Jan Decorte/Bloet & Black Box Revelation [BE]

Stand Down

Stand Down
Stand Down

13.10 – 14.10.2017

Uncompromising vehemence

Stand Down heralds a rupture in Jan Decorte’s oeuvre. He is leaving the classics behind, but not the great truths and mysteries that they contain. Love and death continue to be central themes. The confluence of life and art are expressed more radically than ever. He stubbornly continues to blaze his trail, and demonstrates his passion to go on despite all opposition.

Stand Down is a production that Decorte not only wants, but simply must make. Just as in Ne Swarte, last season, his stories about his eventful life are as rough as they are tender. In Jan Paternoster and Dries Van Dijck of Black Box Revelation – and all the uncompromising vehemence that they bring to the piece – Decorte and Sigrid Vinks have found their ideal musical partners in crime. The gentlemen created a brand-new soundtrack especially for Stand Down.

“Despite the ruptures that he has introduced to his own joys and sorrows, there is a clear ‘leaping over the chasms’ leitmotif in Jan Decorte’s oeuvre, namely of the search for ever-greater simplicity, for an essence of the theatre. Is it not the fervent desire of all artists to explore their own repetitions profoundly and intensely, to achieve the final goal of purity and simplicity?” – Marianne Van Kerkhoven


tekst, regie Jan Decorte | muziek Black Box Revelation | met Jan Decorte, Sigrid Vinks, Jan Paternoster, Dries Van Dijck | decor Jan Decorte, Johan Daenen | kostuums Jan Decorte, Sigrid Vinks, Sofie D’Hoore | licht Jan Decorte, Luc Schaltin | productie Bloet | coproductie Kaaitheater

Related content

Book Launch: Tis of tisni. Over Jan Decorte

book presentation

Book Launch: Tis of tisni. Over Jan Decorte
Book Launch: Tis of tisni. Over Jan Decorte

production

Fri 13.10.17

Following the première of Stand Down, we are presenting the long-awaited book by Jan Decorte. This colourful fresco about the life and work of a radical theatre artist is an absolute must-read.

Jan Decorte/Bloet & Black Box Revelation [BE]

Stand Down

Stand Down
Stand Down

13.10 – 14.10.2017

Intensité sans compromis

Avec Stand Down, Jan Decorte annonce une rupture dans son œuvre. Il abandonne les classiques, mais pas les grandes vérités et les mystères qu’ils recèlent. L’amour et la mort restent au cœur de sa création. La convergence de la vie et de l’art se manifeste de façon plus radicale que jamais. Il poursuit son parcours avec obstination et fait preuve de combativité malgré toute l’adversité qu’il rencontre.

Ce n’est pas tant que Decorte veut créer Stand Down, il le faut tout simplement. Tout comme la saison passée dans Ne Swarte, il raconte sa vie tumultueuse de manière aussi crue que tendre. En Jan Paternoster et Dries Van Dijck de Black Box Revelation et dans l’intensité sans compromis qu’ils introduisent – Sigrid Vinks et lui ont trouvé leurs complices musicaux rêvés. Spécialement pour Stand Down, ces messieurs ont créé une toute nouvelle bande sonore.

« Malgré les ruptures qu’il a provoquées tout au long de son existence, pour le meilleur et pour le pire, “une ligne enjambant les clivages” traverse l’œuvre de Jan Decorte, à savoir celle d’une quête de toujours plus de simplicité pour parvenir à l’essence du théâtre. N’est-ce pas le grand désir de tout artiste de passer avec une telle profondeur, une telle intensité par ses propres répétitions pour atteindre l’objectif final de la pureté et de la simplicité ? » – Marianne Van Kerkhoven


tekst, regie Jan Decorte | muziek Black Box Revelation | met Jan Decorte, Sigrid Vinks, Jan Paternoster, Dries Van Dijck | decor Jan Decorte, Johan Daenen | kostuums Jan Decorte, Sigrid Vinks, Sofie D’Hoore | licht Jan Decorte, Luc Schaltin | productie Bloet | coproductie Kaaitheater

Sujets apparentés

PRÉSENTATION DE LIVRE : Tis of tisni. Over Jan Decorte

présentation livre

PRÉSENTATION DE LIVRE : Tis of tisni. Over Jan Decorte
PRÉSENTATION DE LIVRE : Tis of tisni. Over Jan Decorte

production

ve 13.10.17

Dans la foulée de la première de Stand Down, nous présentons le livre attendu depuis longtemps sur Jan Decorte. Une fresque haute en couleur sur la vie et l’œuvre d’un artiste de théâtre radical qui ne peut être absente de votre bibliothèque.