Kristien De Proost & Bwanga Pilipili

Simon, Garfunkel, My Sister and Me

Simon, Garfunkel, My Sister and Me
Simon, Garfunkel, My Sister and Me

12.10 – 21.10.2021

In 1981, Paul Simon and Art Garfunkel performed their legendary charity concert in Central Park, New York: a musical feast of friendship and solidarity. Kristien De Proost – a fan from the very beginning – only discovered many years later that the two singers now avoid one another as much as possible. More even: they had already split at the time of that concert. But the show had to go on. De Proost has invited theatre maker and actress Bwanga Pilipili to perform the ultimate re-enactment of the concert. Together, they have created Simon, Garfunkel, My Sister and Me, a show about rivalry in all its forms. About live vs tape, woman vs man, black vs white, Europe vs America. About bridges and troubled water. About feelin’groovy. About boxers, hometowns, old friends and 50 ways to leave your lover. But more than anything, about the right to keep singing whatever you want.

• Kristien De Proost has performed on the Kaai stage many times before – most often with the Brussels theatre collective Tristero. Among other things, she created the incisive monologue Toestand (Theatre Festival 2013). Bwanga Pilipili born in Brussels, originary from Kivu (RDC). At Kaaitheater, she performed in the production Hate Radio by Milo Rau. Simon, Garfunkel, My Sister and Me had to stop its run shortly after its premiere in 2020. Now the show can go on tour again.


van en met Kristien De Proost & Bwanga Pilipili | scenografie & kostuums Marie Szersnovicz | geluid Brecht Beuselinck | licht Lucas Van Haesbroeck | dramaturgie Sara Vanderieck | productieleiding Veerle Vervoort | uitvoerend producent Kristien De Proost & kunstencentrum nona | productie kunstencentrum nona & Arenberg Antwerpen | co-productie CAMPO Gent, C-TAKT Genk, De Grote Post Oostende, wpZimmer | met de steun van de Vlaamse Gemeenschap en Sabam for Culture | met dank aan AdLiB - Residences au Libitum

Kristien De Proost & Bwanga Pilipili

Simon, Garfunkel, My Sister and Me

Simon, Garfunkel, My Sister and Me
Simon, Garfunkel, My Sister and Me

12.10 – 21.10.2021

En 1981, Paul Simon et Art Garfunkel donnent leur légendaire concert de charité à Central Park, à New York : une fête musicale d’amitié et de solidarité. Kristien De Proost – fan de la première heure – ne découvre que des années plus tard que les deux chanteurs s’évitent depuis. Pire : ils étaient déjà en froid à l’époque du concert. But the show had to go on. Aujourd’hui, elle a invité la femme de théâtre et comédienne Bwanga Pilipili à la reconstitution ultime du concert. Ensembles, elles créent Simon, Garfunkel, My Sister and Me, un spectacle sur la rivalité sous toutes ses formes. À propos du direct versus l’enregistrement, la femme vs l’homme, le noir vs le blanc, l’Europe vs les États-Unis. À propos de ponts et d’eau trouble, de se sentir groovy, de boxeurs, de villes natales, de vieux amis et de 50 manières de quitter son amoureux. Mais surtout à propos du droit de continuer à chanter ce qu’on veut.

• Kristien De Proost a souvent foulé les planches du Kaaitheater – en général avec le collectif de théâtre bruxellois Tristero. Elle a créé, entre autres, le monologue caustique Toestand (Theaterfestival 2013). Bwanga Pilipili, née en Belgique avec des origines en Kivu. Au Kaaitheater, on a pu la voir précédemment dans Hate Radio de Milo Rau. Peu après la première du spectacle en 2020, il a fallu annuler la série de représentations de Simon, Garfunkel, My Sister and Me. À présent, la production peut reprendre sa tournée.


van en met Kristien De Proost & Bwanga Pilipili | scenografie & kostuums Marie Szersnovicz | geluid Brecht Beuselinck | licht Lucas Van Haesbroeck | dramaturgie Sara Vanderieck | productieleiding Veerle Vervoort | uitvoerend producent Kristien De Proost & kunstencentrum nona | productie kunstencentrum nona & Arenberg Antwerpen | co-productie CAMPO Gent, C-TAKT Genk, De Grote Post Oostende, wpZimmer | met de steun van de Vlaamse Gemeenschap en Sabam for Culture | met dank aan AdLiB - Residences au Libitum