapes. La première est celle de l’examen scientifique. En un deuxième temps, j’utilise ces objets dans des expositions stationnaires. Au troisième stade, ils font partie d’une action théâtrale. Le courant artistique dans lequel je me situe s’appelle « le nouveau symbolisme ». Ma méthode consiste à transformer l’énergie de l’ancien propriétaire d’un objet, ainsi que ma propre énergie et fantaisie. Les conditions dans lesquelles j’ai trouvé un objet jouent un rôle important dans ce processus. Mes compositions stylistiques appartiennent donc autant à l’histoire réelle qu’à mon opinion subjective sur cette histoire.

Les faits chronologiques et historiques ne constituent pas ma mission primordiale. Par contre, je veux montrer l’évolution des matériaux, l’influence des grands phénomènes politiques et économiques d’un pays sur l’industrie légère, l’apparition de l’individualisme naissant de la masse et enfin l’oppression astucieuse de la conscience de masse dans le contexte de la vie au jour le jour.

Après l’unification des trois phases de mon travail (examen scientifique, installations stationnaires et actions théâtrales), j’ai créé un nouveau projet intitulé « Rue de la vérité. Installations vivantes ». C’est l’histoire de mon pays en images, du début du vingtième siècle jusqu’à ce jour. Dans mon projet, les personnages historiques sortent des tableaux, photos ou longs métrages et les statues des gares de métro moscovite y reprennent vie. Je vous montrerai même les vêtements des idiots de la ville. Dans ce projet tout est pure vérité !

Pure vérité car vous y entendrez les vrais chants d’oiseaux russes, les discours de Lénine et Staline, les conversations de rue, les sons des champs de bataille et les chansons populaires, adorées par le peuple russe à travers les temps.

Pure vérité car tous les costumes, chaussures, accessoires et autres objets quotidiens que vous y verrez ont été assemblés et cousus, sur commande individuelle, par des usines dans l’ancienne Union Soviétique ou en Russie.

Pure vérité car les acteurs ont été rassemblés sur place pour respecter le style naïf selon le principe : celui qui veut être acteur, peut être acteur.

PS : Pendant un bref laps de temps, je vous apprendrai à aimer des broutilles et à boire la vodka. Je vous raconterai également des histoires sur la culture russe.


 


en collaboration avec Europalia Russie